We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Indian food in Poznan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj india

Taj india
ul. Wiankowa 3, Poznan, Poland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 372 Restaurants in Poznan
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Poznan, Poland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best Indian food in Poznan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We live in Poznan, and another expat friend, from India, has been teaching me some Indian dishes. She also recommended this restaurant to me.

The dishes we sampled were full of spicy flavors, just like the ones ones I tried at my friends house. We especially enjoyed the sauces that were served with our appetizers. The hot one had great flavor, but use sparingly.

Our server was attentive, spoke English, and very thoughtful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good Indian food with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I recommend this place, because it is not so easy find good indian food in Poland. Additionally service on high level. Great placed, next to Malta lake. I couldn't enjoy it because of the weather, but i believe it is nice around during spring or summer

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Original taste, nice deco, friendly, family service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This restaurant evoluated from very basic to still simple, not pretentious, but very consistant in terms of cuisine (by the owners) and service (always same, friendly waitress). Mild Fish Bahar and really spicy Mouton Vindalou are the best, but don't forget Tandoori Chicken, simple raita, garlic nan and panic panier... All this with reasonably priced Indian beer and great Malta lake view.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I really recommend this restaurant! I have never been India, but taste in Taj-India allowed me to travel at least for one while to this country. Very tasty, various dishes, delicious soups, very spicy if you like and whats important as well - they have something for children (french fries) and finally you will not get a heart attack looking at the bill. maybe the equipment inside is not so one which makes beautyfull atmospfere, maybe too much lights, it is not so homely, but on the other hand - stuff is very friendly, helpful etc...
really good!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food I've had in Poznan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

So, there aren't so many Indian restaurants in Poland (compared to the UK) and in Poznan there is only a couple - although there have been others over the years. I've been to Taj India a few times and each time it's been delicious! It's a bit different to English Indian (haha!) but I don't say that in a negative way, if anything it's less oily and more tasty :) But it's also in smaller portions.

The food is good and the service is good - but the problem I have with it is that it's difficult to get to. It's at the top end of Malta Lake and is hard to get to unless you have a car. If it was easier to access I would visit it more often... but if you don't mind taking a bus tram and then walking then it's ok. Last time I took a taxi back to the centre because I was so full, it was dark and I felt too lazy - but it wasn't too expensive for the taxi and the food was worth it.

Not the cheapest restaurant in Poznan... but the price is ok. Very nicely decorated inside, even though it doesn't look like much from outside and in the summer, if you're lucky, you can sit on the balcony overlooking the lake.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj india also viewed

Poznan, Greater Poland Province
Poznan, Greater Poland Province
 
Poznan, Greater Poland Province
Poznan, Greater Poland Province
 

Been to Taj india? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj india, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.