We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guliwer

Guliwer
6 Ulica Bracka, Krakow, Poland (Stare Miasto)
0048 12 430 2466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 889 Restaurants in Krakow
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was the very 1st restaurant we set our eyes on after arriving at our hotel at 9pm. After a quick walk around the square we decided to return here for late dinner and so glad we did. Although by now time was getting on the young waiter was very welcoming and showed us to a nice table in front of the bar.
We could not fault the food, real home cooked, very tasty and well presented. We had a main of ribs in red wine with veg and pots, a large chicken salad served with grapefruit ( sounds strange but very good ) 2 large beers and 3 glasses red wine ( French house also very good) and the bill came to around £30. Excellent value for money.
Also when paying the bill near closing time, we asked the young waiter if he could recommend a nice bar with good music but not to loud as it was our 1st night and we didn't want to waste time walking around. He went out his way to have a good think, brought over a map and pointed us in the direction of spazio which was a perfect choice for us on our first night. All in all I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    75
    22
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A charming little restaurant with good food and fast, friendly service. Located on a quiet but interesting street. Menu offered lots of choices.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small but wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We found this restaurant by accident for breakfast as it was across the road from our hotel. The food was lovely and very cheap (breakfast for three cost £10) so we decided to return for dinner.

The dinner menu was equally impressive. The food is international with a Polish flavour, including a selection of local liqueurs. The service was attentive and atmosphere intimate and welcoming. We came back for breakfast every day.

We would definately recommend giving Guliwer a try and hope you love it as much we did.

P.S. The home-made hot chocolate drink is a must for chocaholics!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely last night just off the main square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We'd looked around the square on our last night but walked back to this wee restaurant as it seemed to offer more atmosphere and the prices were very good. We shared a starter and just as well - in fact when the waitress brought out two plates we thought they had misheard and we expected to be charged for two but when the final bill came there was just one! the starter was a spinach stuffed crepe in a tomato sauce and it was lovely - but way too much for one, my daughter had the duck -very good. I had the pasta with spinach and chicken sauce - delicious. Well priced wine list and good cocktails. Spotted a chocolate machine for those yummy decadent neat hot chocolates which have been my downfall this holiday, so lovely but so fattening. Resisted at dinner - couldn't even manage a pud but the table next to us had creme Brûlée and they did look very good. Lovely end to a four day short break in kracow - good food at great prices just about everywhere we visited. Would recommend this wee place and look forward to coming back...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is more a burger type place - but even so, we had very good burgers (being pork was a bit of a surprise!). The ribs were also good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guliwer also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Guliwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guliwer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.