We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best steaks in Warsaw” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butchery and Wine

Butchery and Wine
22 Zurawia str | 00-515, Warsaw, Poland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 1,289 Restaurants in Warsaw
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks in Warsaw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is one of the best stekhouse in Warsaw, I was there twice and ordered Rib Eye Steak from Polish meat which costs about 14 euro - the price is worth it. The thing is, everything there was tasty: the pumpkin soup, kohlrabi salad or grilled octopus. The waiters are friendly and helpful. You need to book your table in advance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    73
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A cheese board at full view is always a good sign”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just enjoying a few days away, visiting Warsaw, with a few friends from France. Great bargains to be had staying at the just renovated 5 star Bristol hotel! The concierge suggested a great place to have superb beef. Butchery and Wine is certainly the place. A cheese board at full view is always a good sign. That is the first thing you see through the window of this small -but perfectly formed- restaurant in the centre of Warsaw. It was not crowed which suited us perfectly so we had the staff's full attention and our food came quickly. The various beef cuts we had -and shared- was just out of this world. And yes, the price reflects the quality but we knew that it worth every bit of it. Delightful place and you don't have to go for the most expensive claret to find a good bottle or 3 to match the food. We recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best steaks in town?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have been here twice the last year and the food and service has been top notch everytime.

The fois gras with condiments tasted rich and nice to a glass of sauternes though the size of the portion could have been smaller. Scallops appetizer also very good.

The chateaubriand for two is the dish that makes you come back. Its a load of about 900 g of filé served in a big bowl cooked tou your liking and served with 3 sauces and fries.
The steak has been perfect both times ive been there and compared to some of the best steaks i have had in europe and the us this is among them. The bearnaise , pepper and red wine sauces are all great as well as the large in house fries.

First time i was there we had a lovely waitress and the servicelevel was great.
The last time the service was not bad but not with a smile but maybe the girl just had a bad day wich can happen to all of us.

Prices are not bad for the food though it is expensive for the city, Chateaubriand for two is about 45 € and for a 3 course dinner with wine and sessertwine the total bill came to 150 €.
Worth every cent!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Good but Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went as a group of 7(all family) and had a very good meal but the price was excessive. T-Bone steak in Ireland costs about €25 per kilo and they charge PLN 190! In addition, the wine list is way overpriced. Waiting staff very attentive and professional but this establishment needs to revisit its pricing structure or else it will fold very quickly. Still we will probably return on our next visit to Warsaw. If you want real Irish steak at afforadable prices check out the Butchers Grill in Dublin, Ireland and you will see real value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“One of the best places for steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice choice of steaks and good wine. Modern place, good for business lunch, waiters spoiled by guests, so they are a little bit lazy, but steaks are fantastic, so you don’t care at the end :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butchery and Wine also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Butchery and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butchery and Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.