We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Secret Garden Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Secret Garden Hostel to your Saves list
The Secret Garden Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Skawinska 7, Krakow 31 066, Poland (Kazimierz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

One of the best hostels in my life! The staff is incredible, very attentive and polite. The rooms are clean, quiet and you can sleep very well. The city is amazing, very beautiful and there is a lot of museums, historic sites to see... I would like to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    73
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
90
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We visited it with my partner for a long weekend as a base during we are exploring Krakow. It is simply a wonderful and cheap place. You don't want to go anywhere because it is so nice:)
Homelike riny rooms, a big bed for two, great breakfast, you can have coffee, tea or snack at any time during the day, the staff is very kind and helpful, hostel and the rooms are always very clean. Big kitchen with fridge for everybody. Also a great location, between the city centre and the kazimierz (jewish part of the city).
I would definitely recommend it, we will go back too:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed in one of the twin rooms in the garden wing for three nights with my friend for a long weekend in Krakow.

I was so pleased with the room we were staying in. It was clean and warm with plenty of light and space to put away my clothes. The bed was comfy and the bedding was warm which was just what we needed. The shower room was down the hallway and although it was shared with a number of people there wasn't much of a wait to use it.

The price of the room came with breakfast which was a bargain! The hostel serves a fine breakfast of bread cheese meats and pickles plus cereals and hot drinks. Absolutely great for starting the day.

The staff were very helpful especially when the smoke alarm broke in the middle of the night.

The only downside were a few noisy early rising guests! As in most hostels the walls are thin.

I would highly recommend staying here. The price is excellent and the location wonderful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

the garden is about 15 mins walk from city centre,close to the river & castle. great value,very clean,with a first class cont b/fast.the room I stayed in had on suite & very spacious, free internet,the staff were very helpful with booking trips & local information, bargin*****

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my partner in November 2013. Couldn't fault anything, it was easy to find, clean, warm and friendly. The breakfast was nice too - plenty for vegetarians to eat. The price was great also. They offered a cheap airport shuttle service which took the stress out of making an early flight. It's the kind of place that you selfishly don't want to tell people about.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a lovely hostel, it is not in the centre but it is only a 15 minute walk on the flat and it is easy to find. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are nicely decorated and are clean with a comfy bed, plenty of lamps and a mirror which many hostels lack. There is a TV room available and the kitchen is easy to use and there is tea and coffee available. Breakfast is also included which is amazing considering the price, it is just the usual cold meats, cheeses, bread, cereals etc. but considering that is all you get at some hotels where you've paid far much more per night I thought that it was great. Shared bathrooms were clean although one of the showers was out of order for part of my stay which did mean you had to wait for the working one sometimes.The staff there can also arrange airport transfer which was helpful for my return journey. My only complaint was that there was a large group of teenagers and adults staying at the same time as me and they were noisy at times running in and out of rooms and they also took up all of the tables at breakfast if you wanted to go down early but apart from that my stay here was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights ... Great place ... not like a hostel at all .. I arrived and was greeted by a supermodel at reception ... Ginger hair thought I was back in Ireland ! ....showed me to room 22 ... room was fine .. not 5 star but clean tidy and I liked it ... had to extend my stay an extra 2 days and tried to book the room again but It was booked out already so I was given the loft room ...this room is like a palace .. I was so glad to have it ...It was a lot bigger and quieter than my first room .. so my tip would be to anyone if they are planning on booking this place in advance ask for the Loft .... Breakfast was plentiful but basic .. Cereal .. Ham ..Cheese ...Bread ...Yogurt ..Preserves ....perfect for this type of Lodgings ... Would I stay here again ..YES .... all the staff were gorgeous lol ...and very polite and friendly when approached ..and they did their job excellently ...also it was cheap and in a great location ... only 20 minutes walk from the main square and 5 minutes from the Old Town .. have big gates surrounding the Hostel so I felt very safe .. also had lots of maps and free information regarding places to eat and visit ETC ...

Room Tip: Ask for "The Loft" if you want a room with its own bathroom as this one is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Secret Garden Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Hostel

Address: ul. Skawinska 7, Krakow 31 066, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#22 Family Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Secret Garden Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Secret Garden Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Krakow
Secret Garden Hostel Krakow
Secret Garden Hostel Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Secret Garden Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.