We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the name” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grotesque

Grotesque
ul. Przesmyk 4, Rzeszow, Poland
+48178625028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 54 restaurants in Rzeszow
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: European, Polish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Lymm, Cheshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We ate in the Grotesque open air bar/restaurant in the main square. We had Polish food, the pancakes with goulasch was particularly tasty. We were in Rzeszow for four nights, and we ate at the Grotesque for two of those nights.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    14
    19
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We wandered the square and this place looked more interesting than most, slightly off the square. The atmosphere was pleasant and the traditional food tasty. Reasonably prices at $10 per dinner with a large beer. We were satisfied with this choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, but nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a nice restaurant, the food is above average, but I don't see why others rave about it. We had a decent dinner there and wanted to eat dessert as well and they did not have any dessert in their menu which I thought was odd. We drank "winter edition" beers, which were very nice. I don't know where the smoking area is but one could smell smoke in the restaurant which was disturbing. Overall a good atmosphere, but I expected something more special.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy in my tummy... Which is now significantly bigger than it was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Found myself stuck Rzeszow on my own for the night so looked on trip advisor for somewhere to eat. Embarrassingly good value tasty food. Had the polish soup to start amazing was a meal in itself then pork and wild mushrooms which was rich and creamy. Couple of large beers and an ice skating death trap of a slide home, about as good as it gets when stuck on your own in the middle of nowhere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent food at very reasonable price. Highly recommended if you want to taste traditional polish food..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotesque also viewed

Rzeszow, Subcarpathian Province
Rzeszow, Subcarpathian Province
 
Rzeszow, Subcarpathian Province
Rzeszow, Subcarpathian Province
 

Been to Grotesque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotesque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.