We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian meal in Warsaw” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha Restaurant

Buddha Restaurant
ul. Nowy Swiat 23, Warsaw 00-029, Poland
+48 022 826 35 01
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #403 of 1,286 Restaurants in Warsaw
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Indian meal in Warsaw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Excellent food, full of flavour, good value. Staff friendly and helpful.
Bollywood films showing behind bar, fascinating but avoidable if seated elsewhere in restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    42
    14
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“there is no other such nice place like Buddha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The best Indian food in Poland. Highly recommendable. Butter chicken is my and my friends best dish. You will not find better basmati rice in whole Warsaw. For wegaterian i highly recomending samosa and paneer tikka. For meat lover i can recomend lamb chetinad in a in a spicy gravy. Take your friends there - they will love this palce for sure! :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Below Expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

reading reviews on TA we thought of trying this restaurant for dinner. we ordered samosa, kadhai paneer, veg biryani and parathas. We especially requested to make curry "indian" and not "polish" in taste as we were looking for something spicy and close to home. But we were disappointed with the Kadhai paneer as it was really low on flavours and nowhere close to Indian taste. however, samosa and lachha paratha were good! Biryani was so so... all in all an average experience..considering the high price it was not worth.. Staff was sad faced, a bit of smile is always good in hospitality business.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Indian Food in Warsaw anyone?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I am not an expert on Indian food, thus I figure what better way to become acquainted with it than by having Indian Food in ... Warsaw, Poland. Ok to be fair, I had my share of Polish Food the night before, so I figured I would try Indian Food the following night. Several of the people I was traveling with were experts at Indian Food, so I figure that if they recommended the place it must be good.

I was not disappointed by the food. I really liked the bread tortillas (sorry I don't know the official Indian name as someone else was ordering for us). They were excellent. The meat and curry was excellent as well. The atmosphere of the place is pretty good. The service was great. Overall I was really impressed with the place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not really :-S”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We went there for a quick lunch and had a set meal. The waiter was rather rude and told us that the soup was not included in the lunch menu any more! OK, fine.. I asked if we get some salad with it as it was indicated. He said yes but we have not seen any of the salad. The portions were the smallest portions of food I have ever got and I think I know what I am talking about because I go to restaurants around twice a week. The food was nothing special, on the lower spectrum, chicken (?) meat was tough... naan bread was dry, crumbling, totally unappetizing. This is the worst so far Indian restaurant in the world for me. There are some good points about it - great location, cozy interiors (this is sth what lured us to this place) and decent wine. If you want to eat a nice Indian meal in Warsaw do choose a different venue though!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha Restaurant also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Buddha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.