We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average nice hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Hostel Krakow

Orange Hostel Krakow
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Orange Hostel Krakow to your Saves list
Orange Hostel Krakow
ul. Dietla 64, Krakow 31-039, Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 328 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“average nice hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hostel is in a quite good location, between old town and kazimierz district. The staff is nice and helpfull. At every floor (for about 3 rooms) there are nice living rooms;) It's clean and the only reproach for this hostel is that there was just a one little bulb in my room and there was dark in the evening (weird hein?:P)

Room Tip: at 3th floor of the hostel there is no cooker (just a microwave,kettle), so if You want to cook choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I would call this place a budget hostel, on the upside it is really cheap, so great for saving your zlots for food drink and fun, the rooms are spacious, and the beds are good enough. Basic Breakfast is included, when we were there the dishwasher was broken, so had to hand wash, which i have no problem with apart from the fact that there were no tea towels, instead paper towels were provided to dry dishes...
it is on a fairly main street, so quite a bit of traffic noise, and of course the occasional fellow hostel goer making noise - wasn't a big deal for us but if you are a light sleeper i would say keep that in mind. Location is good, right between old town (10 min walk) and the jewish quarter (5min walk).
So, my only real gripe would be the bathrooms/shower situation. There are four Shower rooms, which kind of come off the kitchen, and each has a shower, toilet and handbasin in. Which means, if the four showers are being used, no one else can go to the toilet, clean their teeth etc. Also, the showers themselves are push button, with varying lengths, so in one shower you had to keep your hand on the button constantly, others were about six seconds, and the best was about ten seconds in length before you had to push the button again. You also must hire a towel, but again pretty cheap. Also bring jandals/sandals for the showers -you know why!
One last thing is that when you first arrive and go up the three flights of stairs, that look like a mafia safehouse or something, it is a bit daunting, but we had no problems, reception at the top was always manned and there are push lights in the stairwell for night time.
All in all, its a fine hostel for the money, just wash your hair before you go, and you will be fine :)

Room Tip: If you could possibly get one off the street side, that might help with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

For a comfortable 4 night stay, Orange wasn't bad at all. I didn't expect loads because it was a cheaper option but for the price it offers a decent standard of extras. Breakfast was simple but couldn't ask for more. The rooms were ok, once again very simple but did the job. The downsides are the showers which weren't hot and the timers last about 6 seconds. The floor of the hostel and room are quite possibly the loudest I've heard in the Western Hemisphere! The staff were friendly and helpful and all in all for the price its a great find.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Orange Hostel is a fairly decent no-frills hostel. The showers and taps are on push-timers, so don't expect to get a nice hot shower. The beds are comfortable, the staff are friendly. The dorms however have terrible lighting, making it less comfortable and sleeping to be difficult.

It's not a great place for socialising, with the common areas not really allowing for easy meeting of guests.

The wifi is excellent. For the price and location, there's not too much to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed there few nights. My favorite place is kitchen bright and colorful best place to socialize. When other people went sleep we could stay in common room with comfy sofas. Reception is open 24h and stuff is super friendly. I definitely recommend this hostel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I spent 2 nights in the dorm (i think it had 20 beds). It is extremely cramped. You do not have space to keep a backpack and walk. The beds are horrible and there arent enough plugpoints. There were some Irish girls those 2 nights and as usual they got drunk and vomitted in the room. And with the weather being cold and windows locked the stench stayed in the room all night.
Also the staff seem to charge as they wish. They had one price on the internet and charged me extra when i was there. I paid the extra amount for 1 night. But before paying for the 2nd i asked why the price is higher than on the net.. and the girl sighed and said "ah well, ok then give me the internet price" ! Ridiculous. The breakfast and showers are fine - typical for such a hostel.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the dorm. the 2 single bed room looked good though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great location, so close to the main square! was worried when we arrived as the building is quite scary haha! but the rooms are lovely, comfy beds and clean toilets. The staff were brilliant, giving us advice on where to go, and even ordered us a pizza one night! They didnt even mind when we came rolling in at 6 in the morning making quite a bit of noise! Such a nice place would 100% return! Thanks for a great stay :) x

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#43 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Hostel Faust
#167 of 248 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Wesoła Zachód
Atlantis Hostel
Atlantis Hostel
#59 of 328 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Cracow Hostel
Cracow Hostel
#25 of 328 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#1 of 328 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Półwsie Zwierzynieckie
Okay House
Okay House
#20 of 328 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Hostel Krakow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hostel Krakow

Address: ul. Dietla 64, Krakow 31-039, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 328 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Orange Hostel Krakow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Hostel Krakow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.