We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for....!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Torun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ibis Budget Torun to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Torun
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   UL.Ks Jerzego Popieluski 2a, Torun 87-100 , Poland (Formerly Etap Hotel Torun)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Torun
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for....!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Compared to our previous hotel in Warsaw, the Ibis Budget was like going from the sublime to the ridiculous. That said it was not bad deal for the price. Our room was like a cell and you dared not open the window because a sign on the glass said: " If you do not want uninvited guests do not open the window !" They meant mosquitos of course not your next door neighbour.

Even if there was no room to swing a cat, the cramped space had all the things you required, toilet, spacious shower, wash-basin, telly, table, all basic but new.

Not to be sniffed at was the buffet breakfast which was good and plentiful and served in a cheerful breakfast area. Last but not least the hotel is 5 minutes walking distance from Torun and we could leave our car in the hotel carpark for free.

We thanked the friendly reception staff when we left we were happy we only needed to stay only one night. To spend another night as a Trapist Monk would have been a tough call even if the " uninvited quests " outside had decided to stay away for the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    110
    19
    8
    1
See reviews for
46
96
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Yes, this place is cheap, but you get what you pay for, or less. The window was braced 'for safety reasons' so it would only open a crack. This allowed no air circulation on a day when the temperature was about 30 Celsius. We asked numerous times to have it opened: the woman working during the day 'couldn't find the key', and the boss in the evening said it was 'impossible'. The air conditioning did not work forcefully enough to make a difference. We spent an airless claustrophobic night in a room that smelled faintly of chemical cleaning products. Not to be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Absolutely worth of money, this hotel was excellent, perfect location and very helpful people at reception, good maps and hints where to go. Torun was nice and this hotel helped our stay there a lot. I would go there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
177 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I've never stayed in a hotel as cheap as this before and yet it was a lot better than lots that I've stayed in! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms were simple but very comfortable. I'm currently staying in another hotel that has the bathroom integrated into the bedroom and it hasn't been done anywhere near as well as at the Ibis. The view from the room (408) was great as you could see the river and it was also really quiet, we were never disturbed. The old town is only a 5-10 minute walk away through a park and the river is 2 minutes away. The perfect location! I will definitely stay here again when I return to Torun in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
179 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Close to The Old Town, close to Wisla river and boulevard. Typical 1 star hotel in the best edition: pure form, basic standard. Open shower (only 3/4 matt-glass door between room interior and shower) and washbasin in room space can be embarrassing for two stranger people when stay together (for example in business trip).
Free of charge parking is possible in front of the building.
Breakfast isn't included in room price. Basic breakfast unworthy of the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

In a great location, just 5 minutes walk to the old town. Ibis-Budget (formerly Etap) hotels are never fancy, but they are usually quite clean and quiet, and this certainly was the case for this one. The price was really low all things considered. It's a good option for those who want to just spend more time and money in the beautiful old town and just get a decent night's sleep nearby for a few zloty!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torun hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Torun Centrum
0.7 mi away
Hotel B&B Torun
Hotel B&B Torun
#13 of 22 in Torun
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copernicus Hotel - Torun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1231 Hotel
1231 Hotel
#1 of 22 in Torun
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bulwar
Hotel Bulwar
#8 of 22 in Torun
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Filmar
Hotel Filmar
#6 of 22 in Torun
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Torun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Torun

Address: UL.Ks Jerzego Popieluski 2a, Torun 87-100, Poland (Formerly Etap Hotel Torun)
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Torun
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Torun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Torun 1*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget Torun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Torun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.