We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pierogi heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pierogarnia Stary Mlyn

Pierogarnia Stary Mlyn
Rynek 26, Wroclaw 50-101, Poland
71 3441415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 332 Restaurants in Wroclaw
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tradycyjny wystrój i pyszne, robione na miejscu pierogi.Różnorodność pierogów przyprawia o zawrót głowy: pierogi tradycyjne (Lepiochy - z wody brane), z pieca (Piecuchy), smażone (Czeburki Kresowe), podpiekane, na słodko, wegetariańskie, z mięsem, z okrasą, skwarkami... aż trudno się oprzeć, by nie spróbować tych pyszności. A to nie wszystko z długiej listy smakołyków - zupy, rogaliki, placki, sałatki, desery, ciasta, wypieki, różności... a wszystko to oparte na tradycyjnych przepisach babcinych, kresowych, przez pokolenia doskonalonych.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“pierogi heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

An excellent choice of pierogi. I was not aware you can have so many different types. Something for everyone.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    76
    33
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place for Pierogi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've been searching for a place to have meat authentic filled pierogi at a restaurant in Poland. This place was it. They have all types of pierogi including the traditional ground meat filled variety. You can choose the topping on the side. I had fried onions. There are way many more styles of pierogi at this place so if you're with someone who has had thier share of pierogi in their lifetime, this place will even surprise seasoned veterans.
The decor inside if very interesting, and the view (if you get a window seat) is right onto the town square. I highly recommend this place if you want some good pierogi!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Pierogi Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

You won't get pierogies like these anywhere else. Baked. Big, almost like apple turnovers. Delicious. We had a window seat overlooking the Rynek and watched the Christmas lights go on as we ate. My wife had latkas with chicken in a cheese sauce. Also delicious. Only problem was that I had to wash my food down with a Pepsi. Would you believe, NO BEER! They don't sell beer, or any other alcoholic beverages for that matter. No matter. It's a nice place with good (unusual) food and friendly service. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pierogis, you say?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

When your waitress tells you that your order will be too much for you, you'd better believe her. Having eaten lip-smacking pierogis at another Wroclaw establishment a day earlier, I assumed all pierogis come in the same standardized sizes. Little did I know, baked pierogis at Pierogarnia end up resembling massive dough clams stuffed with succulent, meaty goodness. Even though baked pierogis don't fall under the purview of traditional Polish cuisine, it's definitely something worth trying. I went a step further and ordered another plate of boiled chicken pierogis, Russian style. By the time I was done, I realized that the waitress was right, and promptly asked her if she could provide us with a container in which to take the remaining pierogis away. I believe they keep a lot of those in store, as the family at the table adjacent to ours had to ask for the same.

They have a substantial selection of Polish pierogis, both meaty and vegetarian options, and garlic dips which actually taste of garlic. That, coupled with a warm, wooden atmosphere, massive windows overlooking the Rynek and the sight of light snow falling over the market square made it a bit of an experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“if you just look for pierogi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Was one of the last places to eat at 11pm, just after having landed. Place is not bad, pierogi good I've to admit, their main limit is that they don't serve any alcool, even a bier, and this is unacceptable in such a typical place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierogarnia Stary Mlyn also viewed

Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 

Been to Pierogarnia Stary Mlyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierogarnia Stary Mlyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.