We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant on the Moon Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elephant on the Moon Hostel to your Saves list
Elephant on the Moon Hostel
Biale Wzgorze 8, Krakow 30-203, Poland (Półwsie Zwierzynieckie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 328 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed at Elephant on the Moon Hostel in May during my first visit to Krakow. The hostel was perfect. Very clean, comfortable room. The breakfast that was provided during my stay was very nice. All of the guests and people who worked there were incredibly nice and there was a lot of fun hanging out and conversation in the common room. When I visit Krakow again, I will definately stay there. It was pretty easy to get there as well from the street car.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We just recently stayed at the Elephant on the Moon and it was perfect. I was very pleased and would definitely recommend this hostel :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

staying in this hostel was like staying in a home away from home. on arrival we were welcomed, given maps and advise on trips and what we could do during our stay. Our room was lovely and the bathroom was nice too. the breakfast was lovely.

one of the nights we stayed here there was quite a bad thunder and lightening storm so we were in the hostel for the night and it was great to be able to sit out in the common area and choose a film from their collection and be comfortable to sit out and watch no problem.

we walked into the town most of the time, it took about half an hour along the river, other than when it was raining, then we got the tram which was just around the corner from the hostel - very handy.

the staff here were brilliant, so chatty and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
180 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed at this hostel for six days, and enjoyed my stay very much. It felt more as a Bed and Breakfast place rather than a hostel. That's a plus!
PROS (not in any order):
1. Very clean
2. Friendly staff
3. Pretty courtyard
4. Filling breakfast
5. Quiet place
6. Free WiFi
7. Not crowded
8. Close to tram station

CONS:
1. Far from Old Town
2. Only one main bathroom

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

we stayed here for a couple of days, as soon as we arrived, the staff were very friendly and gave us a free map and showed us everywhere to go and told us about prices and when the best time is to go etc! very helpful! the room was lovely as was the bathroom! the breakfast was also lovely! easily accessible from the train station and the centre of the city! there was free wifi and internet access and you could chill in the kitchen/living room area and all the other guests and staff were also very friendly! the price was a bargain and by far the best place we stayed during our travels round europe! would stay again any time!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The hostel is small - it feels like home really. The staff is great. The breakfast is nice. To get there you have to go by tram - it takes about 15 minutes ( more or less) and than walk for 5 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

This hostel is fun to stay in, the staff is welcoming and friendly and it REALLY was cleaner than many 4 stars hotels I stayed in. Although it is not directly in the city centre, the 20 min. walk along Vistula river is worth it (or you just get on the tram and you are in the centre in 5 min.)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#38 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Sheraton Krakow Hotel
#23 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niebieski Art Hotel & Spa
#35 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#1 of 328 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracow Hostel
Cracow Hostel
#25 of 328 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant on the Moon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant on the Moon Hostel

Address: Biale Wzgorze 8, Krakow 30-203, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Półwsie Zwierzynieckie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 328 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Elephant on the Moon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant on the Moon Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.