We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Wroclaw

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Wroclaw to your Saves list
Scandic Wroclaw
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49/57 Pilsudskiego Street, Wroclaw 50-032, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Wroclaw
Certificate of Excellence
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Scandic Wroclaw is at the heart of the city - literally 5 minutes by foot from the Central Railway Station (Dworzec PKP) and 10 minutes from the Town Square (Rynek). It's a 15-minute ride from the airport (55 - 70 zlotys, depending on hour and day). Plenty of bars, restaurants and shopping centers in the vicinity. There's a gym (free of charge) and spa.

Staff very nice and helpful indeed. Rooms large, well furnished and clean with sufficient storing space, air condition, a mini bar, tea and coffee facilities and a large bath room. Some rooms have safes as well. TV channels includes a few Polish ones (TVP1, TVP 2, TVN, TVN24, Polsat, Eurosport and a few film channels), CNN, Bloomberg, France 24 in French, ARD, ZDF, SAT1, TVE and a Korean channel. Rooms facing the main street (Pilsudskiego) can obviously be very noisy if one opens the windows, but that's no problem thanks to air-conditioning; when on, rooms are sound proof. Rooms not facing the main street are quiet even with windows open.

Breakfast is superb - a large choice indeed, highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maciej K, General Manager at Scandic Wroclaw, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice opinion. It would be great to welcome you again at Scandic Wroclaw!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    110
    26
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
49
13
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for four nights. Three nights, Monday to Wednesday, were booked in advance on a special deal @ £100, no breakfast. We then decided to go a day early and so emailed ahead to ask for the same rate for the Sunday night. This was denied for reasons we didn't fully understand and the additional night was charged at £50, also without breakfast - we thought this too high for a Sunday night.

Reasonable sized room with fridge, kettle and tea/coffee. We liked the fact that the window could be opened for fresh air. Also, the air con was very quiet which allowed us to sleep with it on - it was hot and humid so this was very welcome. The room was well lit and and had a good sized, flat screen tv (but with only 2 channels in English). Best of all was the location! The hotel is only a few hundred metres from the main rail station and a short walk into the old town. In fact, having walked around a lot over the four days, we do not think that the location could have better met our needs. The room insulation was good and we heard very little noise on the corridor outside our room or from rooms above, below or to the side. This is important to us and we found the stay relaxing.

The not-so-good points include the beds - mattresses too firm with no quilted, soft cover, the very high sided bath with slippery base when showering and the printer in the foyer which did not work when needing to print out our boarding passes. As it happens the receptionist was helpful and did this for us. Also, the internet was fiddly and needed restarting from time-to-time. When working it was of a reasonable speed. The coffee sachets were not replaced on any of the three extra days.

Would we stay again? Yes, providing we got a good rate as there is plenty of competition.

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor room at the back of the hotel and got it. Rooms at the front face a busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Plus: good location, within walking distance from old city; well equiped rooms; reasonable breakfast; polite English speaking staff
Minus: free wi-fi has somehow complicated conection method - at least from my average pc user point of view

Room Tip: try avoid rooms on street side, as could be noisy from tramways
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ry, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed two nights and the reception service was excellent. They ordered taxis within five minutes and assisted in letting the driver know where to go and what the correct price would be. Also, the taxi expenses could be put on the hotel invoice. A little thing, but helpful when they only accept cash. One night I asked for an Iron for my shirts at 10 pm and it was delivered to my room within three minutes. On the down side, the breakfast is okay but not entirely up to standard with dry bread and bad watery bacon

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

+ Recently returned from a trip to Wroclaw and a stay at the Scandic.Having had an intial problem finding the place and then with my room, the latter was resolved after my return from a walk around the City in the early evening, thanks to the guy on Reception (didnt get his name). Ideally situated only 10-15 minutes walk from the Rynek and plethera of shops, bars and restaurants with a shopping center just behind the Hotel 5 minutes away, this makes the Scandic a perfect place to stay. Bicycle hire is free along with the small but adequate fintess centre and Suana, and duly made use of it too! All in all, a pleasant stay at the hotel, friendly and informative staff and an enjoyable visit.

- Bar and restaurant a bit dour, Breakfast is overpriced (60zl - 15€) a slight minus was the shower in the bath, rather than a standalone one. Nonetheless, always hot and refreshing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights, our first trip to Poland. Wroclaw an unexpected jewel, and the hotel very nice, not outrageously so, just nice. Competent and friendly staff, room fine, reasonable location. We did not partake of the restaurant, as there are so many convenient restaurants a short stroll away. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: away from the busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I often travel to Wroclaw and tryed many hotels, Scandic the old Holiday Inn is in a good location , the front desk is very professional , the managment is friendly and all for good price which is important on a business trip. Free internet works great and Scandic as a chain seems quite cool .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wroclaw hotels
0.5 mi away
PURO Hotel
PURO Hotel
#2 of 68 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Wroclaw Old Town
0.8 mi away
Mercure Wroclaw Centrum
Mercure Wroclaw Centrum
#5 of 68 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Europejski Hotel
Europejski Hotel
#19 of 68 in Wroclaw
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Wroclaw Centrum
2.1 mi away
Grape Hotel
Grape Hotel
#1 of 68 in Wroclaw
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Wroclaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Wroclaw

Address: 49/57 Pilsudskiego Street, Wroclaw 50-032, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lower Silesia Province > Wroclaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wroclaw
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wroclaw
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wroclaw
#7 Business Hotel in Wroclaw
#13 Family Hotel in Wroclaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Wroclaw 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the centre of the city, with walking distance to the Market Square and the Main Train Station. It is easily reachable from all directions, close to A4 motorway and the distance to Wroclaw airport is 15 km.The hotel has 164 air-conditioned rooms equipped with LCD TV, digital TV channels, tea/coffee sets, minibar and free Internet access. The rooms are environmentally friendly: no disposable cosmetics, but instead a secure trash bin for waste segregation. Entrance to Fitness Center and sauna is free of charge. Scandic offers rooms for the disabled Guests and connected rooms for families. There is also possibility of renting accessories necessary for children care and stay. Children are invited to specially design Kids Corner, where toys, educational games, stuffed animals and play station can be found.The hotel's restaurant My Corner serves breakfasts with healthy and allergy-free options. The hotel has underground parking and a garage where charging unit for electric-powered vehicles is installed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Scandic Wroclaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Wroclaw
Holiday Inn Wroclaw
Wroclaw Scandic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Wroclaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.