We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this Hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Wroclaw

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Wroclaw to your Saves list
Scandic Wroclaw
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49/57 Pilsudskiego Street, Wroclaw 50-032, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Wroclaw
Certificate of Excellence
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Recommend this Hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Good location in city center. Underground parking available and convenient. They had a nice breakfast spread available. Rooms were clean and quiet. Staff was helpful. We would stay again.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    110
    26
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
49
13
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

The Holiday Inn is about a fifteen minute taxi ride from Wroclaw Airport.

It is about ten minute walk from the centre of the city.

The hotel has a small, clean foyer with a small bar. Reception staff were very efficient and helpful. Checkin was faultless.

My room was at the from of the hotel, overlooking the street. Room was clean and comfortable with lots of space. Mini bar was well stocked and very inexpensive. Bathroom was clean.

The only problem with rooms at the front of the hotel was the noise from traffic and trams at the busy junction outside the hotel. Even the double glazing did little to cut out the clanking of trams. This will be awful in summer if you want the windows open.

The hotel has a small gym and sauna on the second floor (although it is signposted as being on the first floor) It was clean and well equipped.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of quality hot food.

The bar is small but cosy and OK to meet before going out. Beer is rather expensive compared to bars outside the hotel. Staff helpful and friendly.

All in all - a nice, clean hotel. Recommended.

  • Liked — Clean, well situated for City and airport
  • Disliked — Noisy traffic at front of hotel
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
124 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

We stayed for three nights in a standard room and were very happy with the room, location, and service. Reception staff spoke very good english. Our room was of moderate size with a queen bed, air-con, TV, mini bar/small refrigerator, complimentary tea/coffee, writing desk, small utility table and single sofa chair. Bathroom was of good size with plenty of bench space. Basic toiletries were provided. Complimentary internet is available in the room, and if you do not have computer there are two complimentary internet computers in the business centre. Our room fronted the main street with trams and vehicles etc going by but the double glazing was very effective and we were not disturbed by street noise.
Our room rate didn't include breakfast, and as we are light-eaters we preferred to eat away from the hotel rather than partake of the buffet. We found, however, that getting an early morning feed in Wroclaw can be difficult. Most cafes seemed to think midday was a good time to open!
The location of the hotel is about 15 mins walk from central railway (turn left out of main entrance). The hotel is not right at the main tourist precinct but only a leisurely 15-20 mins walk away.
There's a small supermarket across the road and to the left. Behind the hotel is a railway viaduct which has bars and restaurants. Beyond the viaduct is a moderately sized shopping mall with the usual shops, cafes, fast food outlets, etc.
We found Wroclaw a very interesting place with an excellent public square (Rynek).
We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Liked — Comfortable room, location.
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

Good location,around 15 mins walk to the main square,service was excellent,fantastic pints of bloody mary in the bar,and the bar menu was very good,for convenience behind the hotel is a railway viaduct crammed with numerous bars and restaurants,did not find until i was leaving so cannot comment on what they are like.Casino across the road.

  • Liked — Bar
  • Disliked — Everything was good
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

I was impressed by the standards of quality of this hotel.

Located on a main road, it's less than a 5 minute walk away from the main train station (Wroclaw Glowny), and about a 15 to 20 minute walk from the old town square. Alternatively you can take one of the trams passing just outside the hotel to get to the old part of town.

There's a cash machine (ATM) just outside the hotel and some food shops in close walking distance. A large shopping centre is also less than a 5 minute stroll away.

Rooms were very clean and well presented. All the furnishings and fittings looked either new or very recent.

During my stay I was upgraded to an executive room due to all the regular rooms being booked out. The executive room actually seemed to have some features (other than a slightly larger room size and the usual bathrobe & slippers to use) that made it worth the extra money you may pay. More toiletries were available (such as a wooden comb, nail file, etc) and more tea, coffee and hot chocolate sachets were on offer. They even gave you the option to have FREE access to all pay TV channels! Also, each morning a one page printout of current news events from my home country was put under the door. That was a nice touch.

There is a small (but very professional looking) business centre in the hotel with 2 computers where you can log onto the internet for free, make printouts or photocopies, send faxes, etc. Reception has free city maps and free up-to-date city guides in English which really have a lot of helpful local information in them.

Check in and check out were very smooth and quick. Staff were friendly and efficient. I had no billing problems despite the room change and all charges were correct.

My rate did not include breakfast so I cannot comment on the quality.

Being so close to the train station makes it a great base if you want to go on train trips to other towns around the region and come back on the same day before nightfall. Public buses going to the airport also depart near the train station.


There were however a few minor things that kept me from giving this place a perfect score.

Firstly, the size of the rooms left a little to be desired (even for European standards).
Secondly, there is a bit of noise from the road if you keep your window open at night when you (try to) fall asleep.
Thirdly, the voicemail menu on the phone to access, listen, or delete any messages was only in polish making it a bit difficult to use for foreigners.
Lastly, some of the weekday rates for this hotel can be quite high (over 110 Euro a night). Considering that Wroclaw is not a huge tourist destination like Gdansk or Krakow or a major financial centre like Warsaw, I would expect at least breakfast to be included in such a high rate....or for the location to be a LOT closer to the old town centre. However I have noticed that these prices can fluctuate quite drastically and sometimes you can stay at this hotel for less than half that ! So, it's worth checking alternate dates for your stay to get the best rates.

  • Liked — Close to the main train station
  • Disliked — Rates sometimes are too high
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

Holiday Inn Wroclaw is an excellent hotel for a business stay.
I spent two nights there and was impressed with just about everything.
Location - good. A short walk from the market square and shopping areas.
Comfortable room.
Staff are very friendly and helpful- not always the case in this part of the world.
Usefull business suite.
Gym is very small and poorly equipped, but the sauna is excellent.

  • Liked — Great staff.
  • Disliked — Gym is not good.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We just returned from a two weekday night stay at the Holiday Inn Wroclaw. The hotel is very clean with large rooms, daily breakfast buffet and small business center (including free internet service).

The decor and gym here could use a little updating but the star of the hotel is really the staff. We were amazed at the level of service and professionalism that this hotel provides. While the hotel is only a Holiday Inn they treat their guests as though they are at a 5 star property.

Even though this hotel is not directly within the Old Town center I would HIGHLY recommend it for any stay.

  • Liked — The Front Desk Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wroclaw hotels
0.5 mi away
PURO Hotel
PURO Hotel
#2 of 68 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Wroclaw Old Town
0.8 mi away
Mercure Wroclaw Centrum
Mercure Wroclaw Centrum
#5 of 68 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Europejski Hotel
Europejski Hotel
#19 of 68 in Wroclaw
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Wroclaw Centrum
2.1 mi away
Grape Hotel
Grape Hotel
#1 of 68 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Wroclaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Wroclaw

Address: 49/57 Pilsudskiego Street, Wroclaw 50-032, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lower Silesia Province > Wroclaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wroclaw
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wroclaw
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wroclaw
#7 Business Hotel in Wroclaw
#12 Family Hotel in Wroclaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Wroclaw 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the centre of the city, with walking distance to the Market Square and the Main Train Station. It is easily reachable from all directions, close to A4 motorway and the distance to Wroclaw airport is 15 km.The hotel has 164 air-conditioned rooms equipped with LCD TV, digital TV channels, tea/coffee sets, minibar and free Internet access. The rooms are environmentally friendly: no disposable cosmetics, but instead a secure trash bin for waste segregation. Entrance to Fitness Center and sauna is free of charge. Scandic offers rooms for the disabled Guests and connected rooms for families. There is also possibility of renting accessories necessary for children care and stay. Children are invited to specially design Kids Corner, where toys, educational games, stuffed animals and play station can be found.The hotel's restaurant My Corner serves breakfasts with healthy and allergy-free options. The hotel has underground parking and a garage where charging unit for electric-powered vehicles is installed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Scandic Wroclaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Wroclaw
Holiday Inn Wroclaw
Wroclaw Scandic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Wroclaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.