We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel with somewhat strange interieur” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pensjonat Jana Pawla II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pensjonat Jana Pawla II to your Saves list
Pensjonat Jana Pawla II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sw. Idziego 2, Wroclaw 50-328, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Wroclaw
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“average hotel with somewhat strange interieur”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel is located some 10-15 mins walk from the old town. The area is quite calm and surrounded by churches all around. To me even the hotel seems to be like a church-have-been-converted, the interieur (huge open space in the middle) and the hotel room (small, functional, like a cellar of a monk but with window) and its equipment were certainly different from other hotels I have stayed at.
The room was clean, the breakfast was enough (nothing special) the personell was helpful and at my service.
There is a restaurant in the hotel, I had only a beer there as I wanted to explore more the city of Wroclaw and the cuisine of the region (which apparently failed as there was no Polish restaurant around but tons of Italians, Japanese, Chinese, etc. Even the local people on the street could not help me to find a place for pierogi) :(
In a nutshell: if you need a hotel that is tidy and nothing special but located in a tranquil environment, it can be an option for you. otherwise maybe more sparkling should be searched in or arund the old town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    25
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
25
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This place is ok though for the money you pay you could expect more, therefore skip this hotel and search further. Here you pay like in the hotel and what you get is high standard hostel. So if you like overpaid hostals then this is your best choice if you prefer avarage hotel then skip it

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

The first thing to say about the hotel is the wonderful staff. From the beginning of our stay to the end, they couldn't have been more welcoming. The meal in the restaurant was very good (including the price) and the breakfasts were great! The suite was wonderful and my sister and I were able to entertain members of our family with no problems. Nothing was too much trouble to the staff and I look forward to my return - which I hope will be very soon.

Hania

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

I stayed here for one night after having stayed for 2 weeks in an apartment closer to the Rynek (market square). I looked at several hotels during my stay in the apartment and decided on this one for my last night in Poland after 3 weeks. I traveled around for a week before returning to Wroclaw for my flight. I had a small single but it was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. My view was awesome. The cafe has amazing apple pie. And sitting outside around nightfall is cool because then you can watch the lighting of the gas street lamps. The restaurant had good golabkis (stuffed cabbage rolls) and the breakfast terrace was beautiful too. It is a quiet area and perfect for a quiet stay. I liked being near the Market Square when I was in the apartment but the relaxing end to my 3 week trip could not have been better. The price was very very cheap compared to the over rated Monopol Hotel.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

I was visiting Wroclaw with husband and in- laws and this was their first time in my native Poland so i tried to book the finest hotel i could find. Pensjonat Jana Pawla II is hidden in quiet churchy area of this town, but it's still very close to market sqaure and town centre. I's non smoking hotel which was priority for me as dad in law suffers with asthma and in most of polish hotels smoking is allowed even in corridors. Staff was very helpful, rooms clean although we have noticed a big difference in standard room space, our was twice big as parents yet same price. Room interior was pleasant, furniture was classical and with character, we had big wardrobe , a drawer dresser, huge desk, a couple of comfy chairs and double bed.
We ate in market squre restaurants a lot but food in hotel wasnt bad at all. Breakfast buffet was tasty and when something wasnt topped up in buffet ( which happened several times) waitresses took care of it quickly.
There is few restaurants in market squre worth to mention, Rodeo Drive- if you like ribs, steaks and grilled food ( before the meal they served us with small loaf of bread which is just baked and is DELICIUS with fresh butter) also they do great filling salads for those on the diet. Other good restaurants are Mona Lisa ( bit pricy but still great quality of food), Piramida ( big choice on menu and dreamy interior desingn), Pastelowa ( they do pancakes filled with EVERYTHING! also they are quite cheap.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

This is situated in a lovely part of Wroclaw next to the Botanic gardens, 2 major churches and a Convent (so expect to see lots of nuns in the vicinity). In the evening a man comes around at dusk to light the gas lamps in the street. It is quiet (apart from the church bells!), unlike one hotel we saw on the main square which must be noisy into the small hours.

The hotel is modern and clean, and a bargain at about £55 for a double room including breakfast for 2 people (compared to the £100 I paid for a vastly inferior room to this in Paris a couple of weeks previously with no breakfast). The room has a hairdryer, but it's one of those fixed wall things which are fine if you have short hair; however mine is longish and thick and these give me a burnt hand and RSI from holding down the switch. Someone else in an earlier review said that their room had a kettle, ours didn't. It did have a small sitting room type area with a chair and sofa bed. The shower is also on a water saving timer, which did get irritating.

The staff, especially the cleaners and the waitress at breakfast are full of smiles, not quite so much the reception staff! It's not like Paris though, they have no maps of the city at the hotel and having arrived in the evening and forgotten to print one off, we were rather lost. Still, a good walk around built up an appetite and we were well orientated for the next day! I would say it was a 15-20 minute walk to the main square, but across canals and a small park so was pleasant.

Overall, the place was great for our purposes and the negatives were very small niggles.

  • Liked — Modern, clean, great location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

The hotel its self is very nice...although it felt a little stuffy!!!!!!!
Very Clean
Food was ok...except too much salt added to main meals.one of them i couldnt eat because of it !!!!!!!!
Our room was very nice.....but very very cold...took us 3 days to beg a portable heater!!!!! next day they put the heating on !!!!!!
Not all the staff speak english..sometimes became a problem....although they were all very helpful.

  • Liked — the coffee
  • Disliked — the scrambled eggs at breakfast were not cooked
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wroclaw hotels
1.3 mi away
Grape Hotel
Grape Hotel
#1 of 68 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Wroclaw Centrum
Mercure Wroclaw Centrum
#5 of 68 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
1.0 mi away
PURO Hotel
PURO Hotel
#2 of 68 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Wroclaw Old Town
0.7 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#6 of 68 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Wroclaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensjonat Jana Pawla II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensjonat Jana Pawla II

Address: Sw. Idziego 2, Wroclaw 50-328, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lower Silesia Province > Wroclaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Wroclaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pensjonat Jana Pawla II 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pensjonat Jana Pawla II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensjonat Jana Pawla II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.