We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's quite ok but misses out here and there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Ryne 38, Wroclaw, Poland
(+ 48(71)372-53-94
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 354 Restaurants in Wroclaw
Price range: $23 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's quite ok but misses out here and there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I visited Wroclaw - my hometown, a few days ago and we've decided to meet up with my family for lunch at La Scala - known to be one of the best restaurants in Wroclaw, serving a great choice of Italian dishes.

First things first (and this should be quickly fixed by the managers and owners) - wine list! We were informed that all 4 of our first choices of white wine were "out of stock for some time already". I believe that first of all, the waiter could come up with something a bit less honest - maybe "We are out today". Second of all, if you run out of something on your menu for a longer period of time, just cross it out to make it easier for your clients.

Apart from that, the restaurant serves quite decent Italian dishes, although I could recommend a few other places with much better pricing. Promoting competitors isn't really my thing, so I'll just leave it as it is. Perhaos the price has been changed for the upcoming EURO2012, but either way, it' too expensive for the quality and size of the food being served.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    15
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“used to be one of the best in Wroclaw”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

La Scala in the past was like very good but with years the service and food has gone down . It needs a new general manager as I would say. The service is spoild with the location which is like great and because it is great they have a lot of clients and they don't care anymore so much to have great food and service, I would try a diffrent place in the square

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best places to dine in Wroclaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

...I know a lot of restaurants in Wroclaw and there are only few which can compete with this one on food quality. Really delicious Italian cuisine! Ok they could renovate the place a bit as the ambient is not matching the high prices they ask. Still safe bet if you are ready to spend 20-30% more than in other places in old town.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijssel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Two restaurants in one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The ground floor is a simple bistro. On the first floor is the more luxury Italian restaurant. (Prices are 50% higher there I have heard, but that is because it is more like a real restaurant.) Both floors have their own kitchens. We spend EUR 11,- on a pizza with to large beers in the bistro. Okay, but nothing exciting.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“i don t recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We were looking for good italian place in Wroclaw; having read reviews about this website and seeing restaurant from outside , me and my boyfriend agreed it seems great and we went there for late lunch.
At the beggining everything seemed great; the appetizer we ordered was very tasty ^(broccoli spinach gratin) served with warm delicious bread. We were very surprised when our pizza arrived. Cake felt artificial and all the ingredients were falling off the cake when we tried to grab a piece. We both love all kinds of pizzas but this really didn t taste good, I would even say it had no taste. Terrible experience ....we really felt like complaining a little bit to the waiter; mostly because the place isnt very cheap and the pizza was a supermarket quality; we kindly said that taste isnt good and showed him how everything is just slipping off. He reacted very rude; repeated loudly our words and said that this is how they make their pizza in La Scala. Very intersting way of making pizza....

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scala also viewed

Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.