We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A German spy turned world humanitarian.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oskar Schindler's Factory

Oskar Schindler's Factory
ul. Lipowa 4, Krakow, Poland
+48 12 257 10 17
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$15*
and up
Small-Group Oskar Schindler's Factory Museum Tour...
Ranked #11 of 246 things to do in Krakow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Housed in the former administrative building of Oskar Schindler factory, Emalia, is a museum that tells the story of Schindler and the Jewish prisoners of Plaszow who were the inspiration for Steven Spielberg's hit movie, "Schindler's List."
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A German spy turned world humanitarian.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Factory is now a museaum of the Geman occupation of Krakow, but still with factory item interest.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,879
    1,372
    521
    132
    46
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a stunning example of a museum. Schindlers old enamel factory has been converted into a memorial to the history of Krakow during the Nazis occupation during WWII.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This factory/museum is an absolute must on a trip to Krakow. The exhibits are something else - and work on many levels, allowing you to hear and touch many of the items on display. There are some cunning pieces on Nazi propaganda, that really work on a subconscious level - that I particularly enjoyed. The exhibition whilst based in Shindler's Factory (from the Spielberg film) only dedicates a small piece of the experience to the man himself, and focuses more on how war affected Krakow/Poland as a whole. Thought inspiring and a perfect companion to any trip out to the camps. I was advised to get there early to avoid queues and ensure their were tickets.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oskar Schindlers factory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

we allowed about an hour and a half to visit the factory tour..... we did visit Auschwitz earlier in the day and thought this would be a relatively short tour to do after the tiring day of walking.... we arrived just before 4pm..I think the last tour/visits were allowed in at 4.30pm as it shuts at 6pm (it's also closed the first Monday in each month which I only realised after booking a stay in Krakow starting on a Monday) the factory tour took us alot longer than we thought and we still missed things out as we had pre-booked a taxi to take us into the main square.....extremely well done indeed...lots of info, interactive displays and features and sound effects all added to the feel of being taken back in time to the ww2 era ..we could have stayed much longer than we did....it's about 30mins walking for the fit people out there,but taxis are so cheap....it cost 12 zlotys from the main square to the factory in a radio taxi.....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co down
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Factory visit 6th feb 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was an excellent tour. We had plenty of time to look around. It was so interesting, lots of photos and written accounts. I would recommend a taxi or bus tour to it as it is hard to find on foot. Really worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oskar Schindler's Factory also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Oskar Schindler's Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oskar Schindler's Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.