We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all rounder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alexander II

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alexander II to your Saves list
Hotel Alexander II
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zamenhoffa 14, Krakow 31-025, Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good all rounder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Me and father have just returned from 3-nights at the Alexander II. Lovely hotel, very clean, lovely and warm, beds very comfy. The breakfast choice was simple was still very nice. (Cereal, toast and boiled egg) Its in a good location, just away from the main square. Yes there are train tracks running next to the hotel and yes you can just hear them, but they didnt bother us in the slighest. Reception staff very helpful and organised our trips out. Nothing was too much trouble. Wouldnt hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    72
    34
    14
    8
See reviews for
23
59
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Opole, Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was my third or fourth stay at Hotel Alexander 2. Very reasonable prices for a two night stay. My wife and I booked a double room but received the larger double with an extra bed/sofa. Very neat and clean. It is very close to the railroad tracks but the room was well insulated and had very good windows. Hardly even noticed the trains and I am a light sleeper. All the staff was very friendly and helpful, always one or two on duty. Continental breakfast was good and plentiful. We travelled there by train so the location was perfect for us. About 5 minutes walk over a metal pedestrian bridge, past the Europejski Hotel for one block, then turn left to the end of the street. Less than 10 minutes to the town square. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends.
My only "complaint" would be that the central heating was set too high when we got there so the room was too warm. The controls are in the room so it was no problem to lower it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

just back from this hotel, so clean, so warm, so central, but the most un friendly reception staff i have ever come across, especially on called elizabeth,,she was reluctant to even speak,, dont know who employed them, so ignorant

Room Tip: all rooms are good and we didnt hear train that some people said was very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Visited last year. Central location, Great for the christmas markets in the square.Nice hotel. Very clean and lovely decorated rooms. Their is noise from the trains as the hotel is close to the line at first we were a bit concerned.We had no problem sleeping you get used to it almost not noticing.Fabulous breakfast/great selection.The breakfast consisted of cereals,cakes,toast,jams and scrambles eggs,hot sausages, selection of cheese and cold meats tea/coffee. Some staff really friendly/others may have smiled a little more.However you tend not to spend much time in the hotel as plenty of attractions to visit.
Would return again to this hotel for a short city break. The price we payed was really value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

just arrived back from a 5 night stay at this hotel. excellent location, big shopping centre a 5 minute walk away, situated close to the old town ( beautiful place). rooms very cosy and clean, staff on reception are friendly and very helpful. although the hotel backs onto train lines we were never kept awake and we would definitely recommend this hotel as the ideal place to stay in krakow. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: we booked a double room but found the bed was probably more like 3 quarter so in future we will book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here in December for the Christmas markets. The hotel is quite modern, the rooms are clean and (in December) warm. Breakfast was good( the usual continental) and the staff friendly enough.
It is really near the train station and therefore the very large shopping mall.It is very handy for the old market square.
The only drawback is the proximity of the railway line. I had hoped that this would not be too much of a problem but trains were running in the early hours of the morning.
Also we were not aware that we would have to pay a local tax on leaving and would have preferred to pay this on checking-in or at least been made aware so we left enough change for this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed in this charming little hotel for a week in October 2012. All 4 of the reception staff that I encountered during my stay were exceptionally helpful right from booking my trip to the salt mine to even lending me a charger to charge my BlackBerry when I realised I had forgotten to get an adaptor to be able to plug in my charger. It is very close to all the main attractions and yes it is in front of a railway line but you don't hardly notice the trains going by I will definitely stay at this hotel again, I can't wait

Room Tip: I barely heard the trains on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alexander II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander II

Address: Zamenhoffa 14, Krakow 31-025, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander II 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alexander II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alexander II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.