We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room to swing a cat! Perfect example of design over function” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andel's Hotel Cracow

Save Saved
You added Andel's Hotel Cracow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andel's Hotel Cracow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Pawia 3, Krakow 31154, Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 236 hotels in Krakow
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“No room to swing a cat! Perfect example of design over function”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

On checking in we were told we had an Executive room but this only meant free internet, towelling robes and coffee out on the landing - certainly not a larger room as one would have expected! We later found out that the standard rooms were the same size! One side of the bed was so narrow my husband had to walk sideways to get into bed! Cupboard space was limited (with those dreadful hangers which are attached to the rail - a four star hotel - surely not?). Most of the shelf space was taken up with the fridge, safe and coffee/tea making - there was only one tiny drawer in the bedroom and opening this was difficult because of the curtains getting in the way. In the bathroom there was no shelving on which to place toiletries except beside the basin so they constantly got wet. There was only one hook on the door and although we would have liked to keep our towels for another day, they never dried on the rails (unheated) and since the underfloor heating didn't work we couldn't benefit from that. The only decent thing in the bathroom was the shower which was large (but no bath in any of the rooms, which is a big mistake in a tourist hotel where visitors have spent all day walking and need to rest their feet) but unfortunately the water spilled out onto the bathroom floor and so we had to dry it with the towels! The entrance corridor was so narrow that when the bathroom door was open, no-one could come through the entrance door. Downstairs everything was minimal and pretty uncomfortable because of it but at least the buffet breakfast was good and the staff very pleasant and helpful. The hotel itself is in a rather dull position near the train and bus stations and a huge shopping centre but away from the charm of the central square where a tourist would want to be to enjoy the ambiance of the city, and yet it was not a cheap hotel! Having come from three days at the spacious Bonerowski Palace Hotel the contrast was particularly marked. I can only assume that the bedrooms were designed by men and with no input from a woman. It is certainly not an hotel to spend too much time in!

Room Tip: Dont bother unless you dont mind staying in a cupboard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Andel's Hotel Cracow, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay. Guest comments such as yours help us to provide better services in future.
I am very sorry to learn that the accommodation did not meet your expectations.
Your remarks regarding the executive rooms are very valuable for us.
I will personally look into these matters as guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to me
Thank you, once again, for your and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our property , where we assure you of our best attention and services.The team of andel’s Hotel Cracow is always committed to deliver high quality and memorable service to our guests

Yours sincerely,
Maria Makal Mlynarska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    747
    267
    41
    9
    15
See reviews for
105
461
74
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Andels is amazingly close to the railway station and to the old town. Its rooms renew and fresh, the bar sparkling with an excellent value lunch special daily. A lovely place to stay, the only (slight) criticism is that the breakfast service can be a little slow, with some slightly surly staff, which was disappointing as the rest of the service and staff were amazing.

Room Tip: They all appeared to be great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The room was fairly spacious with a wardrobe, desk, chair, armchair and coffee table. A minibar was provided however it was not cold enough - the drinks were at room temperature.

The free wifi only worked when standing at the door or in the bathroom. This made it very awkward to use the internet. Speed was fast enough.

The bathroom was nicely presented with purple lighting. However, the frosted glass between the room and the bathroom meant that you could not use the bathroom at night without waking up the other person (blinding them with the light). The shower had no caddy for you to store toiletries.

The breakfast was average. Large tour groups staying at the hotel made it difficult to find a table. A variety of food options were provided; cold meats, cereal, yoghurt, pastries, sausages and fruit. The eggs were runny and the fruit ran out quickly. Staff seemed run off their feet trying to change tables and replace food.

Location of the hotel was fantastic. Right next to the main train/bus station, right outside Galleria Krakowska (shopping centre) and a short walk to the Old Town.

Overall a good hotel if your main concern is location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location on the edge of old town and rooms are clean with nice decor.The reception staff are very helpful though restaurant staff are simply appalling. For three mornings now I have tried unsuccessfully to get a cup of tea from them. A simple task! On the third morning they brought a jug of cold water and a tea bag! They do not like parting with milk at all. On the first two mornings despite a number of requests no milk but water and no tea bag. On third day whilst toasting bread twice they tried clearing my table of my freshly selected buffet which I had literally to snatch back. I gave up in the end and went to local cafe for a bite to eat!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Andel's Hotel Cracow, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking yourself the time to share your opinion about our hotel. Guest comments such as yours are very important and enabling us to provide better services, where applicable, on future visits.
We are very happy to learn that you were satisfied with your accommodation as well as the services provided by reception staff. Regarding your comment about restaurant service I would like to inform you that we have made series trainings for employees to improve breakfast service. We changed also the way of serving hot beverages as each guest get the aromatic coffee or tea for a decent start of the day.
Thank you, once again, for your valuable feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our property , where we assure you of our best attention and services.

Yours sincerely,
Maria Makal-Mlynarska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed 5 nights. Very satisfied. Rooms very well equipped with just about everything needed.
Front desk staff extremely helpful. Great location as mentioned In previous reviews. Best exchange rates in Kantor opposite ( 10% better than generally offered in old town ).
Some little niggles- king size bed very comfortable but duvet too small. No shelf in walk in shower for shampoo, gel etc so items have to stay on floor. Bring a small torch as the bathroom light when switched on, shines into the bedroom at night and could disturb a sleeping partner.
Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent hotel,friendly staff, great location, fantastic food, great tours to camps and mines. Huge shopping centre across from square. Train station two minutes walk, Kantor"exchange" facing hotel with great rates, market square five minute walk with bars, restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing square, we had 412, great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Choose Andels Hotel in Krakow based on reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. Excellent hotel and helpful staff, great location with only a 5 minute walk to the main Town Square. Accommodation was of a high standard, very comfortable and very clean. Would recommend to others and would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Andel's Hotel Cracow, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Ms Julia,
First we would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking yourself the time to share your opinion about our hotel.
We are very happy to learn that you were satisfied with your accommodation as well as the services provided by our associates. The team of andel’s Hotel Cracow is always committed to deliver high quality and memorable service to our guests.
Thank you, once again, for your valuable feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our property , where we assure you of our best attention and services.

Yours sincerely,
Maria Makal Mlynarska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andel's Hotel Cracow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andel's Hotel Cracow

Address: ul. Pawia 3, Krakow 31154, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Krakow
#7 Family Hotel in Krakow
#8 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andel's Hotel Cracow 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Andel’s Hotel Cracow is situated directly in city center, just 100 metres from Market Square, the largest shopping mall in the city and the main train station (12 minutes to the airport). It contains 159 luxurious rooms and apartments and is the only design hotel in Cracow. The spacious modern conference centre makes the hotel ideal for business meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Andel's Hotel Cracow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andels Hotel Krakow
Andels Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andel's Hotel Cracow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.