We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Columbus to your Saves list
Hotel Columbus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Starowislna 57, Krakow 31-038, Poland (Kazimierz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

After staying in big chain hotels it was a real pleasure to stay at Columbus. First we stayed there for three nights then again for one on our way back home to Canada. It is everything a small centrally located hotel should be. Friendly and accommodating staff, first class furnishing, beds and esp. linen. Krakow is a very walkable city and this place was perfectly located for sightseeing the Old Town and Wawel Casyle. Kazimiesz and the river is just around the corner.
It's true the hotel has streetcars running all day and into the night making rooms in the front pretty noisy. We are seasoned travelers tired after a day exploring Krakow so the noise didn't keep us awake. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind words, which we are delighted to hear.
Thank you also for your comment about noise coming from the street.

We hope to welcome you soon again

Wishing you only good trips



With Kind Regards
Beata Michalska
Hotel Manager
Columbus Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    193
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
121
403
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights at the end of june, it does'nt look much from the outside but once inside is totally different, all the staff are very friendly and helpful and speak very good english, our room was very spacious with nice comfy beds, flat screen tv and nice shower room, breakfast in the morning was excellent with alot of different choices, close to the main square and even closer to the old jewish quarters, the only downfall as other reviewers have stated is that the noise from the trams and traffic is pretty bad, if you are a light sleeper like me take some ear plugs , shut the windows and put on the air con, apart from that its a fabulous place to stay

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our team I would like to thank You for your positive feedback about our service, rooms and breakfast.

The whole team sends their heartily regards to you.

With kindest regards,
Beata Michalska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights 1st - 4th July on Tripadvisor Reviews. Nice bedrooms and bathroom..well stocked fridge with beers, juice etc. Great selection of foodstuffs in the small breakfast area. Staff very helpfull and pleasant...now the down side. Several reviewers remarked that if you were a light sleeper, you should request a room at the rear of the property. This is a complete understatement. I left my room request far too late in the booking process and was given a room overlooking the main street. I used earplugs, and I would defy anyone to sleep through the constant noise from the trams and traffic. If you cannot obtain a room at the rear..I would look elswhere. The noise and lack of sleep made my stay in this pleasant Hotel, a disappointing experience.

Room Tip: You must request a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our team I would like to thank You for your positive feedback about our service, rooms and breakfast.

Regarding your note about noise coming from the street, please accept our sincere apologies for your inconvenience.
Unfortunately since our hotel is placed in strict center of the city, public transportation noise
is hard to avoid.

Thank you again for staying with us.

With kind regards
Beata Michalska
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morayshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the Columbus with my family . We had 1 double room & two twin rooms , one of which was located on the third floor at the front of the Hotel .. The Trams are noisy, but they do stop running between the hrs of 12 midnight & 6am .. Please don't let this put you off, an otherwise fantastic Hotel . The Hotel its self is in a near perfect location , located only a short walk from most attractions . Trezo restaurant , which was recommended to us by the Hotel certainly lived up to its trip advisor status .. one not to be missed , we actually ate their twice during our five day stay .
We as a family can't praise the staff enough .. They were informative, courteous, & extremely helpful . The rooms were immaculate & spacious . The buffet breakfast catered for all .we enjoyed our stay here , so much so we are booking again for 2014 .. Thank you to all the staff at the columbus

Room Tip: Due to the noise from the Trams , please try & request a room at the back of the hotel . However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guests,
On behalf of our team I would like to thank you so much for your positive feedback and so kind words.
I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and spent a good time in Cracow.It is a great pleasure when our efforts to make our guests’ stay enjoyable are fruitful.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

The whole team sends their heartily regards to you.

see you soon !!

With kindest regards,
Beata Michalska
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during a recent 4 night visit to Krakow. The hotel is ideally situated to visit all areas of Krakow as it is only about 15 minutes walking time from all of the main sites. The hotel rooms are all well equipped and are well maintained. All of the staff speak good English and are very friendly.A good buffet breakfast which is included in the price is served each morning and the hotel is located only a few hundred yards from a really excellent restaurant called the Trezo which if you see the Trip Advisor reviews is the No 1 restaurant in Krakow out of 676 restaurants. This hotel is an excellent base for a stay in Krakow and we would recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Email the hotel with a request for a room at the rear of the hotel if you are a light sleeper as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam, On behalf of our team I would like to thank you so much for your positive feedback and so kind words.
I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and spent a good time in Cracow!
It is a great pleasure when our efforts to make our guests’ stay enjoyable are fruitful.
We truly hope to host you again in the nearest future at the Columbus Hotel.

The whole team sends their heartily regards to you.

With kindest regards,

Beata Michalska
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our second stay in Krakow and first in the Columbus. Booking made by email, and included an airport pick up / drop off service (at 90pln per trip).

Following previous tips, we requested and got a quiet room at the rear. The room furnishings and bathroom were just to our taste. There is a superb buffet breakfast with lots of good bars and restaurants almost on the doorstep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to hear that you were satisfied with our service and enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be happy to welcome you back again at the Columbus hotel.

The whole team sends their heartily regards to you.


Kind Regards

Beata Michalska
Hotel Manager
Columbus Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed in Columbus hotel between 11-14 June, in a triple room, 2nd floor. The hotel is ideally located for all the city center sightseeing - Kazimiers Jewish quarter is just around the corner, Wavel castle and Rynek are just a couple of stops on a tram or a 15min walk. Also there is a small convenience store just across the road - Kefirek. It's open till late at night and you can get all your basics there if you run out (bread, water, diary, toiletries....) Our hotel room was spacious enough for 3, the third bed was a roll-on bed (slightly smaller size), bathroom was spotless clean and breakfast was plentiful - yogurts, musli, eggs, ham... The only slight remark, the tripple rooms are all orientated towards the street so it can get noisy as trams stop just in front of the hotel, but the positives of this hotel far outweight this slight disadvantage (you can request double rooms at the back if the street noise bothers you). The hospitality of the staff and the cleaners was amazing. I would definitely come back. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Columbus hotel. Your comment is very important to us to constantly improve ourselves.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back at our hotel.

Beata Michalska
Hotel Manager
Columbus Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#4 of 248 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 248 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#14 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Kleparz
Puro Hotel
Puro Hotel
#17 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Address: Starowislna 57, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#6 Family Hotel in Krakow
#28 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Columbus in Cracow welcomes you in style. Whether visiting from very close, or far away, you will appreciate the personalized attention, warmth and sophistication of our boutique Columbus. The building which was built in the 1930`s, was transformed into this luxurious 24 room boutique hotel in 2007. Lastly a complete renovation was finished in December 2013. Hotel is arranged in a colonial style with wooden exotic furniture and warm colours. All of our comfortably renovated rooms are equipped with: mini bars, complimentary mineral water, individually controlled air-conditioning and comfy beds. Complimentary Internet access is provided in all rooms. If you wish to forget about the hustle and bustle of city life we invite you to our courtyard. In this cosy and peaceful place, located at the back of the hotel, you can take a rest after the whole day of exploring the city. Our staff will make every effort to ensure an unforgettable stay in Krakow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.