We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Thanksgiving for a Family of Five” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orlowska Townhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Orlowska Townhouse to your Saves list
Orlowska Townhouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   ul. Slawkowska 26 | Cracow Old Town, Krakow 31014, Poland (Formerly Apartments Slawkowska 26)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 110 Krakow B&B and Inns
Nizhy Novgorod, Russia
1 review
“Happy Thanksgiving for a Family of Five”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a lovely stay in Krakow and visiting Michalow Arabian stud farm. The Orlowska Townhouse team were very helpful and the apartment was located within steps of the main square. We highly recommend Orlowska for a family vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
125
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We reserved 2 rooms for a 4-night stay in Krakow, the Poet's apartment on 2nd floor street-side and the 30's apartment on the 3rd floor overlooking the inner courtyard. Perhaps the easiest review is to tell you the Orlowska Townhouse website is accurate - the pictures are current; the furniture is beautiful; the kitchen, bath & living areas are all carefully furnished to anticipate a guest's every need - the only surprises were good ones, discovering the many delightful touches too numerous to mention in the apartment descriptions. I don't want to use the word "professional" to describe the staff, because every one of them treated us more like friends than customers, from the confirmation emails to the personal send-off as we got in our taxi to leave. Any concern we had, no matter how insignificent, became their concern until it was solved with complete satisfaction. This was my 3rd trip to Krakow (our friends' first trip), and when any of us are able to return we will absolutely stay at Orlowska Townhouse.

I am trying to think of one negative comment, just so you don't think I'm related or paid: both tea and coffee pots are furnished, as well as a variety of teas and coffee filters. However, I needed coffee (!) which was not furnished. It's available at a nearby market, of course, but next time I will bring enough for that first morning. That's IT for negatives.

In addition to the wonderful Cyrano de Bergerac restaurant, we enjoyed meals at Pod Aniolami (Grodzka Street). Restaurancja Szara (Rynek Glowny 6), and a delightful, inexpensive little cafe (I can't remember the name, but look for their window sign offering daily specials) on Tomasza Street (from the townhouse, 1-1/2 blocks toward the square, turn right, it's about half-way down the block on the right). We ordered a variety of pierogis from Pierogowy Raj (across the street from the hotel) for a relaxing meal "at home". Do NOT have the Sunday breakfast buffet at Grand Hotel! This was our only rip-off experience in Krakow. Dekor Art, about a block toward the square, opposite the hotel, stocks at least a dozen patterns & unusual peices of Polish pottery.

We have visited Poland, Czech Republic, Hungary, Germany as well as a few other surrounding countries. Poland is our favorite because of the relaxed, sincerely friendly peoples, the delicious foods (same ingredients as dishes served elsewhere, but the flavor is somehow better - we have never had a bad meal in Poland), and our respect for the history and the resiliency of this nation. If you are only considering a trip to Poland - DO IT! And be sure to include several days at Orlowska Townhouse in Krakow.

Room Tip: We absolutely respect all no-smoking policies, but we're pleased to be able to find a balcony ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Durham. England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We Stayed at the Orlowska Townhouse for four nights from 17th September for a special wedding anniversary treat.

What can we say it was absolutely marvellous, right from the moment the Mercedes Benz taxi, pre arranged by the owner arrived to collect us from the airport.

We stayed in the Poet's apartment, which was just beautiful, antique furniture adorned the room - beautiful rugs , and an ambiance that made us feel very very special.

The beds were extremely comfortable with very high quality linen. The apartment was spotlessly clean, the bathroom had extra touches not normally found - like shampoo, body shower gels and clean towels daily. And although this particular apartment faced onto the main street, the double window system kept the room quiet.

The kitchen area within the apartment was also fully equipped even down to china crockery
not a thing was missing just like home from home. A large flat screen Sony t.v. was also within the apartment.

Wonderful location within the old town, were we could easily walk to the main square, shopping areas, and were surrounded by lots of cafes and restaurants. Walking the other way took us within five minutes of the green park area surrounding the old town, how perfect.

For our anniversary evening we had prebooked a table at the beautiful french restaurant named Cyrano de Bergerac housed in the buildings cellar, also owned by Elisabeth and Jean Claude. The food and wine were exquisite and so very reasonable, and we had a wonderful evening.

Elisabeth and Jean-Claude had invited us to a piano and trumpet jazz evening in their bar/lounge. This was also truly wonderful and the owners hospitality was immense.

Claudia the receptionist spoke great English and was so helpful when we were sorting out
our trip to the salt mines and other excursions.

The Salt mine trip is great involves lots of walking and stair climbing but was so interesting. We also took the tour arranged for us by Claudia to Auschwitz and Birkenau, it was extremely well organized and our polish guide was very good. The trip is a long day but well worth the journey very thought provoking to say the least.

All in all we loved our stay at the apartments will recommend to all our friends and family. The Polish people are so very kind and Krakow is a magical place to visit either in summer or winter.

The Orlowska Apartments deserve in our opinion their number one rating.

Thank you to all the team that run such a wonderful establishment.

Room Tip: All rooms good just take anything available you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

From the cozy, library-like bar on the ground floor to the beautifully appointed room with kitchen on the third floor, we felt warmly welcomed. Orlowska is surrounded by good restaurants and a short distance from the market square and Wawel Castle. Special thanks to Klaudia for her gracious and competent service.

Room Tip: Checkout room to suit on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This place was great in so many ways! We picked it because of it's location and the fact that it wasn't a standard hotel. This place had so much character. From the books perched on the windowsill to the antique furnishings and family (assumed) portraits on the wall. The staff are lovely, particularly the young lady in reception who speaks excellent english. She helped us whenever we needed, including setting up our sim card for the mobile phone. Unlike others we didn't find the place noisy at all however we had the 1930's room which was a few floors higher and was facing the court yard so were away from the street. The room comfortably sleeps three people and the kitchen was larger than expected, not that you will need it as there is plenty of delicious and cheap food nearby. If you're after a more authentic experience in Krakow I couldn't recommend this place more!

Room Tip: Courtyard facing room wasn't noisy
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here for three nights, the location was perfect and the staff was extremely nice. The room was huge, the bathroom was on the small side which having stayed at similar property types across Europe is nothing surprising. The decor of the room was very eclectic and fun, but I do have to agree with other posters that it was also noisy. As great as the decor and the room size were, most people are only in the room when they are sleeping so noise is quite important. We had a street facing room and were woken up nightly by people outside screaming, talking loudly and in the case of one gentleman loudly singing what sounded like the national anthem. There are two simple fixes to this - either bring ear plugs or request an inside facing room. The location, staff and rooms are great so the noise should not a deal breaker, but given the importance of sleep it is worth mentioning so that future visitors can plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Choose an inside facing room to avoid noise and get a good night's rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We chose this place for the location - 3 minutes' walk to the Market square, next to the Planty, which is a sort of park surrounding the Cracow Old Town, at a quiet street.
We stayed in the Boudoir, the most expensive room, described for the Tripadvisor in detail above - very quaint, comfortable and quiet.
The staff are awfully nice and forthcoming. They speak not only English and German, as mentioned above, I heard one man talking to a French family and sounding very French.
There are several good places for breakfast nearby. I recommend Camelot, at st Thomas street (opens at 9), and Charlotte, at Szczepanski square.
I do not have more to add to the previous reviews, only that Cracow is a wonderful city, really worth visiting

Room Tip: facing the yard, with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orlowska Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlowska Townhouse

Address: ul. Slawkowska 26 | Cracow Old Town, Krakow 31014, Poland (Formerly Apartments Slawkowska 26)
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orlowska Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique furniture, persian rugs, unique atmosphere in a 17th century Townhouse in the heart of Krakow, one minute walk from the Market Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Orlowska Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlowska Townhouse Hotel Krakow
Apartments Slawkowska 26 Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orlowska Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.