We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor for cakes and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Camelot

Cafe Camelot
ul. Sw. Tomasza 17, Krakow 31-022, Poland (Stare Miasto)
+4812 421 01 23
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 932 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Noodle, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Poor for cakes and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I ordered the chocolate cake which arrived melted and completely collapsed on the plate. My request to have the cake served cold was denied by the waitress who simply kept repeating 'that's how it's supposed to be'.

Prices charged are comparatively steep.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    162
    47
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kutchan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

6 of us went for lunch and as it was a hot day, we ordered mostly salads for food and juices/beer for drinks.

The beer and juices were warm, bordering on hot and the salads, at 25 Zloty each were super disappointing. Iceberg lettuce just taken off the lettuce and stacked on a plate with small amounts of chicken or ham, very few vegetables and fruit and tiny shavings of parmesan cheese.

When one of our group, who could speak Polish luckily, complained about the quality, we received no response and were then ignored for the rest of the meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pretty patio - Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We didn't realise this was part of Cafe Camelot until we saw the name on the menu as we entered into the courtyard style patio directly from the street - the entrance is just past the main cafe entrance (which is next to Cerubino and a few other cafes). The sign on the wall point in to a design business which is actually through the courtyard and up some stairs. The patio itself is quite small but cosy and nicely set out with soft cushions for both the seat and back of the chairs and blankets in case it gets chilly. We ordered 2 drinks and chose pasta and a savoury tart - choosing not to go for the risotto because the menu warned of a 30 min waiting time. Unfortunately 30 mins later - still no sign of the pasta/tart; we were getting a little impatient and had almost finished our drinks when the food eventually arrived after close to 45 mins. We didn't complain to the waitress and hadn't even asked her why the wait was so long yet just after bringing the food she reappeared with another round of drinks and the apologies of the restaurant for the wait involved, explaining there had been a problem in the kitchen. While I would usually expect some form of apology for a wait of that length for food the fact that they automatically brought the drinks and the apology without any prompt or complaint, in my opinion, made all the difference. It would have been easy to palm us off as tourists unlikely to visit again but the proactive response showed a more professional genuine attitude to their customers. I should say the food was also very tasty. I think our experience was a blip but the manner in which it was dealt with was a credit to the staff. Also very pleasant atmosphere and surroundings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The cafe is situated in nice and quiet surroundings close to the main market place and is a good choice for lunch, if you are not too hungry. The cafe offers a variety of pasta, salads, bruschetta, foccacia etc. Polite and helpful staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very cosy and original cafe. They also have a nice terrace. We had a lovely breakfast there. The staff was friendly!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Camelot also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Cafe Camelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Camelot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.