We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Thrills, Noisy Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metropol to your Saves list
Hotel Metropol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Marszalkowska 99a, Warsaw 00-693 , Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Warsaw
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“No Thrills, Noisy Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Spent a few days here and the location could not be more central, but that also means it is very noisy. The service was fine, but the breakfast was outstanding. Rooms are no frills, but have all you need and were always clean. A good value and very convenient, but low on charm.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    179
    106
    32
    13
See reviews for
44
104
78
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Having stayed at the sister hotel Polonia Palace round the corner I decided to give this place a go mainly because I got such a fantastic rate with breakfast. I'd passed the hotel many times and hadn't really rated it as it doesn't look too impressive from the outside. I was also put off by the fact it's on a very busy junction right in the middle of town. however, it's one minute from the underground and ten minutes from Central station and about a 20 minute pleasant walk from the old town. on arrival I was very impressed by how friendly the staff were. That sort of set the tone for me. Sometimes finding friendly hotel staff in Poland can be difficult! Quite often they tend to look miserable but I understand its a cultural thing and they just want to come across as looking professional. So this hotel was an exception to that. I wasn't expecting too much because the rate was so good but I was so pleasantly surprised. public areas are clean and nice. the room wasn't to my taste but it was very clean and to a good standard. At the very least 3+ stars. I remember the hotel gave me a voucher which entitled me to a free drink in the casino which I didn't use. I was worried the noise from the traffic outside might have been a bit much but intact it wasn't too bad. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were friendly and polite. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone on a budge who are looking for value with a great location. You're literally opposite the Palace of Culture and so close to the old town without paying old town prices. I'm marking this place based on location, staff, breakfast and overall value for money. I was very happy with my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkm1013
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We jsut finished a three night stay in Warsaw on our way to Moscow and could not have asked for a better place to enjoy the city at a reasonable price. The room and bath were clean! The location was easy walking to Old Town, museums, parks, shopping, and the Water Palace. We like to walk, but Warsaw Central is only two blocks away. Taxi from airport was 50 pln (late night rate) and 40 pln during the day. Hotel is directly across from Novatel and Culture Palace. Breakfast is phenomenal. Lots of very good street food in the area-kebabs or pizza open past midnight. The many nearby parks are beautiful places to stroll. The noise is there, but hey, you are in the middle of the city! The shopping mall next to stattion is unique, modern, and a fun place to visit. Definitely a city and hotel worth another trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch Worcs
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

When I booked this hotel for a bargain price for 2 nights, I fully expected to get what I paid for - actually so much better than that. OK, the rooms are a tad small but big enough for a couple of nights. The full length opening window was an absolute bonus on a very hot weekend and the bed was comfy and clean. The included breakfast was the best I have had on trips to Poland. Plenty of continental style options and a typical Polish stew which other half loved! Location is very central and therefore pretty noisy till late at night - lots of Vodka helped with sleeping tho!! However we loved looking out the window at the busy roundabout downstairs - watching the sun go down and the city lights coming on.
Reception staff helpful with giving us info on getting the train to a town 100K away for a wedding. Couple of decent bars nearby, 24hr deli and 24 hr kebab shop.
Walk to the old town took around 20-30 minutes stroll.
We only had a day and a half but managed to fit in Uprising museum, old town, gestapo headquarters and walked for about 15km just looking at parks and buildings. Managed to find the remaining piece of ghetto wall (not as hard as I thought), and also the 2 remaining tenemant buildings from the ghetto which look like they may be made into a museum at some point.
All in all, a great budget-mid price hotel which gave us everything we needed (and a little bit more by way of fantasic late summer weather!). Would definitely use again - we shall return to Warsaw as still so many things to see. Our Polish friends were amazed at all the things we had found to do....

Room Tip: we were in room 712. Think the rooms from *06 - *16 are the ones with the view over the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I chose the Metropol because of its proximity to the railway station,it was only for one night as I had a conecting rail journey next morning,I had advised the hotel that I would be arriving late,( 10-45pm) this was fine with them, on my arrival I was shown to a very nice room with fantastic views of the city at night,the problem arose when I tried to get something to eat, i was told that room service was closed but i could get a coffee from the vending machine, I was told that i could walk to a take away around the corner if i was hungry,i left the hotel and was accosted by a "lady" who offered more than food !!.I retreated and went to bed.Lovely Hotel just needs to try a little harder.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The location of the hotel is just amazing... we took a tram from the Warsaw central station and were surprised to get off at the very next stop which was just about 400metres away.... the hotel is located right outside the tramstop and the metro stations... actually the Metro of Warsaw Central is outside this hotel...

There are lot of shopping malls near the hotel.

The Breakfast buffet is very good although at that price it had to be...The room was not bad. Very clean and maintained.

The restaurant downstairs has live jazz on some evenings..check with the hotel and it was a real treat. They were just amazing.. the food in the restaurant is not bad either.

The bed was too small for two people. Otherwise there is nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Agree with the other reviewers - a nice hotel, reasonably priced, nothing special but the location, if you want the centre of town, is ideal. The breakfast is excellent, in fact the jazz club does pretty good food all day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Address: ul. Marszalkowska 99a, Warsaw 00-693 , Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Warsaw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.