We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Krakow is a magic city, and you will feel it when you enter the Orlowska” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orlowska Townhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Orlowska Townhouse to your Saves list
Orlowska Townhouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   ul. Slawkowska 26 | Cracow Old Town, Krakow 31014, Poland (Formerly Apartments Slawkowska 26)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 115 Krakow B&B and Inns
Columbia, SC, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Krakow is a magic city, and you will feel it when you enter the Orlowska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

The hotel is located in the historic center of Krakow, close to everything. Walking distance (7 min) from the main train station where a comfortable train ($3) takes you from the airport every 30 min. When you get there, look for the restaurant sign ("Cyrano de Bergerac"). Hotel does not have a separate sign, I guess simply because in a place like that it does not need to advertise. The location is very safe, I walked the streets up to 2-3 AM and didn't see any problems around.

The stuff is extremely friendly and everybody speaks English. I got help with printing, transportation, local shops advice, etc. BTW, if your cell phone uses the GSM standard and is "international" (i.e., works with the European frequency band), you can buy a pay-as-you-go local number (SIM card) for about $2 with about 10c/min rate. Great for keeping in touch if you have a large group of people.

The hotel is in a historic building. The windows of my room faced a cobbled street with horse carriages riding along (granted, it is a tourist thing, but think about hearing the sound of a horse carriage as you wake up). You get the keys from the building and when you return after hours you actually open the giant wooden door of the "kamienica" (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kamienica_%28architecture%29). It's like you were transported back in time to the 18th century. However, inside it is completely renovated with all modern conveniences, new bathrooms, etc. You get a sizable kitchen with the stove, microwave, toaster, dishes, and all-new and shiny utensils. The room is huge with antique furniture in it. I was very impressed by the room design. These people really have a good taste.

As you can tell, this is not exactly a cheapo hotel, but in terms of value for money it is the best I've seen. Great place to stay, no matter what is the nature of your trip to Krakow. There nothing I didn't like about my stay at Orlowska Apartments, except for the fact that eventually you have to leave :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
135
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We recently stayed in these apartments, and the rooms were lovely, extremely clean. There was some noise from the main road, but we did expect that as the location of the apartment to the town square was extremely close. Everything was great, until we came to leave. I called the reception(as it was impossible to find the office and there was no front desk) I spoke to a lady that could speak French and Polish, but not English, therefore there was a communication breakdown, I asked if she would come to the room, as I needed to go to the airport, she said she would be come to the room in 5 minutes, unfortunately she never came and I ended up asking a man who was opening the bar downstaris if he new who I could give the apartment key to, he was very kind and rung the gilr that could speak english and she organised for me to give the man the key so that we could go and catch our flight. If I had not bumped into the man opening up, I am not sure we would have made our flight.
I have stayed at many hotels around the world and have never come across such a communication breakdown, I understand that not everyone speaks english, but the lady was actually scared to try to communicate, she constantly spoke in french, even after I expleined I did not speak French. My suggestion to the hotel is that if you know that you have english speaking guests checking out on the day, then never to have that lady on the reception, as it was due to her that we nearly missed our flight!
In saying that I would recommend the hotel as it was beautiful, just check where to drop off the keys when you check in!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
493 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Fantastic location in Krakow Old Town. We stayed in the 1930's Apartment and true to it's word the decor was original furnishings, but with a modern well equiped kitchen and bathroom. We loved the balcony for evening drinks, casual breakfasts and fresh air. Impossible to believe that you are literally 2 minutes from the main square Rynek Glowny and the only noise you hear is cooing of the pidgeons. Great restaurants in the same street and terrific Piekarnia (pastry shop) with yummy pastries for breakfast at No. 24. We stayed for 5 nights and wished it could have been for longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We absolutely loved the apartment we stayed in. It was stylish, wonderfully equipped and ideally located in an atmospheric street. Agnes could not have been more helpful. If you want to experience the history of Krakow and feel part of the fabric and tradition of the city then this is the perfect place to say.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed four nights in the loft apartment and would recommend it to anyone wanting a base to explore the beautiful city of Krakow. It's location is ideal for the main square and is only a short walk from the bus and railway station for those who would like to explore further afield.
The apartment was spotlessly clean, spacious, and with a fully equipped kitchen, should you not want to take advantage of the many excellent (cheap) restaurants. It was also very quiet considering it's proximity to the city centre.
My wife and I have no hesitation in recommending the Orlowska Townhouse apartments to anyone, it deserves it's No1 ranking without question

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I found the Orlowska to be a perfect spot for a two-night Krakow stay. Very centrally located and with excellent service, including a very nice pancake breakfast both nights. Management was very understanding and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff wales
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights over the bank-holiday and loved it.
We chose the boudoir apartment and it had the wow factor, our hosts thought of everything.
Lovely comfortable bed, fantastic bath, lovely little balcony and so quiet.
We ate in the french restaurant downstairs on the Saturday night, Fantastic food.
You don't get breakfast with your package but you can eat downstairs in nikita's if you like.
If you want a good value breakfast try Polski Smaki on Tomaza you come out the App. take a right and then take 2nd right sooooo cheap and good.
We took the train from the airport 7zloty very easy.

The key system can be a bit tricky but we solved that by putting some stick plaster on the main key.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 248 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
Bracka 6
#2 of 328 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Topolowa Residence
#1 of 248 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orlowska Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlowska Townhouse

Address: ul. Slawkowska 26 | Cracow Old Town, Krakow 31014, Poland (Formerly Apartments Slawkowska 26)
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orlowska Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique furniture, persian rugs, unique atmosphere in a 17th century Townhouse in the heart of Krakow, one minute walk from the Market Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Orlowska Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlowska Townhouse Hotel Krakow
Apartments Slawkowska 26 Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orlowska Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.