We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restauracja Watra

Restauracja Watra
Zamoyskiego 1, Zakopane, Poland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 113 Restaurants in Zakopane
Cuisines: Polish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have visited “Warta restaurant” few days ago. The main attraction of this place is massive grill where they cook all sort of meats. We have decided to give a go and we were disappointed. We have gone fro traditional dish called “Golonka” which is cooked for few hours in beer – the dish was outstanding. Two portions feed 4 people so if you are not a big eater make sue you choose something small. The whole place has go great buzz – there was a band playing so we even managed to have a dance or two. Service was great too, quick (considering the place was placed) and very friendly at this same time. Price are excellent taking in consideration portion size & the quality of the food.
If you are looking for traditional regional food in Zakopane don’t look any further and visit “Warta” restaurant located in Zamojskiego Street.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    25
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Really love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Fantastic grilled meats, excellent prices, beautiful open grills and an amazing atmosphere in the evening with live bands and a dance floor. Our favourite restaurant for years in Zakopane, I recommend the Kwasnicza soup or goulash for starters (you will barely be able to fit in a main course though). Nice and cosy for a lunchtime soup too. Can't fault it.

Well - sometimes you do have to pay 1zl to a woman guarding the toilets....but it's still well worth it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great traditional food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Yes! this is a real mountain Polish food experience, amazing sesouik grill. My all time favorite dish baran with chaterelles mushrooms and osypki cheese. Prices are very reasonable and also the variety of vodkas well priced too.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good meal but not exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a good meal here but I can't understand why it is 2nd best in Zakopane. The meal was reasonably priced and plentiful, however, the pierogi (Polish dumplings) were not that nice. The location of the restaurant isn't great. Next to a very noisy road. Overall, a good meal but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta Europe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Vast menu and good prices. Had to wait for drinks which came after the food but on the whole its a fanstastic place. Pity it does not accept credit card.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restauracja Watra also viewed

Zakopane, Lesser Poland Province
Zakopane, Lesser Poland Province
 
Zakopane, Lesser Poland Province
Zakopane, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Restauracja Watra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restauracja Watra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.