We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful breakfast stop in the Old Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guliwer

Guliwer
6 Ulica Bracka, Krakow, Poland (Stare Miasto)
0048 12 430 2466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 897 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Northamptonshire, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delightful breakfast stop in the Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Guliwers makes an excellent breakfast stop on Ul Bracka just south of the main square. Nice food - juice, muesli (with hot milk?), scrambled eggs & bacon, and two coffees each, all for around £14, so excellent value too. Good vibe, cool music and free wi-fi - what's not to like? Recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    83
    22
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Worth looking for just off the square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

You have to visit Guliwer’s when you are in Krakow. Because, as we experienced, it was where the locals eat. We were the only “tourists” during the nearly 2 hours we had dinner. You will enjoy the service, ambiance, setting and, especially, the food. A wonderful wine list to accompany the meal. The highlight, the tomato soup. Best ever, hands down. Very unique and innovative. Just try it. You will not be disappointed in any of the menu items. thoughtfully prepared, fresh, properly presented. Nice location, too, just off the main square but not too close for crowds and hype.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“soooo nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

this place is charming! the atmosphere is very pleasant: from the music to the tables and chair and also all the decorative objects and pictures.

the service is also excellent! the waiter is very kind, fast, attentive.
the food is amazing! I took the tomato soup wich was delicious and the baked ribs in honey and herbs. the meat was so tender that I didn't almost need the knife to cut it!
for dessert we shared the homemade apple pie, which was yummy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodos
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service, average food, average prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is very central, in the middle of Old towns Rynek. The service is very good. The food was average. The salads were good, but the onions were not freshly cut and the tomatoes came with the branch that ofcourse is not eatable. The chicken was very good but the duck was medium and again there were ellements of "dish decoration" that were not eatable.. The price was not bad (around 15€ per person). Overall it's a good restaurant that could be better.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A residents favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We are spending a year in Krakow and this has become a real favourite. We have tried it for breakfast, lunch and dinner at different times and have a a good meal every time. The menu is not over extensive but everything that we have tried has been high quality. I particularly recommend the fish soup and the tomato soup, and their mulled wine is better than anything I've had in twenty years of skiing in the alps. Try it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guliwer also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Guliwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guliwer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.