We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensjonat Tuberoza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pensjonat Tuberoza to your Saves list
Pensjonat Tuberoza
ul. Pilsudskiego 31, Zakopane 34-500, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 176 Zakopane B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Nice and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Tuberoza is a good choice for those coming to Zakopane. It is centrally located. Short walk to the main pedestrian zone Krupowki. It has a small parking. It could be problematic to get a parking space if it is super busy. it is a small, family owned bed and breakfast. Rooms are ice but small and the bathrooms are quite small too. it has a nice lobby area with a fireplace. It also has a sauna and a small bar. The staff is super nice and helpful. First day I was there a water pipe broke and there was no water. The fixed it very quickly and were very apologetic about it. There is a free wireless Internet in the room and the breakfast is delicious.

Coupe of things I wasn't crazy about is that you have to pay everything upfront and that you cannot keep the room key with you when you leave the place. They locked the place at night so if you come late you have to ring the door and wait for soemone open it for you. They do it no problem but I just felt bed waking up someone every time I was coming in late.

Over all a nice place though!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

The staff were friendly, pleasant and very helpful. The location was quiet yet within easy walking distance of both the town centre and the start of the mountain walks. A wide and generous choice for breakfast. Cleanliness of the hotel was excellent. Tea and cookies / biscuits available all day. Very good quality of facilities and room with bathroom in a large house renovated into small hotel. The beds contrary to one previous review were great due to their firmness.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, Lancashire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stopped at Tuberoza for two nights in July - we fancied something a bit quieter after 3 nights in Krakow. The bus journey takes approx 2 hours and was a bargain at 17 zl each (£3.50). The bus station is slightly out of town - about 15-20 mins walk away.

Reading some of the previous reviewers I do think they have been slightly harsh. One reviewer has said that it is in a time warp - however I would say that the place has a lot of character. A minimalist, average hotel, similar to many others this is not. The website shows it as it looks, so take a look before booking and see whether it is your kind of place.

Our room was on the first floor and a nice size. Bathroom slightly on the small side, but not minute. Staff were very friendly. As we arrived they apologised straight away for not speaking much English, but then proceeded to communicate with us perfectly adequately about breakfast, room service etc. Unlike Krakow we didn't meet many people in Zakopane who were fluent in English, so I don't think it was uncommon.

Breakfast was good - choice of meats, cereals, cheese, tea, coffee, juice. Also free tea, coffee and biscuits throughout the day.

There is a sauna & jacuzzi for which there is a charge. Although they did tell us this when we checked in, I forgot and so was a little surprised at the price (after we had used it). 50 zl each for sauna and jacuzzi (100 zl for both). I don't know if this is expensive or not, but had I checked, we would've stopped in for longer!!!!! There was a games room in the basement along with some gym equipment which we didn't use.

Zakopane itself is an interesting place. We stopped 2 nights, which given we weren't skiing or hiking was plenty time to spend. We were surprised at just how busy the main street was. Get up and out early (before 9) if you want to see it without people... otherwise it gets packed pretty quickly. There are some great restaurants with live folk music, bbqs - an experience we didn't find at all in Krakow. About 3 mins down the street on the way into town there is a lovely arty bar called Zazgora. Make sure you have a beer or two in there.

Tuberoza is a short walk from the centre ... definitely make the effort to stop out of the way where it is quieter.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

This hotel is stuck in a time warp. The beds are so hard you might as well sleep on the floor. The curtains in our room when closed had huge gaps at the sides which meant that we woke early with the daylight. The soap in the bathroom is a joke - so small it almost disappeared with one use and wasn't replaced the next day! The towels felt like sandpaper. The carpet in the room looked shabby and very old. The breakfast was basic with no fruit at all! As for the jacuzzi and sauna - OK if you give 4 hours notice that you want to use the facilities! Only good point is that it only a short walk to the town centre. There are plenty of other places to stay and I would definately recommend that you find somewhere else other than the Tuberoza. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

Tuberosa is a great little guesthouse in Zakopane. The breakfast was very good quality and the guesthouse is walking distance to the bust station and center of the towns activities. No complaints in comparing this to other places we stayed in Poland with less charm. Yes the beds are hard as a rock, but that was the case in every hotel in Poland we visited. Nice little living room and there is Wi-fi seems to be free, we didn't get a bill for it. The town seems to be expanding at a rapid rate and there is some construction going on in the neighborhood mostly other guest houses adding on. The sun rises early in Poland and our room had a skylight. You might want to factor that if you want to sleep in. We went to Zakopane because it is frequently on the list of a 7-10 day tour of Poland run by major tour companies. I would not recommend Zakopane except for a day trip if there was no ski or hiking activity involved. The guesthouse was great but the town itself is one long expensive touristy street fair, fine for a one day trip. The most charming thing we observed was weddings on Saturday, many were scheduled and the horse carts and drivers came right through town

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma WA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

The breakfast is nice. The usual fair in this part of Europe. Beds are very uncomfortable and it is hard to sleep on them. Hard like a board. The bill was another problem. We were overcharged by one night and the proprietor refused to refund the money, which somehow suggests intent, rather then a mistake.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights in August 2007 and were allocated room 1 - something the size of a shoebox. The B&B is well located (there is an excellent tourist office run by a middle aged lady) down the road. We enquired whether we could change rooms - no chance as they were fully booked. If the room was small, so was the bathroom and you had to step out of the shower room to move the door and then step back into the shower. Oh dear! Breakfast is very good though and there is free tea and coffee after a day's walking. To be fair they did refund some of our money without us actually asking which made up for the small room a little. Not enough to stay there again though. Recommend you find somewhere just as nice but a little further out and for half the price. Also they are a bit mean with the toiletries, one mini soap bar was all we got fo 4 nights. You may wish to ration the toilet paper for longer stays. The reception toilet has no paper!

Please note that Zakopane is great and well worth a week's stay. Watch out for the dubious taxi drivers playing cards by the coach station though. They tend not to switch their meters on and double the fare- just say you'll report them and they'll soon learn! By the way Zakopane is very safe and hiking links are excellent.

  • Liked — the breakfast is very good
  • Disliked — room size is shocking!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensjonat Tuberoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensjonat Tuberoza

Address: ul. Pilsudskiego 31, Zakopane 34-500, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Zakopane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Zakopane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensjonat Tuberoza, a beautiful bed & breakfast located in the best part of Zakopane. Tuberoza offers quiet and peaceful luxury, yet still close to all the attractions. It offers single and double rooms and family apartments for 3 or 4 persons. All rooms with bathrooms and color TV. A Full Breakfast Buffet is served each morning. Tuberoza features billiards room, ski room, bar, restaurant, fireplace, parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Pensjonat Tuberoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensjonat Tuberoza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.