We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szara

Szara
6 Rynek Glowny, Krakow, Poland (Stare Miasto)
(012) 421 6669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 938 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Nicely located right on the main square. The waitress we had was very friendly. The fish soup is a must try, though the half portion is plenty. The goose leg I had was excellent too. House wine was pretty nice. All in all, one of the better restaurants I've been to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    162
    52
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Top Breakfast Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We took breakfast here following the recommendation on this site. We were not disappointed and managed to eat here twice in all. We managed to find a table in the window at the front in the bar area where we could look over the main market square. We chose breakfast from one of the set menu which consisted of two fried eggs, bacon, toast, jam, cheese, meat, lettuce and tomato. You also have a glass of fruit juice and a choice of tea or coffee as well. All of this for £3.00! Amazing value, can’t wait to come back again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had breakfast here twice on our trip and it was lovely! Service was good - friendly and quick. They could turn the techno music down a bit in the mornings but that's the only real criticism! Also have wifi!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We ate here our first night in Krakow, and enjoyed a nice meal. The service was very good, and our waitress spoke English fluently, which allowed us to eliminate the guesswork of what the various dishes were. I had a delicious mixture of vegetables in a cream sauce; my wife had veal schnitzel that was so good I helped her eat it... It covered the plate! We were seated without reservations at about 7:20pm but by the time we left, the place was completely full, and those without reservations were turned away, or told it would be more than an hour for a free table. Szara appears to cater mainly to tourists, but our local host said he does eat there occasionally.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and Conviviality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We dined at Szara after a lengthy journey from the U.S. We were tired and hungry. The folks at Szara took very good care of us. The place was very busy even on a Wednesday night. Fortunately our hotel had made a reservation for us. The host made sure we had a very nice table and good service. The menu offers a wide variety of dishes. The pike in butter sauce was great and the weiner schnitzel was extraordinary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szara also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Szara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.