We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large, decent hotel, no frills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gromada Dom Chlopa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gromada Dom Chlopa Hotel to your Saves list
Gromada Dom Chlopa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pl. Powstancow Warszawy 2, Warsaw 00-030, Poland (Śródmieście Północne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 114 Hotels in Warsaw
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“large, decent hotel, no frills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was here for five days on business in July 2012. It's centrally situated, but the massive roadworks for the new tram system caused a few detours and general inconvenience. The staff were friendly and efficient and there was always someone around who spoke English. On my laptop, the free wifi didn't seem to work with Google Chrome, only Firefox, but otherwise fine - you have to ask for the new code each evening at reception. The room was smallish, but clean and with all mod cons except air conditioning (a bit of a problem in mid-July but at least I could open the window in two different ways!). Breakfast is in a large windowless room in the basement. An excellent comprehensive breakfast buffet, including hot food, but the post-communist Poles haven't really cracked how to make coffee (I preferred the old kava naturalna!). As with any mid-range eastern European hotel, it represents excellent value for money for Western travellers.

Room Tip: You could try and ask if there are any rooms with air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    173
    147
    53
    31
See reviews for
49
92
70
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

excellent location, near center of culture and Old town, very clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, very, very good breakfast, great girl on reception-she let us print our reservations. we were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for a night only. And I satisfied with everything: single room, reception service (very friendly answering for all my questions). The hotel is near Old Town and Centrum metro station in walking distance. The breakfast was excellent. I was eating everything. :)
I'll stay at the hotel in next my visits to Warsaw solo and with family even. Very recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was my first trip to Poland & being of Polish decent, I was very excited to finally be there. I stayed with family, but a week we traveled around staying in hotels to visit the sites. The Gromada was a good place to stay because it was close to the Old Town & New Town, within walking distance. My room was a very good size, some USA hotels have smaller rooms. It had 2 big windows that allowed a lot of fresh air in. I love to sleep with the windows open. There wasn't much of a view, but I wasn't in my room other than for sleeping.

There were 2 single beds with great pillows & comforters. The bathroom was modern with a shower, clean & offered small soaps, which some hotels do not in Poland. I was on the 3rd floor so the elevator was important to me as I have bad arthritic knees. The breakfast was great & plentiful with a big variety of things to choose from from breads, cheeses, eggs, sausage, fruit, cereals, pastry, tea, coffee, juice, etc. This was included in the price of the room which was nice.

The price was great too compared to USA standards. It only cost ~$60 I think, don't exactly remember. The hotel staff was helpful & offered some suggestions for dinner & maps of the city. There is a gift shop that was nice, since I wasn't able to find everything I wanted in the city center.

I only have 1 negative thing to say & that is there are no blow dryers in the bathrooms & you have to ask for one at the front desk & they were all out when I did. So bring your own.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changchun, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Overall, this hotel is adequate. It was probably quite a fancy hotel 20 years ago, and whilst clean, does look a little dated. Reception is a little understaffed but friendly and helpful. Good command of English. The lift looks like it should belong in the TARDIS - seriously, and you are better off walking down the stairs, no matter which floor you are on as it is faster than the lift!

Rooms are fitted out with MFI type basic furnitre. Bathroom was surprisingly spacious and all plumbing worked well.

There is a kettle in the room, but no tea/coffee making facilities, so bring your own beverages and be prepared to drink out out of the glass provided rather than a tea cup.

Free internet worked reasonably well. One passcode per device, so ask for as many passcodes as you need for all your devices.

Great location for being central. This kind of hotel would suit tour groups staying for just one night but perfectly acceptable if all you need is to lay your head down in a clean room.

I probably would not stay in this hotel again, mainly because I do like a little more luxury. Otherwise it's perfect if basic is acceptable to you.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in a room that is known to have good WIFI reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The biggest reasons for choosing this hotel were the central location + very affordable price. Based on previous reviews we weren't expecting much but ended up pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and comfortable with modern bathroom with a bathtub. Breakfast was good, all the basic things were available (sausages/bacon, eggs boiled and scrambled, bread with toppings, salad...). Staff didn't seem overly friendly, but I didn't mind. The location is indeed great, there's only a short walk to Nowy Swiat and the Palace of Culture and Science. It's easy to get to the more remote places in the city as well, because there's a lot of bus stops on Nowy Swiat. It's true what the other reviewers say about the beds though. They're quite hard indeed! I didn't mind though, I slept very well every night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
720 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Warsaw has a terrible recent history but well worth visiting, this hotel is ideal.

Friendly staff,decent food and good rooms but there is so much to do and see I doubt you will stay in for long.{2006}

Room Tip: Good value and nice people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
Hotel Metropol
#37 of 114 in Warsaw
3.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Zgoda Apartments Hotel
#20 of 114 in Warsaw
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Śródmieście Północne
Hotel Mazowiecki
Hotel Mazowiecki
#65 of 114 in Warsaw
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Mirów
JM Hotel Warsaw Center
JM Hotel Warsaw Center
#42 of 114 in Warsaw
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Campanile Varsovie
#52 of 114 in Warsaw
3.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gromada Dom Chlopa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gromada Dom Chlopa Hotel

Address: Pl. Powstancow Warszawy 2, Warsaw 00-030, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw > Śródmieście Północne
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gromada Dom Chlopa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Gromada Dom Chlopa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gromada Warszawa Warsaw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gromada Dom Chlopa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.