We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“knockout” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Major

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Major to your Saves list
Hotel Major
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Gdynska Street | 31323 Krakow, Krakow 31462, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“knockout”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Dears,

Please avoid this misserable hotel in Krakow.
Service staff cannot prepare electronioc key and you have many visitors knocking your door in the midde of a night. The receptionist cannot speak English in a normay way and picking up a phone like 30 years ago in communist time.The price is high comparing other hotels and location is not attracive. People visiting Krakow duing Euro 2012 will be traveling 1, 5 hour to market square using public transportation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
22
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Slovenj Gradec, Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Medium sized hotel just outside old Krakow centre is a good place to rest in Poland's Krakow. Friendly staff, nice rooms, good food, good public transportations. Stronglly recomend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two nights together with my wife and daughter. It´s a three star hotel good enough if you are going to visit Krakow. The location is only 10-12 minutes by bus outside the city centrum. From the hotel I will remember superb cleanliness and mediocre breakfast.

What I did not like about the hotel, was their way of earning extra money on transfer and taxi. When we arrived we paid the hotel 100 zl for a private transfer between the airport and the hotel (twice the cost of a taxi). The driver was the brother of the hotel manager and drove an old and dirty car.

The day before departure we asked for a taxi insted of transfer arranged by the hotel. Next day the reception asked for another 100 zl - but again I told them that I wanted an ordinary taxi. When the taxi came outside the hotel the hotel manager went out to talk to the driver. Nothing unusual about that, but when we arrived at the airport the taxi driver wanted 20 zl extra because of the hotel. Not a lot of money for me but I find it really disrespectful and dishonest. Due this I can´t recommend this hotel to anyone who value honesty.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

My wife and I just got back from a trip to Krakow. Stayed at this hotel for two nights. We found the place clean and tidy. All the staff were exceptionally helpful. On first arrival we were a little surprised as the hotel photo on the website makes it look much better than it looks in reality. The outside of the hotel is painted grey and the local area does look a little run down. However, do not worry this is a great little hotel to stay in and is reasonably close to the city center. Our room was a good size with a very nice en-suite shower/toilet. A bus into center will cost approx zl2.50 and a taxi will cost approx zl20 (£5) one way.
All in all we can't say anything bad about this hotel - decent place to stay at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

A new modern hotel in a quiet suberb of Krakow. Bus 130, 2 mins walk from the hotel every 15 mins and takes 15 mins into the centre. The staff especially on reception were really pleasant and were genuinely keen to speak English and learn what we had been doing each day. The hotel is clean, the breakfast buffet excellent and the rooms great for the purpose of the stay. There is a handy bar and a restaurant which we did not use as the food and bar ambience in Krakow is brilliant. The weather was superb in August, 5 days continuous sunshine. Recomended sites, the Jewish quarter is really interesting with loads of little side alleys with wonderful Art Nouveau style bars but during any visit to Krakow you cannot escape the connection with the Holocost. A short tram ride takes you to across the bridge where the Krakow jews were marched with all their belongings to a Square where Schlinders factory is a short walk. The square itself is a monument and memorial to those who were forced into the Krakow ghetto and contains about 50 copper chairs which signify peoples belongings which were thrown into the square as in the scene in Schlinders List as they emptied the ghetto and moved the people to their final death camp about a mile away. Two segments of the wall remain, a bleak sight! There is the chemist where people met and plotted and a small museum, don't miss it. A visit to Auschwitz is mandatory, do it yourself, easy to get a train to Oswiceim then a 20 minute walk. Its not all stuff of nightmares, its a fascinating museum although the harrowing stuff is there beyond the 'Work will set you free' gates. I thought a room about the size of a school classroom containing hundreds and hundreds of thousands of old shoes was the most moving sight of all. Then take the free shuttle to Birkenau which is the image you are more probably familer with, with the railway lines etc, a truly bleak place. It was interesting trying to explain to the hotel receptionists afterwards what 'Bleak' meant. Beer and food is great value compared to the euro zones, we will certainly be back and stay at Hotel Major.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, N Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

The Major is a relatively newly built, modern, small hotel. The room we had was not huge but was adequately sized, well decorated, clean and comfortable.
The breakfast buffet was more than adequate, and was a good start to the day.
Staff were pleasent & helpful.
Location wise the hotel was a little out of the way, but there is a bus stop just down the street, and a 15min bus ride takes you right into the centre of Krakow for about 70p. Being outside the city centre had the added advantage of being in a quiet location, so no traffic or crowd noise if you wanted a good nights sleep.
We would use this hotel again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

We stayed a tthe Hotel Major in Northern Krakow (15 mins from centre by bus) for our 4 night stay in the city (Feb half term)
The hotel was clean and staff were very helpful and friendly.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable stay.
Although it is not in the centre I prefer the more peaceful location.
Bus 130 only takes 15 minutes direct to the train/bus stations (and Galeria shopping complex).

I recommed public transport (trains/trams/buses) as this is cheap and prompt).
We travelled to Auschwitz and Salt Mines by bus/train and this was done easilty at very little cost compared to organised tours.

A 10PLN day ticket gives you full bus/tram access for 24 hours.
Single trip tickets 2.50 PLN are avaliable from the Hotel reception.

Back to the Hotel.
We has breakfast there which was first class.
Rooms were spacious and clean.
No hot drinks in rooms but bottled water supplied.
Can get tea/coffed at bar area (along with some stronger stuff).

Krakow was a good experience and I would not hesitate using the Hotel Major agian.

  • Liked — clean and tidy. Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Location if you wnat a cnetral place
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Major? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Major

Address: 6 Gdynska Street | 31323 Krakow, Krakow 31462, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Major 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest in our hotel situated in the royal city of Cracow. We offer 45 comfortable, modernly equipped rooms, a cosy restaurant and a hotel bar. All rooms and spaces accessible for our guests are fully air-conditioned. To make your stay with us more comfortable, we implemented an innovative door locking system to guarantee your safety. The building is also adapted to the needs of visitors with movement disabilities. A spacious car park provides enough room for cars and coaches. Our friendly and attentive staff help create a homely, cordial atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Major reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Major Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Major, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.