We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three day break in Krakow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pugetow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Pugetow to your Saves list
Hotel Pugetow
ul Starowislna 15a, Krakow 31-038, Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Three day break in Krakow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

As experienced travellers we can honestly say that this is one of the most charming and welcoming hotels we have stayed in throughout the world. The staff were superb as was the breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and they even gave us a free upgrade to a beautifully decored suite. I would book quick, as its location close enough to the town centre with a 10 minute walk coupled with elegance comfort at a bargain price will ensure you will enjoy the break.We visited Auschwitz which is about 50 miles away and Schindlers Factory ( a short taxi ride away). We hired a cab for the day for £70 - a bargain.
Go before it gets too busy as this place is a gem!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    24
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
62
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clacton on sea, essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The hotel arranged a taxi for us at a charge of approx £16, which was waiting for us when we arrived at the airport, and saved us time and hassle. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were impressed by the warmth and personal customer service that we experienced. We arrived early morning and were offered breakfast on arrival. We sat and had a leisurely breakfast of cold meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit, rolls, pastries, yogurts, etc, etc, very good quality and variety. By the time we had breakfast our rooms were ready, It was my sisters sixtieth birthday and she had been upgraded to a suite. My husband and I had the room number 5, which had the beautiful round window, the hotel was well heated and very warm and cozy. I think that all the rooms would be lovely. The position is perfect for a weekend as 5 mins walk to old town, which is the main area to visit, and arrange tours from. The hotel staff can book tours for you and provide tourist information, they also reccomended a most enjoyable restuarent, which I would also reccomend called the Miod MalIIina(Honey Raspberry). If I went to Krakow again, I would not want to stay anywhere else. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

What a gem. A small but very individual hotel. Location was great, within easy walking distance of everything. The hotel was warm and cosy. The staff were very polite and helpful and could`nt do enough for you. The rooms were decorated on individual themes and were very clean and comfortable. The dining room was in a converted basement with a roaring log burner...very cosy and quirky. All in all a lovely hotel, very reasonably priced and conveniently located.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed for four nights from the 13th oct . Though the weather outside was very cold, the hotel was very warm ! as was the welcome and the treatment we received during our stay ! The staff were just lovely ! could not have asked for more. Very spacious and nicely decorated room . Small hotel but very cosy, only 5 mins from the main square. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Lake, NY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My husband and I just returned from 9 days in Europe, the last three of which were stayed at the Hotel Pugetow. We were so glad we stayed at this boutique hotel; it was small, comfortable, tastefully decorated and had all the amenities one could ask for. The breakfast had much to choose from, and the dining room had lots of ambiance. The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating, and we were minutes away from the center of town. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel when you are in Krakow. One bit of advice, though, if you have mobility issues: due to the historic nature of this hotel, there is no elevator. We were on the 4th floor, which was not an issue at all for us, however, if you do have a little trouble getting up and down stairs, it's best to ask for a room on the lower level. Also, if you need a taxi from the main station or the airport, ask the hotel to arrange one for you; you will pay the driver in cash, but it will be much less than if you hail a cab off of the street. From the main train station, the cost was only 30 zloty, and to the airport, it was 80.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed as a group of friends & family for varying periods of time between 15/06/2011 and 20/06/2011 because my son was married in Krakow on Saturday 18/06/2011. The hotel was perfect for us. The location is ideal, only a few minutes walk from the main square but far enough away to be away from the noise late at night on & around the square.
We did have one or two small problems but these were dealt with promptly by the wonderful staff, nothing was too much trouble for them, it really was home from home.
The rooms were lovely with lots of character & the breakfasts were excellent.
The only negative comment I will make is that my daughter stayed with her husband and two small children in a triple room which had velux skylight windows and this was a problem to them because there were no blinds or curtains at these windows so the rooms were flooded with daylight in the early hours of the morning which made sleep difficult for them all. The staff worked hard to solve this problem for the second night but the only real solution would be for the windows to be fitted with internal window blinds, I do hope the hotel owners take note.
I will definitely stay there again if I go back to Krakow, which we may do because it is a lovely city.
Pauline East Yorkshire

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grodek, General Manager at Hotel Pugetow, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear PaulineDriffield
Thank you for choosing to stay in our Hotel and taking time to post your review on. Your feedback is highly appreciated.
It is very rewarding to know that we exceeded your expectations and glad to note that you had an excellent stay in our Hotel.
Once again, on behalf of all the staff thank you for your comments and we look forward to being of service to you again.
Kind regards
Piotr Jarząbek
General Manager
ps

we will try to solve the problem with windows, permanently :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Our 4 night stay in Krakow could not have been better! We stayed in the Madame Walewska suite - an entry foyer that leads into a very large lounge/living room, with a separate bedroom with King size bed, and a large bathroom. Location was perfect (although the hotel isn't obvious from the street) - minutes away from the main square and Wawel Castle, with a tram for a quick trip to Schindler's Factory. We also found nearby Kazimierz very good for more traditional Polish food options. Secure car parking is easy in the hotel grounds, with a 50% discount for hotel guests.

Staff were very helpful, breakfast was fresh and plentiful (served in the basement/cellar). A wonderful stay in a great city!

Special mention to Frania cafe nearby - an easy place to do your laundry whilst settling in the cozy basement bar having a coffee or beer. :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pugetow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pugetow

Address: ul Starowislna 15a, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#29 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pugetow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pugetow Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pugetow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.