We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mysterious Castle with many secret from WWII” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zamek Ksiaz

Zamek Ksiaz
ul Piastow Slaskich 1, Walbrzych, Poland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Walbrzych
Type: Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mysterious Castle with many secret from WWII”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Książ Castle, the third largest castle in Poland, is located on a majestic rock cliff by the side of the Pelcznica River. Beautifully surrounded by the forest within a 315500 actre nature reserve, at the height of 395m above sea level, castle is often called ‘the Pearl of Lower Silesia’. Such location corresponding to the size of the building is very rare in Europe.
I visited this place with my family in nice sunny day and we surprised by Nazi's underground construction "The Giant".
You need a complete day to visit the Książ Castle and the area.
Thanks to our expert english guide "Malgorzata Lebioda"

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    33
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent a few hours visiting the castle and the surroundings in August 2013. It was a beautiful and warm day which made it even more pleasant. Especially, the gardens are breathtaking. I recommend stoping for a nice ice cream desert on the way out in a restaurant next to the entrance gate.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“The castle of Książ - Princess Daisy's home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Castle in Książ (Lower Silesia) is the biggest castle in the area and the third biggest one in Poland (after Malbork and Cracow's Wawel). It was built within the period of 14 years at the end of XIII century by Silesian Prince Boleslav I called Crude.
Castle was considered a „key to Silesia” as its location on the top of the highest mountain around allowed to keep under control the trade track between Silesia and Bohemia.
In its over eight centuries lasting history the castle exceeded numerous reconstructions and enlargements changing it from early defensive fortress into todays palace.
It also often changed hands among many owners but the longest proprietors was the princes' family Hochberg von Pless owning the castle from 1509 till 1941. Significant member of the family was wife of John Henry XV, Princess Maria Theresa Olivia, well known as Princess Daisy (1873 – 1943).
At the end of II World War the castle was prepared to became Hitler's general headquarters and a place where mysterious activities occured living its trace in endless underground tunnels where two trains could run alongside and nobodu knows what was it really, yet.
I do hope my pictures will be an invitation to make a journey there.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaniá, Khania, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice castle nice furniture....bad lady in front...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

very nice castle a lot of things to see and to read about what was there and the lady Daisy and the rest of the family,very big and need time to see it all,nice to spend some hours with this,but half gates was closed and we didnt see it all and its stupid that in front of the main gate one old lady work for the toilets and you must be pay to use the toilets like 2zl and the toilets are very dirty,,,if somebody ask money for the using then must be perfect...and when you go inside and you pay the entrance after the inform that you can use their toilets for free its like they know what happen outside and they dont do nothing to change it....

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Ksiaz, right on the palace grounds. Awesome little hotel with the palace right outside your door! We toured the Palace the next day and it is such a beautiful place, with grounds to just be inspired at! We are so glad we put this spot on our itinerary as it did not disappoint!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zamek Ksiaz also viewed

Kowary, Lower Silesia Province
Lesna, Lower Silesia Province
 
Walbrzych, Lower Silesia Province
 

Been to Zamek Ksiaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zamek Ksiaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.