We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem of Jewish heritage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewish Cemetery (Cmentarz Zydowski)

Jewish Cemetery (Cmentarz Zydowski)
Ul. Okopowa 49-51, Warsaw, Poland
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 136 Attractions in Warsaw
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1799-1806, this scenic and nostalgic cemetery features marble and sandstone tombstones called masebas, which reveal delicately carved symbols and ornaments, and the symbolic grave of the famous writer and teacher Janusz Korczak (1878-1942) who died in the gas chambers of Aushwitz.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem of Jewish heritage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

It's a real hidden gem of Jewish and world heritage, about 150,000 graves. The history of most prominent families in the world.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    43
    12
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Memorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The cemetery was eery and moving. We saw the graves of great rabbis, historians, actors, scholars and ordinary Jews. Many of the epitaphs (mostly Hebrew, some Yiddish and a few in Polish) are very evocative and interesting. The cemetery is overgrown with trees and most graves are neglected. In a century (or less) it may be entirely gone - because of the trees that push up the soil and topple the gravestones. Compared with the Jewish cemetery in Prague's Old Town, this is a fairly recent cemetery - mostly nineteenth and twentieth century when Warsaw had the largest Jewish population in the world.
We were fortunate to have a guided tour with a guide who acommpanie us from Israel, "introducing" us to the many great personalities buried there. Someone would do well to publish a guide or application that would do the same.
Here's a link to a database that may help you locate a particular grave in Warsaw or elsewhere in Poland: http://cemetery.jewish.org.pl/lang_en/

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Most moving! Ghosts abound.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I went to the Jewish Cemetery with my adult daughter. I wanted to see if I could find my grandfather's grave. He died in Warsaw before the war. The black steel gate to the cemetery was closed but we turned the knob and pushed it open. We were shocked at the huge number of headstones among the trees in the cemetery. There are over 150,000 graves there. Some parts are more cared for than others. Many parts are a total jumble of tilting and fallen stones. It is a moving experience. So many people once lived in Warsaw and contributed to life and culture there! There is a datebase for the cemetery where you can enter names and find sector, row and grave number. The paths between sections are extremely hard to discern. The Cemetery office sells a little schematic map that helps make some sense of the place. We spent about 2 hours searching...despite assurances from cemetery workers that we did not have a hope of finding the grave...we found it!! Died 1932!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“#1 Must see in Warsaw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The cementary indicates the Jewish prewar history of Warsaw. Before 1939 the citizens living in Warsaw were in 30% Jewish. This cementer is one of the biggest ones in the world with over 200 000 burrials. If you are in Warsaw I strongly advise you to visit this attraction.

Please wear a yarmulke.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Default City
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Get out by 5pm no matter what!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

It is an amazing and a little scary place! Worth a visit for sure. It is not like your regular cemetery. It is very visual.
We came in late 15 mins before the closing. And hoping that if we get in before 5 pm we will be fine. But, instead we got locked out. The lady at the cashier did not tell us that we must leave before the closing time, she just said - it is 15 min before they are closing and we don't need tickets we can look around for free. So, we did. We stroll around, checked out beautiful tombstones and how weirdly crooked most of burials were as if there's been an earth quake or something.
And when we got back to the exit it was simply locked. No one in a booth. No number to call. And a huge 3 meter wall. And it was getting darker.
Good thing that there was a security siren that would go off if you walk in front of it. In about 20 min security guys came and let us out.
While we were waiting we discovered a way to get on a roof and the wall (which is right behind the security/cashier house on the right side) to jump off it. It was a little too high. And security guys did come pretty fast. But we looked at it when we came out and realized that in a worst case scenario we would have jumped down just fine.
One of the guards told us that many people get locked up there. A week before us a group of three girls went hysterical calling everyone they knew, crying like crazy, thinking they would have to spend a night there.
I don't know why wouldn't cemetery keeps put a huge poster about 5pm thing right on a gate.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Cemetery (Cmentarz Zydowski) also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Jewish Cemetery (Cmentarz Zydowski)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewish Cemetery (Cmentarz Zydowski), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.