We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Spatz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Spatz to your Saves list
Aparthotel Spatz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miodowa 11, Krakow 31-358, Poland (Kazimierz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 247 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its ideal location. It's right in between the old town with its amazing market square and the Jewish quarter with its many restaurants and pubs. We found that we didn't have to walk further than 15 minutes to get anywhere during our stay (apart from the train station which is 20 minutes).
The hotel itself is fine. The room was a decent size and clean with everything you need for a city break. It was very good value.
We didn't pay for breakfast as there was so many options for breakfast nearby. We did have cocktails in the bar downstairs, which was really nice.
Overall a decent hotel, ideally situated for exploring Krakow. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, Manager at Aparthotel Spatz, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Picks20,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of the hotel Spatz on TripAdvisor :):)
It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its location, indeed perfectly situated on the Kazimierz district in Kraków. Maybe you will have the possibility to come back to see the wonderful Christmas market on main square!
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Kraków soon, until then, we remain
With Best Regards,
Julia Madej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    175
    53
    9
    5
See reviews for
65
275
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked this hotel via booking.com with full payment ahead of time. Very big mistake!!! Upon arrival we were so disappointed with the place that we decided to leave. Unfortunately we were trapped due to the above. We will loose all our money ;-( Receptionist was nice enough to show us other rooms, but all of them were same disaster, so we decided to stay in the originally assigned room. Room was very big, very cold, very noisy from the street, floor was very dirty, curtains stinky and not attached properly, we could not sleep in the night because radiator makes tremendous noise as well as toilet; we felt like sleeping in the rain forest!Terrible bed, mattresses and pillows. We asked for more pillows and receptionist told us that they don't have any other pillows that whatevere is in the room. That "think" was like cloth stuffed with cotton pads! Sink in the bathroom was so small that it was impossible to wash our face.

There is no elevator, bellboy, neither parking on the side. We were lucky to stay during the weekend so we could park outside on the street. Even thou it wasn't the safest place. Across the main street there was small park full of homeless people.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, because buffet was very poor and over prised.

The only positive think in this hotel was fantastic Mexican restaurant in the building with great bar! We really enjoy their coctails and meals. They were not part of the hotel.

Room Tip: There is no good room, just pick different place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice hotel, Room was excellent, close to the town so it was very easily accessible. Staff were helpful and the food was fantastic! All in all a brilliant place to stay!!
I would recommend the hotel to anyone in krakow!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, Manager at Aparthotel Spatz, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Rebecca R,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay in Kraków :)
We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, the location and its services and hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon :)

Kind Regards,
Julia Madej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend staying at the Spatzhotel and we had fantastic break! Our room was a huge corner room on the first floor with a couch and two easy chairs plus a desk area with two chairs as well as the usual tea and coffee making facilities and wall mounted flat screen T.V . There is a fixed hairdryer in the bathroom which was furnished with complementary toiletries. The room was very clean and tidy and the beds were so comfortable. The hotel is situated in the Kazimierz District and is central for visiting the Old Town and the Main Square.From our hotel we were also able to walk to Hero's Square and Schindler 's factory. We found all the main attractions of Krakow are within comfortable walking distance of this hotel.The staff are so welcoming and helpful too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, Manager at Aparthotel Spatz, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear GlasgowWalter,

Thank you very much for the glowing review of Spatz Hotel - what a compliment it is to be recommended as such valuable Hotel.
I am delighted to read that stay was perfect in every moment. The team takes great pride in connecting with our guests and having fun in creating memorable experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind Regards,
Julia Madej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from the 18th September 2013 for a weeks holiday, the staff were very friendly and helpful, my room was clean and well furnished bed was very comfortable, would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Krakow. I will definitely be using this hotel again a big thumbs up to the staff there well done.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, Manager at Aparthotel Spatz, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear mickwill43,

We would like to thank you for the time you spent writing your review and for sharing it.
Your opinion is of the highest importance for us.
Thank you so much.
Julia Madej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Spatz in September of 2013. The hotel is in the less desirable Kazimierz district. It is a 15-20 minute walk to the center of the old town and has limited shopping in the area although there are a good number of restaurants.

The hotel itself is OK as long as you get a superior room but the normal rooms can be very small. I was able use three rooms during my stay but that is a long story. The bathrooms are small and poorly laid out. The superior rooms are pretty spacious but the two regular rooms I saw were pretty small. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Most of the rooms don't have air conditioning so if it is warm I would think the street noise could be a problem. Also the hotel doesn't have a lift and it was chore getting the bags up to the second and third floor.

I agree with other reviewers that the staff at this hotel were efficient and tried to be helpful. They went out of the way to make a room available to my group so we could clean up after a long trip and early arrival. The attached restaurant and bar with both nice additions to the stay even though they are not owned by the hotel.

If I returned to Krakow I would look for a hotel closer to the center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just had a weeks stay at the Spatz from 20th Sept 2013 and the place is brilliant. the staff are all very welcoming and helpful. the rooms are great, at first we had a room on the third floor (top florr), it was a massive corner room, despite only having roof windows it was a lovely large well furnished and clean room with ample sizebathroom (shower only no bath). However due to the VERY heavy rain all day on our second day we developed a leak in the roof when we had got back in! on mentioning this to the staff they promptly offered us an alternative room on the second floor which was equally as large, clean and again well furnished (again shower only no bath). Breakfast was awesome - Note seems some people mis understand if they have breakfast included in their price when they book so make sure you know what you have booked and paid for. Breakfast has choices of continental (cheeses, meats etc) and cooked with various egg options, sausages and bacon, tea, coffee etc. Breakfast is definately worth it and puts you on for the day.
there is also an onsite restaurant, Mexican and bar. we didnt use the resturant asMexican is not our thing but we did have a few vodkas in the bar! point to note the bar and restauarnt both close at 11pm, well they did at least while we were there, so dont plan on it for a late night session. there are plenty of wonderful bars in and around the fabulous city for late night blues, jazz and drinking. The hotel had free wifi which was a bonus. you must visit the Jewish quarter while you are there and go up to the main square and sit in one of the lovely outside bars soaking up the atmosphere. we will be back next year !

Room Tip: not sure if there is a lift so check before booking in case you need to request first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Spatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Spatz

Address: Miodowa 11, Krakow 31-358, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Krakow
#32 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Spatz 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spatz is a real jewel of Kazimierz district. It is situated in the historic centre of Cracow in cultural, shopping and business area, surrounded by climatic houses. This is an unforgettable journey to the past. Spatz is a perfect starting point for trips to Oscar Shindler's Factory, former ghetto and old Jewish synagogues. Spatz is one of three boutique hotels in Poland that are part of a world prestigious hotels' chain- Epoque Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Aparthotel Spatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Spatz Krakow
Aparthotel Spatz Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Spatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.