We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha Restaurant

Buddha Restaurant
ul. Nowy Swiat 23, Warsaw 00-029, Poland
+48 022 826 35 01
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #433 of 1,401 Restaurants in Warsaw
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stumbled upon Buddha while we were visiting old town Warszawa. When we walked in we were immediately impressed by the decor and ambiance of the restaurant - very enchanting. We ordered a few appetizers, na'an, and main meals (one of them was their chili chicken). The food was absolutely divine - I enjoyed every single bite. I have eaten chili chicken at various places around the world and must say Buddha made it to perfection - the spices were excellent and the ingredients were fresh. All of the food is reasonably priced. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. I cannot wait to visit Buddha again (I often think of flying to Warszawa on the weekend just to eat at Buddha - it's that great!).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    44
    16
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very well received. The guys working there were amazing. High quality service n nice Decor. Excellent Indian food. Top notch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was in Warsaw last week visiting a relative and she took me to this restaurant. It was very cold outside and I was craving for some spicy Indian food after travelling for more than 2 weeks in Europe. The manager was accommodating when I asked to make our meal spicy and he even offered to make chilli naan which was not in the menu.I was impressed as I thought that Indian food in Europe would cater to the western palate. I am very particular with Indian food and this place definitely was up to my standard. Nice decor, great food and good service. Even the chinese fried rice was nice. It is located at Nowy Swiat which is a central location and easy to access.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in Warsaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We felt like something different. After close to 4 weeks in Poland, we wanted to have something other then pierogi :-)

We stopped in at the Buddha Restaurant and ordered some dal, curry and naans for take away. All were delicious, well priced and served with a smile. They even spoke English.

Highly recommended if you feel for something spicy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“(Mostly) poor food, and patchy service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have eaten Indian cuisine in 11 different countries (sadly, none of them located on the Inidian subcontinent!), and Buddha restaurant in Warsaw offered by far the strangest, least authentic tastes.

We visited Buddha twice, and tried the following dishes:
Starter: Chicken Pakora; Chicken 'Special' Salad
Main: Mutton Rogani Amritsari; Lamb Biryani; Butter Chicken

Now, the Chicken Pakora (starter) and Lamb Biryani (main) dishes were good - pretty flavoursome, no issues at all.

The Chicken Special Salad (I'm still not sure exactly what this is) was tasty, though not an Indian dish at all, much more like something you'd find in a Chinese or other 'Oriental' restaurant.

The Mutton Rogani Amritsari and Butter Chicken, however, were both dreadful. On the mutton dish in particular, the meat was extremely tough, even for mutton. However, the worst part of this dish was the horrible curry sauce - a dribbling, thin, bright red affair that had NO flavour, but left a horrible sour aftertaste. Again, a very unauthentic dish.

The Butter Chicken fared only slightly better, but was hugely let down by a basic lack of any kind of flavour.

On our first night, the restaurant was only half-full, and service was very good, despite the poor food. On our second night, however, Buddha was almost full, and the service was terrible. Meals were brought out far too quickly (my main meal was set out in front of me whilst I was still halfway through my starter), and ordering drinks, etc. proved to be a nightmare. Indeed, we were seated at 7pm, and didn't leave until almost 10pm - and the reason we stayed so long was NOT because we enjoyed it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha Restaurant also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Buddha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.