We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and a great hostel overall.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Secret Garden Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Secret Garden Hostel to your Saves list
The Secret Garden Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Skawinska 7, Krakow 31 066, Poland (Kazimierz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money and a great hostel overall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Got a great deal with this hostel, originally found it on Trip Advisor and it had great reviews so decided to go for it. Originally booked a private double room with a shared bathroom, but ended up getting a massive double room with its own bathroom on the top floor! Our deal also included breakfast, which is a small cold buffet and perfectly adequate for a hostel, was always well topped up and there's free tea and coffee to help yourself to throughout the day. Wifi is free to use and worked fine for us, although I think there may have been a router in our room! The location is fine, a little bit of a walk from the Old Town but right next to the Jewish District and there's a tram stop right at the end of the street so no problems there really. The staff were friendly and you can organise tours to Auschwitz and The Salt Mines at the desk there, and the bus picks you up from right outside the hostel. Overall a great experience and if I come back to Krakow I will definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Didn't see any of the dorms or private rooms with shared bathrooms, but try and nab the room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    73
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
90
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed in one of the apartments aug 2013 and it was great very clean and the one we were in had nice little garden washing machine etc, my girlfriend liked the apartment and was very impressed with the quality for the money.
I also stayed as a single traveller last year in the main hostel which was very good staff were great and the place felt very safe. the hostel is very well situated for the kazimerz and river and isn't that far from old town.
value for moey great and no problems with paying bill on either occasion (I notice one review said he had problem with poor exchange rate , I was charged in zloty and my bank did the exchange) my only slight negative was the walls quite thin so noise can carry but never had a problem with this and don't let this put you off as they don't take stag do's. having travelled both here both alone and as a couple next time I should come with a few friends as this is great hostel and great city. highly recommend

Room Tip: for a little more the apartment we stayed in was amazing value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice staff. Location was too far away from the city center. Only minus is that hostel don't have air condition, there were hot weather. Breakfast was good also. Next to hostel is little shop and pharmacy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The apartment in Jozef's street is absolutely amazing, the interior is clean and modern and it really makes a pleasant stay. There is a nice and clean kitchen with a fridge and a beautiful bathroom. The apartment has 2 rooms with a king and a twin size bed in each.
The location is just great, right in the middle of Kazimires neighborhood and just a 15 minute walk from the Staro Miesto. The service at the reception desk was good and the overall impression was great.
The only problem we had about this apartment is how to find it. The address is Jozef's 6, but first you have to go to the Secret Garden Hostel reception at Skawinska 7 and I didn't know that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very nice clean hotel nice rooms and clean bathroom. great facilities free wifi and computer and tv room nice breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff would not hesitate to stay again and recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The apartment 1 at Skawinska 20 was much better than we expected. It was very clean, well decorated and in a great location near the centre of Kazimiertz and Bistula river. The staff was very polite, the breakfast just o.k. Very good value for the money as we payed for three persons 60€ per night, breakfast included

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, UK.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I just didn't like this place at all. Several small things combined to make the whole experience a negative one for me. In isolation none would have really been a problem but added together they left me with a very poor impression of the place.

I stayed two nights independently, before staying for another two nights as part of a tour group. The specifics of the tour group booking I had no control over. The good points were that the rooms are of a decent size and there is a tram stop at the end of the street to make travelling around very easy. The bad points were that the pillows and bed linen were of the worst quality I have ever seen in any accommodation. The breakfast was very basic, and you were expected to clear away after yourself. The wifi would work for 10 minutes, then the connection would drop out for 10 minutes or more. After I completed my independent stay and checked back in a few hours later with my tour group booking, the lady on the desk refused to give me the metallic card for opening the gate saying that "we don't give them out to groups" (Why? I was still a paying customer) The reception is supposed to be 24-hour but when I went for an early morning run the next morning and rang the bell for the gate to be opened, no one opened it for several minutes. I suspected this would happen as they were probably not expecting people to be coming and going before 7am, which is why I was annoyed to be refused a card to open the gate. After having an en suite bathroom for my first two nights, five or six rooms were expected to share one bathroom when I joined my tour group.

In addition, The Secret Garden Hostel left a bad impression immediately after I arrived by charging me in British Pounds at their own hideous exchange rate instead of Polish złoty (the lady on the desk quoted the price to me in złoty before I handed over my card). Not crime of the century, but dishonest all the same as you have to give permission for this, and my receipt of course said I had. I wouldn't have given permission if I'd been asked, particularly because my card gives me the actual exchange rate with no fees. If they overcharge everyone in this way hoping that they won't notice, the profits will soon mount up.

Having said all of this, I know that this is a hostel and not a hotel, but I wouldn't stay here again even if it was free for the reasons outlined above. If you're prepared to make serious compromises in return for the fairly cheap price (although not as cheap as you think it will be if they charge you in the wrong currency at a rate to suit themselves) then fair enough but I wouldn't recommend staying here at all if you can afford to pay a little more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Secret Garden Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Hostel

Address: ul. Skawinska 7, Krakow 31 066, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#31 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Secret Garden Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Secret Garden Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Krakow
Secret Garden Hostel Krakow
Secret Garden Hostel Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Secret Garden Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.