We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem underground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Pietro

Da Pietro
Rynek Glowny 17, Krakow, Poland (Stare Miasto)
+48 (12) 422-32-79
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 804 restaurants in Krakow
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden gem underground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This was the first Italian restaurant opened in Krakow and after eating there you can understand why it's still there!

Our party of 4 picked it at random whilst walking around the main square. Once inside you are directed downstairs into a maze like rooms, the decor is perfect. Very rustic. It used to be the place where the coins were stamped for the King and it creates a lovely atmosphere.

Right from the outset the waitresses were polite, spoke perfect English and we're also very understanding to dietary requirements. Hot bread was served upon arrival and if we knew this wouldn't have needed a started. But we did and struggled to finish our generously portioned main meals.

From pasta to pizza, everything was lovely. If we had more time in Krakow we would definitely go back!

Very reasonably priced too, 4 people enjoying acoholic drinks, starters and a main came to PLN270 (approx. £56)

They even give a little lemon shot as you leave to ensure you stay warm in the cold nights!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    88
    96
    25
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely decor, lovely staff, deserved tip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I believe this was one of the first if not the first Italian restaurant in Krakow. Food was a bit more than the other restaurants we ate in but was well worthy of it!The tip was deserved, the staff were friendly and helpful. The menu was great and they had promos on each day and also seasonal menus!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good food with excellent view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Located at Main Square, the garden outside gives the opportunity to have a good meal and watching Cracow's City Market at the same time. The food is good, tasty and fresh, consider choosing dishes from seasonal menu: at present the pumpkin and mushroom dishes rule!
Good choice of wines and other drinks. The staff polite, could be a little more efficient but it is not bad taking into account that the entire garden is full all the time and they are really really busy. Tip fully deserved.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“brilliant! Great one and Italian food with vegan options as well , and very tasty ones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we visited this restaurant twice during our business trip in Krakow as our colleagues reccomended it. We enjoyed the great location firstly, were lucky enough to be there during a very good wheather week so we dined al fresco with a view on the main square in the old town, so great for people watching as well.
The first night we had pizza, and I found my veggie pizza really nice. I don't eat dairy so I asked the waitress to have no cheese on it but add extra mushoom and she did so, The second night opted for paparedelle with porcini mushroom, sundried tomatoes and rosemary. These were just amazing, I am Italian, and don't remeber having such a simple vegan perfect dish in my own country. Just perfect. Go here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a lovely evening here. Food very nice and inexpensive. Service very good. Could not fault the surroundings especially seeing the city lit up so beautifully! Ideal place to eat for all ages and tastes. Would go back

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Pietro also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Da Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Pietro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.