We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“polish food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kurna Chata

Kurna Chata
Odrzanska 17, Wroclaw 50113, Poland
+48 071 341 06 68
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 333 Restaurants in Wroclaw
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“polish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Good for polish food and beer. Very reasonable priced. Try the Pierogi with cheese and garlic sauce!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    159
    39
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Rustic and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a friendly, unpretending restaurant, with picturesque, rustic tables and chairs, international pop music in the background, efficient service, and tasty, hearty Polish food. I had pierogi baked with cheese and spicy tomato sauce. This may sound heavy, but it was actually good, certainly filling but not unrefined. I would gladly return for another lunch during my next trip to this beautiful and enticing city.
Note that the location shown on the TripAdvisor map is quite inaccurate: the main Kurna Chata (where I went) is close to the Odra river and the Pomorski bridge, and the other one (ul. Grunwaldzka 67) is out of the Old Town, between plac Grunwaldski and the Hala Stulecia.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“The disappointment of our trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

....our guide did give us lots of restaurant recommendations and tried to steer us away from this establishment. Next time we should listen
Yes, polish food but laden with oil and very disappointing. The bigos was mainly sauerkraut, a little mushroom and a smidgeon of Polish sausage was all that could be found. Would have enjoyed a can of plain sauerkraut more. The potato "pancakes" were thin, fried and had more oil in them than potato. We had big plates of different pierogi....unfortunately the only type on offer were fried. We left most of them untouched. Soups were fine......we all agreed that this was the most disappointing restaurant of our whole trip

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Real polish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Been there several times and always found good value for money. Prices are how they should be (and in Wroclaw are raising too much in general for the quality they provide). They serve and incredible soup "inside" a bread bowl :). I recommend Gustliki, fried dumplings with cheese and mushrooms, very good and huge portion. Local beer is also quite good. Service could improve.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a nice evening meal here recently. I must admit Poland did not strike me as a gastronomic location. However, we did enjoy our meals and there is no benefit in comparing these eateries to other parts of the world we have visited. The food everywhere we ate was plentiful and reminiscent of a hearty home cooked meal.
AT Kurna Chata I had pork ribs which were very nice and came in a large portion along with great chunky type of chips and other veg and trimmings. My wife had a deep fried camembert cheese which came with French fries and veg, again another big portion. My wife would have preferred her cheese to be a bit more gooey.
The staff were nice and helpful and the atmosphere was very nice too. The decor is a bit odd but does still add to the overall ambience.
We paid 64 zloty for the meal including two beers and waters. Another great value meal in Wroclaw.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kurna Chata also viewed

Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 

Been to Kurna Chata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurna Chata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.