We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greg & Tom Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Greg & Tom Hostel to your Saves list
Greg & Tom Hostel
Ul. Pawia 12/7, Krakow 31-154, Poland (Kleparz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 309 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Litterally a minute walk to train station, 2 minutes to old town, great great location. The 6 bed dorm were kinda cramp, and yes one main bathroom with 2 seperate showers and one toilet. Thats my only minor complain.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    47
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
56
79
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in June 2010. Staff was great, they didn't just check us in, they explained the town, recommended some great places, and actually walked us over to the apartment. We had booked a private room for 2, which we had in a large apartment with 4 bedrooms. The room was very clean, just north of town. The only negatives were that their was only 1 shower for 8 people, and the last 2 blocks to the room were slightly sketchy, but nothing concerning.

Breakfast was incredible, meat, cheese, breads even some well made salads. And the staff were fantastically friendly at all times. We had a midnight flight so we left our bags there, and even used the shower before we left. Overall, one of the best places I have stayed in Europe, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Stayed at Greg and Tom's for two nights in May. Really liked the place and would definately consider staying there again if ever going back to Krakow.

You cannot beat the location: just a couple of minutes walk from the train station and a 5-10 minute walk to the old town. The interior is really light and modern. I stayed in a 5 bed dorm which was quite spacious. You get your own locker (complete with padlock) to keep your backpack etc in and they provide you with linen and a towel. There was only one bathroom on my floor, which was not a big problem because you could always use the one at reception level, but I would not have minded at least another one.

The only downside is the vodka nights etc organized by the hostel. Probably a lot of fun for the 20somethings, but at the same time meaning a lot of drunk people are getting back late at night making a lot of noise. One morning the only bathroom had clear evidence on the floor from someone who had problably had a drink or two too much...

You cannot blame the hostel though for the clientele staying there. You could be lucky and end up with nice room mates or you could find your self in the middle of a party crowd. It thats what you're looking for you're in the right place. If it's not, it's more down to your own luck when it comes to room mates.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Answered all our emails before our arrival kindly. And upon our arrival explained us everything about the city patiently and... offered us a mad dog shot!
The staff is absolutely unique and helpfull. The room was fantastic, the localization idem... Breakfast, food, kitchen... Well, after one year they probably forgot about us but we will never forget about them.
Absolutely a MUST! Go there!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

I booked this hostel for myself and 3 friends on the reviews and I wasnt disappointed. Easy to get to from the airport, however,it did look a little dodgy on the outside with paper signs in plastic wallets telling you it was the hostel! Inside the hostel itself it was so clean and friendly! Was given a map and introduction as soon as we arrived and was told about what trips they do. Booked Auschwitz and the salt mines with them and thought both were really good and a must see!

The hostel itself was lovely and clean. no bunkbeds!! Had a room with 6 beds all neatly made and with individual (large) lockers and padlocks! Showers and bathroom were shared but very clean and always available when we needed them! Breakfast was always spread out on the table and available at very reasonable hours!

We did not partake in the evening entertainment as we wanted to see Poland for ourselves and visit restaurants (which were cheap and really nice). The staff all seemed disappointed at this and tried to pressure us into meeting them later.

Our only downside to the hostel was the fact our room was right next door to the reception and was a little noisey! But please book this hostel I will be back again!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mazza84
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

As a group of 5 friends we booked a 5 person dorm and arrived after a long night of travel, very sleepy in minus 20 temps. The hostel didn't look much from the outside or in the dark, old fashioned stairway, but as soon as you walk into the reception it's like a little haven of colourfulness!

Our room was spotless with a padlocked locker each and there were a number of computers all with free internet access. The shower room was clean and the showers were luxury jet ones - be warned though that if two people are showering at the same time they just dribble cold water!

The location is excellent - just a couple of minutes walk into the old town where you will find loads of great grotto like bars, gorgeous restaurants and awe inspiring architecture.

The hostel also offers free breakfast, made up of bread, cheese, ham, eggs etc. and a free evening meal, although we didn't stick around for this. We did book the vodka and beer tasting night, which is basically a guided tour of a few bars in the old town. Adrian took us on our first night and it was awesome. I would recommend you book it for your first night as it really helps you get your bearings and to figure out the best bars to go to.

I'd never stayed in a hostel before but would definitely opt for one everytime I visit a city now - providing it's like this one obviously! Oh, and don't be put off if you're a little older than the average traveller - there were people of all ages staying whilst we were there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

A fantastically located hostel approximately 2 mons walk from main station. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean. My only gripe is only one shower so a bit if a wait. Apart from that highly recommended

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greg & Tom Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greg & Tom Hostel

Address: Ul. Pawia 12/7, Krakow 31-154, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 309 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contrary to some hostels, you can check in at any time and wait for your bed in our comfortably furnished common room, having cup of coffee and a chat with our staff. Check out time is at 10am but after that you can still use the common areas of the hostel.For the hungry ones: DAILY FREE BREAKFASTS & FREE DINNERS!!What else do we offer: Three fully-equipped kitchens with microwaves, cooker, toaster, fridge with free filtered water and an ice maker for your fancy drinks. Free tea, coffee, milk fruits and cereal available 24/7 Spacious dorms and double rooms, modern bathrooms with massage showers. Free Internet and Wi-Fi, CD burning and printing, 3 huge flat screen TVs with hundreds of channels (music, sport, film, fashion) and a massive collection of DVDs (over 300 movies!) to enjoy while comfortably seated on our soft sofas. Free towel, linen, padlocks and security lockers. No curfew, no lockout!Broad tourist information, free maps and guidebooks.We also provide: Multilingual, experienced and energetic staff available 24/7 to help with the craziest issues: we help to buy tickets, look for the best bus or trains connections. IMPORTANT: AGE LIMIT FOR GREG&TOM from 18 to 50 YEARS OLD. No stags, no school groups. We only accept group bookings of no more than 6 people. Anyone caught breaking this rule will be charged for the whole stay and have their reservation cancelled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Greg & Tom Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greg & Tom Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.