We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance, setting, wonderful food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nostalgia - CLOSED

Nostalgia
Karmelicka, Krakow, Poland
(012) 425 42 60
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, setting, wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed Nostalgia. When we arrived it was empty and we were seated in the first floor fireplace room. They have an attic that would be worth dining in as well. We sat by a lovely crackling fireplace. By the time we left, the entire room was full. Service was good, attentive and patient with the language barrier. We enjoyed the mushroom appetizer and the smoked cheese appetizer. Both delicious. We had a sampling of the pierogies which were perfectly done. We shared a salad and soup and could not go wrong. A quality wine list made for e wonderful evening. I recommend Nostalgia and would return if I am back in Krakow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Touch of Polish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very nice and comfortable seating on the terrace. After a pleasant stroll to Market Square relax in the restaurant with friendly service and traditional Polish cuisine. Try the goat cheese, if you like very strong flavors, traditional pies with bacon or potato pancakes with mushroom sauce.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fond memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having been brought up on Polish food courtesy of my father who was Polish it brought a lot of childhood memories flooding back. This is the best restaurant in all of Krakow and I shall certainly be returning when all my family come back to Krakow for another visit in 2013.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Manan, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal here. Service and food were both top-notch. Interior of restaurant was cozy and attractive. About 5-10 minute walk from the Amber Hotel on Karmelika St.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Second visit in three days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

A great little find through tripadvisor. Fantastic menu which is real value for money. Try the beef loin with black pepper sauce or the duck in plum brandy sauce. The house red wine is very drinkable. Particularly enjoyed the cherry tart.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostalgia also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostalgia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.