We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amber Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amber Hotel to your Saves list
Amber Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   ul.Garbarska 8-10, Krakow 31-131, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great service and well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A warm welcome sets the tone for your stay in this pleasant hotel. Well located, about a 5 minute walk from the main square, the hotel is staffed by a happy crew who go out of their way to make your stay special. The hotel rooms themselves are small but spotless with a good shower and quiet rooms. The breakfast is adequate - I'm getting used to no toaster - and there's apples in the lobby if you are craving some fresh fruit. But it's the staff who make it 5 star - not the rooms. Seemingly like all Poles, they are enthusiastic, friendly and happy to help. The beds and pillows are great - so overall, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena W, Manager at Amber Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your nice words following your recent stay at Amber Hotel.

I am so glad that my fantastic team ensured we met your expectations. I have already passed on your kind words to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Amber Hotel on a future visit so we may take care of you once again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,
Magdalena Wesolowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    134
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
76
238
27
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with my 85 year old Father. Warmly greeted by Marta - a superb, bubbly, helpful member of staff who greeted my Father as "Dad!". Throughout the stay she and all the staff were pleasant, welcoming and helpful - from providing tips for restaurants (Mamma Mia nearby was superb) to providing packed lunches for the Auschwitz excursion to providing a bottle opener, therein attention was unfalteringly good at all times. I have rarely seen such a high level of service. Well done. Hotel is well situated - just 5 mins walk from Rynek Glowny (main square) and about 15 minutes to the castle. The room was spacious, nicely equipped (cherry vodka, bottled water and free Wifi), very clean and very quiet due to the quiet street (Garbarska) on which it was situated - we were at the front of the hotel too. Breakfast was a bit of an eclectic mix - but we got used to it. Overall, an excellent hotel offering superb service, good breakfast and comfortable accommodation. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena W, Manager at Amber Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback following your recent stay at the Amber Hotel.

I have passed on your kind words to Marta and the rest of the team here at the hotel. Comments such as yours are great motivators for our staff !

I am very pleased to hear that you liked our rooms, great location and spent a good time in Krakow!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Amber Hotel on your next visit to Krakow.

Best regards,
Magdalena Wesolowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My friend and I were booked into the Hotel Amber but when we arrived, we were upgraded to a room in the linked Hotel Amber Design. The two wings are linked on the ground floor but are separate upstairs. Our room was lovely, immaculately clean and spacious, overlooking a quiet courtyard to the rear. The reception staff were lovely, very friendly and spoke good English. They were genuinely happy to do their best for you. The beds were very comfy and the en-suite modern and clean. The hotel is only 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Krakow and feels safe to walk back to in the evening. Breakfast was very nice and replenished regularly, even towards the end of the session. The only improvement I can suggest is that the tea/coffee area of the buffet be separated from the rest as there was often a bottleneck there. I would be delighted to return to the Amber on my next trip to Krakow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena W, Manager at Amber Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review on the site following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the service we deliver and found the team to be warm friendly and efficient.

Thank you for a lovely comment about our new wing - Hotel Amber Design****

We really appreciate your nice word regarding breakfast!

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,
Magdalena Wesolowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I chose this hotel for a four night stay in Krakow for my wife and I based on TA reviews and a very reasonable price.

Although the hotel policy is a 12 mid day check in, we arrived at 10.30am but our room was ready for us. We were in the newer part of the hotel which has apparantley been recently renovated. it certainly looks like it has and it has been renovated to a very high standard indeed. Our room was spotless and decorated very tastefully. the lobbies and corridors are also spotlessly clean and decorated to a very high standard.

The street that the hotel is in is quite shabby but very quiet. It is, however, in a great location. Less than a five minute walk to the old town market square and only slightly more to the railway station or Krakovia shopping gallery.

Where we thought that the hotel was let down was the lack of restaurant facilities at night and the poor selection at the breakfast buffet. It would have been nice to have a larger selection of hot products or fresh fruit. The bar was also poorly stocked. On our final night, they ran out of white wine and had no lemonade/sprite to mix into drinks. There were very few people in the bar but for a four star hotel to run out of white wine is unacceptable.

Summing up, a gem of a hotel let let down by catering facilities.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the recently upgraded half of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena W, Manager at Amber Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing great feedback of your stay at Amber Hotel.

I was so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that majority aspects of your stay met your expectations.

I am thrilled you liked our new wing - Hotel Amber Design****

We appreciate your comment regarding restaurant facilities and we will do our best to improve it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Amber Hotel on your next visit to Krakow.

Best regards,
Magdalena Wesolowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

we stayed at this hotel after reading positive reviews on trip advisor, we were not disappointed!! We were very lucky to be upgraded to a room in the new design end of the hotel!! The rooms are spotlessly clean, comfy beds, power shower and nice and quiet . I was expecting breakfast to be disappointing from previous reviews but I thought it was good, lots of choice (ok some of it was a bit bizarre like pizza one morning and salad another!), unlimited amounts and nice coffee. The staff couldn't be more helpful regarding trips and booking restaurants and taxis for us and they are on the front desk 24 hours a day. They arranged pick up from the airport for us at a very reasonable rate (80 PLN, about £16!) The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk into the main square of Krakow. Highly recommended!!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena W, Manager at Amber Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

I’m delighted to read such a great opinion about our hotel! Thank you so much for spent your time on writing it.

I am very pleased that you liked the new design room, the comfortable beds the location and most of all that you felt that the staff were excellent and could not do enough for you.

I do hope that you will be able to come back to the hotel in the near future so we can once again ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Wesolowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a great hotel to stay in during my two week vacation in Krakow. It is about 5-10 minute walk to the centre. A perfect location! A wonderful place to stay with a pleasant staff that are more than willing to help you if you need it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena W, Manager at Amber Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing great feedback of your stay at Amber Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and spent a good time in Krakow!

Once again thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Wesolowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Clement, Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Following the wedding of our son in Poland, myself and my wife and another couple stayed five nights at Hotel Amber at the end of September. The hotel was chosen by me due to the favourable reports on TripAdvisor that I had read. The reception staff were wonderful and were extremely helpful when one of our party was not well and required a doctor. Eating recommendations proved good and a taxi provided within minutes of asking. Only one slight problem. I had read that an addition to the hotel had recently been made and that visitors to that part also ate in the same dining area for breakfast. The hotel does not appear to have considered potential problems with this as the restaurant staff appeared over-extended and the morning menu limited with, on one occasion, nowhere to sit. However, with time, I am sure that this will be overcome and should not detract visitors to Krakow staying at this hotel which is only a short walk from the centre.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena W, Manager at Amber Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and the other travelers!

That’s especially important for us that you are happy and satisfied, because you and your family stayed with us on the occasion of such an solemn event.

We appreciate your comment regarding breakfast. We will address these points.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can be of assistance at any time or if you wish to make a booking.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Wesolowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Hotel

Address: ul.Garbarska 8-10, Krakow 31-131, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Krakow
#10 Business Hotel in Krakow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of this magical city, right next to the enchanting and picturesque Krakow old town, in a secluded street there is an unusual place, XIX century tenement house, and inside - a little, unbelievably hospitable boutique Amber Hotel with a unique atmosphere. Even though the hotel is situated in the very centre of the old town, only 500 meters from the main square, it manages to remain distant from urban noise. Elegant and functional rooms provide our guests with ideal conditions for both work and relaxation. Comfortably furnished rooms, coffee/tea making facilities, satellite TV, free and fast internet connection contribute to creating a comfortable and friendly place for every guest. The hotel is frequently visited, apart from tourists and businessmen, by renowned personalities from cultural, artistic and political circles. Extremely friendly service, always ready to help, makes it an exceptional place, full of good manners and taste, where every desire of the Guests is immediately satisfied by the professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.