We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I have ever stayed in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greg & Tom Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Greg & Tom Hostel to your Saves list
Greg & Tom Hostel
Ul. Pawia 12/7, Krakow 31-154, Poland (Kleparz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 327 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best hostel I have ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Likes:
Small lockers with locks given
Staff was fantastic (day and night staff)
Breakfast and Dinner provided in price (and was really good meals)
Lots of maps/guides/info availiable to be booked at location
Less than 10 minute walk to centre of Krakow
Multiple computer terminals
Free Wifi
Free DVD movies to watch
Great place to meet other backpackers

Dislikes:
Stayed on the main floor, so only one toilet available

Overall:
Staff was very helpful & stay was fantastic!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    54
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
64
94
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Fantastic place to stay, looks really seedy from the front as you follow paper signs stuck to the wall of this funny little apartment block, but once you're there you'll love the place. Free shots seem to just appear from nowhere; the free breakfasts and dinners were better than free meals i've had anywhere else; and the staff and group of people are friendly and welcoming.
Especially if you're travelling by yourself or want to meet people, this is the place to do it. The whole set up encourages friendly chats, and lots of drinking opportunities at night!
rooms are quiet and comfortable, and there are little sitting rooms ad couches on every floor so if you don't feel like being around everyone there are still lots of places to relax.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Definitely the best hotel I've ever been to. The receptionist/girl at the front desk sat down with us and a map and explained the layout of the city and atttrations. Everyone answered all of our questions in a helpful, infomed way, we were walked to the second hostel/location with a friendly staff member, and there is an excellent (toast, yoghurt, cheese, fruit, meats, salad, tea & coffee ect.) free breakfast and even free dinner which we never took them up on. Apartment was cleaned every day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

My friends & I really enjoyed our stay in Krakow, and not only because of the wonderful city. Greg & Toms offers everything a backpacker could possibly want and more. It's only a short walk from the railway station & only a few minutes from the main street. The rooms were spacious and tidy, and the bathrooms were like something from my own home. It felt more like a house than a hostel. Breakfast was also insane. I'm not sure if it's just the Polish way to have huge breaky, but at this hostel I was in shock when the cold meats etc. hit the table. So good! They also offered free use of the internet & large screen plasmas with an array of movies. Anyone who enjoys a bit of nightlife and vodka, the hostel also offers nightly pub crawls (only around 7euros from memory) & they're really fun. Daily tours of the Salt Mines, Auschwitz & the country can also be arranged by the hostel. I cannot speak highly enough of this hostel & it's staff. It they're reading this, many thanks for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Really enjoy staying with this nice apartment complete with all the facilities you need. Very close to the main attractions , shops nd restaurants anf fastfood. The place is clean everyday with cleanliness top mark. Reasonable price inclusive breakfast and dinner as you wish evrything is there what else you can ask for. Everyone of us admire the place as its all walking distance everywhere. Best time we had in Krakow as we visited the Sanctuary of Divine Mercy at Lagiewniki taking only the tram 19 takes you only 20mins then your there just about 400 mtrs from the tram stop walking up passing the underpass.We unfold the history sorrounded Poland as we visited the Austwitz Berkenau The Nazi concentration camp where all the mass genocide was done it was a very sad to know what suffering they had. As we visited the great Salt Mine i can says a great Worlds Wonder. Amazing experience watching all this sculpture made of salt esp the stunning underground Cathedral all made of salt. a truly remarkable experience of Krakow . On our last day we explore the secrets behind this beautiful city, as we stayed closer to the tourist area. We visited The St Marys Cathedral , Cloth hall, the square really great place to wonder around. the imposing Wawel Castle and we had time to venerate the relics of St Stanislau Poland patron saint located at Skalka. There you see where the place his body was cut into pieces and miraculously spring came out from that area and its now flowing with water people collecting it for whatever purpose it may do as its known holy water. What else I can say best best pilgrimage and holiday ever.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

This hostel has very friendly staff with excellent organised activities each night which you can partake in - a great way to see the local krakow. Rooms were clean, spacious but walls a little bit on the thin side. Lots of free food and drink at various times throughout the week.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Brilliant hostel. Provide breakfast and dinner and excellent facilities. The dinner is cooked by the hostel staff and is of great quality and quantity. The private double we booked was in an apartment with three other rooms with use of a kitchen, dining room and living room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Andel's Hotel Cracow
Andel's Hotel Cracow
#30 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,265 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#1 of 327 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greg & Tom Party Hostel
#6 of 327 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Stare Miasto
Greg & Tom Beer House Hostel
Kazimierz
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greg & Tom Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greg & Tom Hostel

Address: Ul. Pawia 12/7, Krakow 31-154, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 327 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contrary to some hostels, you can check in at any time and wait for your bed in our comfortably furnished common room, having cup of coffee and a chat with our staff. Check out time is at 10am but after that you can still use the common areas of the hostel.For the hungry ones: DAILY FREE BREAKFASTS & FREE DINNERS!!What else do we offer: Three fully-equipped kitchens with microwaves, cooker, toaster, fridge with free filtered water and an ice maker for your fancy drinks. Free tea, coffee, milk fruits and cereal available 24/7 Spacious dorms and double rooms, modern bathrooms with massage showers. Free Internet and Wi-Fi, CD burning and printing, 3 huge flat screen TVs with hundreds of channels (music, sport, film, fashion) and a massive collection of DVDs (over 300 movies!) to enjoy while comfortably seated on our soft sofas. Free towel, linen, padlocks and security lockers. No curfew, no lockout!Broad tourist information, free maps and guidebooks.We also provide: Multilingual, experienced and energetic staff available 24/7 to help with the craziest issues: we help to buy tickets, look for the best bus or trains connections. IMPORTANT: AGE LIMIT FOR GREG&TOM from 18 to 50 YEARS OLD. No stags, no school groups. We only accept group bookings of no more than 6 people. Anyone caught breaking this rule will be charged for the whole stay and have their reservation cancelled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Greg & Tom Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greg & Tom Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.