We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional polish cuisine off the beaten track” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nostalgia

Nostalgia
Karmelicka, Krakow, Poland
(012) 425 42 60
Improve this listing
Ranked #415 of 889 Restaurants in Krakow
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Traditional polish cuisine off the beaten track”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We saw this was quite highly rated on trip advisor and it happened to be on the main road we walked down everyday to get to the city centre, not that you would've known. This restaurant is tucked away down a little archway/tunnel and leads to a traditional style polish townhouse, hence the perfect setting for traditional polish cuisine.
The food as I said is bare traditional polish food, ideal if you want to experience proper polish cuisine and culture. Very basic, cheap but good simple food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, setting, wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed Nostalgia. When we arrived it was empty and we were seated in the first floor fireplace room. They have an attic that would be worth dining in as well. We sat by a lovely crackling fireplace. By the time we left, the entire room was full. Service was good, attentive and patient with the language barrier. We enjoyed the mushroom appetizer and the smoked cheese appetizer. Both delicious. We had a sampling of the pierogies which were perfectly done. We shared a salad and soup and could not go wrong. A quality wine list made for e wonderful evening. I recommend Nostalgia and would return if I am back in Krakow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Touch of Polish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very nice and comfortable seating on the terrace. After a pleasant stroll to Market Square relax in the restaurant with friendly service and traditional Polish cuisine. Try the goat cheese, if you like very strong flavors, traditional pies with bacon or potato pancakes with mushroom sauce.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fond memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having been brought up on Polish food courtesy of my father who was Polish it brought a lot of childhood memories flooding back. This is the best restaurant in all of Krakow and I shall certainly be returning when all my family come back to Krakow for another visit in 2013.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Manan, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal here. Service and food were both top-notch. Interior of restaurant was cozy and attractive. About 5-10 minute walk from the Amber Hotel on Karmelika St.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostalgia also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Nostalgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostalgia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.