We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Wroclaw!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kurna Chata

Kurna Chata
Odrzanska 17, Wroclaw 50113, Poland
+48 071 341 06 68
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 352 Restaurants in Wroclaw
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best in Wroclaw!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We went there for dinner, it was full but had a great table with candle light. We took a rye soup served in a bread bowl which was delicious and typical polish meal. After, we had ribs from the oven with potatoes and sauerkraut...divine! And they serve big portions! The wine was also very good. All of this in a great ambiance, typical area, nice staff and very low prices for the quality! I recommand it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    159
    39
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistency”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I think this is my third review. I travel to Wroclaw infrequently, but when I come Kurna Chata is a given. Very good food to very affordable prices make a visit a given.

In fact, I think the quality has gone up since my last visit back in October. Sundays are special as they serve chicken soup. You have to make a reservation to get in.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roaming
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Polish Cuisine and Atmosphere- Try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent a spring weekend in Wroclaw and found our way to the Kurna Chata on a rainy saturday afternoon. The place was packed but we were able to grab a table for 2.
The menu includes many traditional polish favorites pierogi, cutlets, bigos etc.The preparation was unlike anything I had experienced before. We tried several dishes with huge portions. Meat pierogis baked in a mushroom cream sauce topped with cheese- fantastic. Polish Gnocchi with Goulash which were incredible dumplings topped with a goulash flavored with paprika. Pork cutlet topped with cheese and mushrooms with roasted potatoes and 3 types of slaw on the side- tender and delicious. 2- litre pitcher of beer rounded out the meal. The service was great, it seemed like two servers were handling all the tables in the place. If we had more time here we would be back for sure! If you are looking for traditional polish food in a great atmosphere with reasonable prices don't pass this one up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuvalim
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is the place in Wroclaw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

In searching after sane prices in the center plaza of Wroclaw, we meneged to arrive here.
2 and a half minutes from the "Rynek".

We loved:
1. Great food! polish but assigned
2. worm atmosphere (+beautiful plates to those who love..)
3. low prices, especially compared to other restaurants in this area of Wroclaw

Need improve:
1. speaking english staff

We ordered:
* varied soups - all very good!
* grilled fish - not recomended
* pork ribs - great! finaly proper meat preparation in Poland!
* chiken with onion souce - nice (ask for salad which include Lettuce, tomato and cucumber instead of the local boring salads)

Bottom Line:
good place in reasonable prices.
I`ll come back here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Good value wholesome Polish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A nice restaurant on the next street down from The Art Hotel. They have a pleasant, casual ambience. The food is cheap & tastes. The drinks are on the small side so you may well have to order more than one.
I had breaded veal which came with chips, picked shredded beetroot and other vegetables. It was all delicious and perfectly cooked and the portions were ample.
Service was mixed, with one waitress being friendly while the other one ignoring my call for attention. Service was on the slow side despite it not being busy.
I would recommend this place for good old fashioned Polish food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kurna Chata also viewed

Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 

Been to Kurna Chata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurna Chata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.