We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added David Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
David Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciemna 13, Krakow 31-053, Poland (Kazimierz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 247 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at end of January 2013. Have to say, we cannot fault this hotel in any way whatsoever. When we first arrived we were given the small room on reception level with a window that looked on to a wall but we asked if we could change rooms and were then given a large room on the top floor. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. The beds and pillows were just so comfy. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone going to Krakow. It was about a 20 minute walk up into main centre of Krakow and the market square. When we were there is snowed the whole weekend and what made it even more magical was that it was still Christmas in Krakow - the Christmas trees and decorations were all still up in the market square and pubs and restaurants. We went to a Burns Supper at Cheers Bar on Saturday night - a great night had by all, plenty of whisky! Thanks to Tom and his wife for making it such a success. Have to mention the Pizzeria Frzy Papryczki - fresh pizzas cooked right in front of you in a large stone fireplace. Also Trezo cafe bar not far from Hotel David - 3 course lunch in beautiful surroundings and it was only £3 each! Great break.

Room Tip: Any room above reception level would be good I imagine but we had room on top floor that looked out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    61
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
30
96
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The room at the ground floor was cold and without natural light. Window view is directly on a wall. We tried to change the room but it was not possible. Reason given: Hotel fully booked and no other room available altough there was quite silence. At breakfast there were not too many people as well. Indeed location is close to main points of interest from the city center and bars, restaurants.

I hope next time to find a room in a different hotel like I initially wanted.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in October 2012 with friends and found it ideal.
Great location for bars and restaurants of Kazimierz, easy walking distance to everything.
Staff really helpful. We had a large room on the top floor and it was great. Booked direct with hotel for cheaper price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We arrived at our hotel to be informed that the water had failed in some of the rooms and a plumber would not fix this until tomorrow ! We were moved next door after some complaining, our replacement hotel was more basic but OK. We moved back the next day, to find no plumber anywhere, but the cleaners still busy cleaning the rooms , which had clearly been slept in by someone. We left our luggage in the room, to find that our camera had mysteriously vanished on our return, which was very disappointing but we tried not to let this spoil our weekend. Apart from these incidents, the hotel would have been amazing, it was well positioned, the staff were very helpful (apart from the camera thing) the rooms were clean and a good size, hotel was in a great, atmospheric spot. Would go again but be a bit more forceful about being moved and keep a closer eye on the valuables next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great experience, was concerned at first as not a central location. However it actually turned out to be be the best location as the the local restaurants and bars were brilliant and central Krakow (old town) is only a 10/15min walk away and allows you to experience the feel of the Place.

The Hotel was warm and the room was spotless and beds very comfortable, breakfast was enjoyable offering something for everyone. I am so pleased to have stayed here as it enhanced my experience staying is the Jewish quarter. I would recommend anyone to stay here, and intend to go back as there is so much to see and do in Krakow that I simply didn't get to everything I wanted to see/do.

Other tips..... Salt mine excursion is quite challenging and if your claustrophobic or not sure footed then think about it first, it is worth every minute if you do decide to make the trip .... Aushwitz is needless to say emotionally harrowing but is an essential must do if only to make sure that such atrocities like this are never allowed to happen again.

a BIG thank you to the Hotel David and to all those who lead and guided at the sights . x

Room Tip: 4th floor Attic rooms are lovely, and I loved the artistic content of the corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as a couple. Great price through Hotels.com. Great location in the Jewish quarter with many bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk, but far enough way not to be noisy.
We got the train from the airport to Glowny(20 mins and about 4 pound). You can buy tickets for the train in the airport from a machine. We then walked to the hotel pulling our cases. It took about 30 mins, We hoped to stop off for a drink on the way but was almost at the hotel before we found a bar!! We took a taxi back to the airport for 80 PN (about £15) and it took about 20 mins.
We had initially booked 3 nights and the first room were stayed in (room 11) was lovely. A twin on the first floor overlooking the cemetery at the back with a lovely, furnished balcony. Bathroom was on the small side, it had a shower, cosy, heated towel rail, hairdryer and toiletries. There was a flat screen tv with limited English channels, tea and coffee, in room safe and bottles of water in the room. There was no full length mirror though. The brown decor was in keeping with the building and did not detract. We opted to stay a 4th night rather than move to a hotel in the old Town and had to move rooms to a double on the ground floor at the rear (room 2). This was a disappointment after the last room. Very small, small bed, no real natural light from the window that overlooked a wall but the bathroom was larger. This is the reason I have given it 4 and not 5. Maybe if we had not stayed in room 11 first we would not have been as disappointed!
Breakfast was buffet style, with some strange items such as egg mayonaise and russian salad, but there were eggs to order, yoghurts and breads.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and there is free wi-fi in the hotel.
As everyone has mentioned the location is great for eating out. If you wish to go to the Old Town it's about a 15-20 min walk. You can walk to the Castle in about 10 mins and over the river to Schindler's factory in about 25 mins. Plenty of walking tours and buggy tours are available in the vicinity of the hotel.
We pre-booked the Auschwitz trip with escape to Poland for about £45 for 2 people. A minibus collects from the hotel and the tour of both sites is with about 25 people and a guide. It really is worth the visit, if not to remind us that this should never happen again. We did the golf buggy tour of the 3 main areas of Krakow (2 hours for £20 a head) and visited Schindler's factory on the Monday when it's free entry. We also took tram 20 out to Nova Huta, a communist community built after the war. Interesting architecture.
Food wise, the Starka restaurant on Jozefa (5 mins away) was fabulous and cheap with some great home made flavoured vodka shots. it's small so booking would be advisable. The bars that surround the new square are great and most have free wi-fi.
We had a great time in Krakow, the hotel was great value for money, eating and drinking out is cheap (large beer about £1.50) and the people are welcoming. I would recommend this hotel but getting the right room may affect your opinion. But then again you don't spend much time in it!!

Room Tip: Room 11 would be great in the summmer with it's balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Try to avoid room on the groundfloor (noisy and cold). All the other aspects of the hotel and also the rooms on the upper floors are awesome! :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to David Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Boutique Hotel

Address: Ciemna 13, Krakow 31-053, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#42 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — David Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your David Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.