We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to come back... (Best Pierogi Ever!)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pod Fredra

Pod Fredra
Rynek - Ratusz 1, Wroclaw, Poland
+48-71-341-13-35
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 353 Restaurants in Wroclaw
Cuisines: Polish
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Farnham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Had to come back... (Best Pierogi Ever!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is definately among the better restaurants around about the Square in Wroclaw, where the best restauarants tend to located. We particularly liked the meat Pierogi which were very good indeed: had to be as my wife is not normally a Pierogi fan. I would go as far as to say the best I have ever tried.(not as doughey as so often can be the case, large and packed with filling.) Had to come back just for these... All other dishes were also very good as was the service on both occassions and the place has a nice atmosphere. Would go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    69
    22
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ate here twice, despite massive choice nearby!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Delightful setting, really friendly and helpful staff, excellent choice and quality of food and exceptionally well priced

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as it might be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

By Polish standards this is a pricey place - about £15 - £25 each for three courses without drinks - and the wine list is expensive by any standards at £20 upwards/bottle. So is it worth it? Mmme. My 'slippery jack' mushroom' was nice - but simply a bowl of marinated mushrooms - nothing else. My friend's herring starter was superb. My goose was good - but not stunning exactly and again served very plain with little else on the plate - I wish the waiter had recommended more side dishes. We were seated in a kind of banquette booth which meant we couldn't see anybody else and the place felt a bit empty and lifeless even though the restaurant was half full. You can eat so well for so little in Poland that upmarket places like this have to get it just right to compete - and for me Pod Fredra didn't quite make the grade.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food and time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We've stayed in a nearby boutique hotel and chose Pod Fredra restaurant on recommendation from our family. We've started our dinner with a plate of Oscypek - a fantastic delicacy - served with cranberries and prunes. We've replicated this starter last week to our friends in London who loved it very much. Main: rabbit in cream as per old Polish recipe; I had ham hock - again, I chose very safe but equally very Polish dish. Both were very good but sadly left no room for a dessert. We had some lovely beers to go with our food and considering the whole experience we were more than happy to spend 162PLN. Someone mentioned in another review it is not a cheap restaurant ... well Wroclaw or Poland is no longer a cheap place. Having said that we were very pleased with food, ambiance, service and with prices :) Look forward to eating here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good dinner!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful traditional polish food. We had Priogis, rabbit,green beans, spinach, carrot salad. We topped it off with Wodka zoladkowa and Wratislavia vodka!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pod Fredra also viewed

Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 

Been to Pod Fredra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pod Fredra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.