We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, excellent ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stary Dom Restaurant

Stary Dom Restaurant
Pulawska 104/106, Warsaw 02-620 , Poland
+48 (0) 22 646 42 08
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,232 Restaurants in Warsaw
Cuisines: Polish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stary Dom has been recommended by a friend of mine and I was not disappointed: steak tartar was excellent and so were other dishes we tasted. Impeccable customer service - we popped out for a breath of "fresh air" and the table was cleared in our absence including the half-full wine glass I left behind. The waiter realised the mistake and offered to replace the wine straight away. The food is of excellent quality, the portions very generous and deserts are out of this world (huge, too). We really enjoyed the dinner and I would definitely recommend Stary Dom to anyone who would like to try traditional Polish cooking in lovely surroundings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    79
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazingly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I live in Warsaw for many years and, from time to time, it is good to try the typical local cuisine in a Polish restaurant. Normally when you go to a "touristic" local restaurant you find that food is ok but nothing particularly special. We were amazingly surprised when we visited this restaurant and realized that food was completely above the standars. We were together with a couple of friends from abroad and we wanted to show to them as much as possible of the Polish specialties. We tried three different soups the were really great, some herrings, that I must confess I hate and, believe me or not, I tried them and I ate them! and finally a beef tatar that was made right on spot by one of the chefs. For the main course we had duck, wild boar, salmon and lamb. Everything was tasty and well prepared. Service was fine although restaurant was packed. It is very true that you have to make a reservation in advance. For sure we will come back to try the rest.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tasty Polish with professional service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Lunch visit: we tried the chlodnik (chilled beetroot soup), lamb carpaccio, beef tartare and meringue. All very tasty - beware of portions, you may want to share :-) the tartare is prepared and seasoned at the table, mostly for the show, but the chef does with charm and conviction. Service is attentive and professional.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberaich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants - but call first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

You get very good quality for your money!
Not inexpensive but good!
You have to try the beef tartar (order just one portion for two person if you take it as a starter)...
Make sure that you make a reservation some days ahead - otherwise it could easily be that you end up disappointed - because don' t get a table...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Polish restaurant with nice decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Another family dinner place when people visit from abroad. Big menu, something for everyone, excellent Tatar. Pretty decor and ok service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stary Dom Restaurant also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Stary Dom Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stary Dom Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.