We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel
ul.Traugutta 6, Lodz 90-107, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Lodz
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

When was the last time you stayed in a hotel with an elevator operator? Or were handed a key you'll want to turn in at the desk rather than use your rollerboard suitcase to haul around? Or walked into your room to find a single twin bed?

There's a fancier hotel out by the new Manufactura Mall, but if you want to get more of a feel for the history of this old textile city, the Savoy (or the Grand, where I did not stay) put you right in the middle of Piotrkowska Street (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piotrkowska_Street).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    16
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
8
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

25zlotys by cab<£5> from airport,just along from what would have been the communist 'best 'hotel in town i was delighted by its location,price and ambience.as i was not looking for american style accomo,this suited me perfectly for exploring town,the bars and restaurants withou the need for taxis or public transport.the staff were excellent and helpful and my bed was brilliant<a few wodkas mayhave added to my restful sleep>my one criticism would be the hot water didnt get very hot!breakfast fine,restaurant good for the polish stuff i wanted anh keenly priced.i spent 3 nights ,no problems

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

From the outside, the hotel look unkempt and not appealing in the slightest.
Inside the Hotel the main lobby has a strange soviet era charm, Staff were very helpful and polite. The lift is servied by an elderly gentleman which is rather nice.

The room itself was very clean and was far above my expectations, sheets were changed daily and bathroom was amazingly clean. I never head breakfast in the hotel as i was just sleeping there. however I would use again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancashire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed at the Savoy...I've had my last two summer holidays in Lodz (it isn't really a holiday location, but the nightlife and summer hedonism amongst industrial grime is fabulous). The rooms in the Savoy are spacious and comfortable...the staff seem unfriendly but I think they are just serious about their work...they speak English but not that fluently unlike in some other Polish hotels. The lift is very old and rickety and you are not allowed in unless you are accompanied by a member of staff but there is always an eager young boy at hand to operate it for you. The breakfast buffet has plenty of choice amnd you can order freshly cooked sausage, eggs, omelette etc from the kitchens if you like. Its a stone's throw away from Lodz Fabryczna train station and the buzzing life of Piotrkowska street and the hotel is great value for money...I had a great time both this year and last.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

I travelled alone for a conference and chose Savoy because it seemed to have more character than Centrum. I asked for a retro style room, which was not available, but I was assured I d get a superior room. Indeed, my room was very spacious, very clean and had character. Staff, from cleaning ladies to porters and receptionists, was very helpful (apart from 1 exception) and breakfast very satisfactory, with a personal touch. The hotel is under refurbishment, so i do not know if i was lucky to have a refurbished room, but, overall i would recommend this centrally located, cozy hotel. One thing to note: free WiFi only at the seating area on the groundfloor.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2008

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for 3 days. When we arrived and entered our room we noticed it has not been cleaned after the previous guests. We went to the reception and they told us we need to wait 1 hour before they find other one. We also informed the reception to provide only still water for us, but when we came back and entered our new room, we had only sparkling water available there. The elevator was so small and old that we were scared to use it,.. and it worked only one way. The room- nothing special. The staff spoke little English and we had a problem to communicate with some of them. When we wanted to check out, the lady at the reception said she is not sure if we paid for the stay so she needs to check it (they asked us to pay when we checked in!). I heard the hotel has been renovated recently but what they should do at first place is to replace the staff!

  • Liked — Location in city centre
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

Stayed here on a saturday night in July. Hotel was quiet and didn't have much character about it. Single room was adequate. It was just under 27 euro for the night. I slept in for breakfast so can't comment on that. Very good location just off the main street and good value. There was also quite a lively nightclub directly across the road.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Little dull
  • Tips/Secrets — Book on official website, it's cheaper!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: ul.Traugutta 6, Lodz 90-107, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Lodz Province > Lodz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Lodz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.