We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krakow Zoo (Ogrod Zoologiczny)

Krakow Zoo (Ogrod Zoologiczny)
ul. Kasy OszczednoSci Miasta Krakowa 14, Krakow 30-232, Poland
+48 12 425 35 51
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 139 Attractions in Krakow
Type: Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Krakow Zoo’s 17 hectares (42 acres) accommodate more than 1,400 animals. Its most prized residents include herds of pygmy hippopotamus and Przewalski horses, Somali wild ass, Pere David's deer, barasingha, South American tapir, white camel, South American sea lions, several species of wild cats and rare antelopes such as addax, eastern bongo and waterbuck.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I really enjoyed myself at Krakow Zoo. It is not huge which means you can walk around it at a leisurely pace quite easily, yet there is a wide enough variety of animals to qualify it as a zoo. We saw elephants, big cats, zebras, camels, primates, nocturnal creatures, fish, lizards, petting animals and meerkats! Unfortunately we did not see any giraffes as they are currently having a new home built for them. The park was very quiet and clean and seemed to be well managed.

Entrance was 18 zl and we got there by the 134 bus from the Stadium (which is a little way out of town and can be reached by the 502 bus or others I cant remember). It would be nicer for tourists if there was a bus service from the Old Town rather than the suburbs. If there is an englsh guide book for sale at the entrance I would recommend buying it as the only english information available inside the zoo is the common name of the species.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    36
    14
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast,Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good for a day trip out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I decided to go to Krakow Zoo for a day trip, just to get out of the city. I got the no.134 bus outside Cracovia Stadium, it drops you right at the zoo and you catch the bus back from the same place. It cost 18zl entrance adult, the zoo is set in beautiful gardens. Most of the exhibits are outdoors in the natural setting of the surrounding Wolski Forest. There are lots of different birds, brightly coloured pheasants, parrots. flamingos, black swans, other species whose names I can't remember. I especially love the Meerkats, they are so funny and I like the fact that one is so close to most of the animals. Wolves, big cats, small cats ,chimps, elephants, camels, lamas, the list is endless, some animals I had never seen before. It takes a while to get around as there is so much to see. There is also a petting zoo for the kids, with donkeys, ponies, sheep, goats . Other smaller creatures are housed inside.
If your feeling hungry then plenty of snack bars to choose from. There are also walking trails you can follow through the forest if you have time to spare. A great day out!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It is beautiful and located on the top of a hill. A nice hide away from the sun on a hot day. Bus 134 from Cracovia will take you to the entrance. There are lots of animals, especially birds, but also a night house with reptiles, bats, and monkeys, 'big cats' and elephants. The living spaces of the animals were rather small in my opinion, especially compared to the ones in my country and other ones I have been. Some big animals were walking around in circles on a small piece of land (like the panther) and that was kinda sad. Too bad that there are no English text on the information signs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good but needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we decided to visit the zoo on a spare day of our holiday to Krakow after finding out it was so close to the hotel.
The admission itself was very cheap , working out at app £4.50 each.
The zoo itself is quite big & I have to say included a lot of animals that I had not seen before in my previous zoo visits.
The animals themselves however did not seem very active but this may have been due to the conditions on the day , it was very hot.
Also some of the cages especially for the cats did seem too small for their needs , but a lot of these animals did have 'young' with them so I would also state that they must be being well cared for.
Overall I would state that the park is well worth a visit

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice and silent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Far from city center you can visit this small but really nice Zoo. A little like a park is so cosy place, you can even make a walk through ignoring animals and it will still be ok:) Not very big, but well maintained.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krakow Zoo (Ogrod Zoologiczny) also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Krakow Zoo (Ogrod Zoologiczny)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krakow Zoo (Ogrod Zoologiczny), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.