We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff & comfy, affordable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BlueBells Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BlueBells Apartments to your Saves list
BlueBells Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Starowislna 22, Krakow 31-032, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 309 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Busan, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“friendly staff & comfy, affordable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Separate shower and toilet rooms, but I found the facilities VERY clean and in great condition. My room had a balcony that overlooked the main thoroughfare, which was great for getting some fresh air in the morning....floorboards were a little creaky but that's to be expected in old buildings such as these...beds are narrow but comfortable. Staff is very friendly and courteous, helpful. The place is well managed, Wi-Fi available, and a good location to enjoy the city. I can't really say anything bad about this place....even the latte I had in the cafe was quite good.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room away from the main thoroughfare, as streetcars may be a bit noisy for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellsApts, Manager at BlueBells Apartments, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Mike,

Thank you for staying at Bluebells Apartments.
Your opinion is very nice and flattering. We really appreciate it.
All elements which you mentioned are our priority – all to provide our Guests a good sleep, in a clean and comfortable rooms.
The staff at the reception does its very best to help the Guests with all questions and pieces of advice.
If you wish to visit Kraków once again, you will be always welcome at Bluebells Apartments.

Greetings,
Paulina Czuchryta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    80
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
22
55
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My wife and I booked 5 nights at this hotel. The room was terribly disappointing (room 43). I'll preface this by noting that we only paid $25/night - which is cheap for this area. When we stepped in the room the first thing we noticed was that it smelled terribly of cigarettes. The room didn't appear very clean with smudges on the walls and just a dreary and dirty feel. The wifi signal was also non-existent in the room and often when we stepped outside the room for signal the wifi still didn't work. The next morning we went to the front desk as suggested by many of the company's responses below. Even tho there showed rooms available online for the same price that we paid, we were told that there were no rooms that we could switch to. They said they would have the maid fix the smell, and noted that our room had the worst wifi signal in the building - Yey?

When we got back on the evening of day 2 the smell was no better, so I went downstairs and requested that our money be refunded for the next 3 nights so we could move to another hotel. The worker said that he had to check with the manager and to come see him again the next morning and he would know.

The next day I checked with the same worker in the evening and he said that he wasn't able to speak with the manager yet. I again requested that we be able to switch rooms, and he found us another room (room 11) that we could move to for the next 3 nights, altho it had just been finishing being painted. He shows us the room and it was much better, and we didn't smell any paint (or cigarettes!) . This room was in fact an apartment where the first room was just a basic 4 bed room. He said to move our stuff and to come drop off the old keys to him when we finished. When we dropped the keys off he requested that we now pay an extra 20pln/night for this room since it was an upgrade. This I understand as the new room is certainly worth more that $25 a night - however he didn't tell us this until we had completely moved which we found quite unprofessional. Also we had already stayed two nights in a terrible room, simply lacking basic comfort in addition to the complete lack of wifi, which was listed as an in room amenity when we booked the room.

The extra cost was not a huge deal, but I was very disappointed in the level of professionalism that our situation was handled with. Other than this situation, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful, but our experience with the room left a sour taste in my mouth. I would highly recommend that you request to see your room before checking in.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellsApts, Manager at BlueBells Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Brandon W.,

Please accept ours sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have met during your stay at Bluebells Apartments.
The room you have chosen is with the economic standard and that is why it has such a low price. Which is of course not the excuse for the smell and lack of the Internet signal. What can I say is that in the rooms and apartments of the hotel there is forbidden to smoke, but some of the travelers are not always strict to the rules. That causes a problem for us, because it is difficult to remove that bad smell and what is more – it is a problem for our guests who do not smoke and require fresh and good smelling rooms.
Regarding the weak signal of the Internet – that is an unpleasant surprise for us. Nearly one month ago the Internet net in the hotel was rebuilt totally to have better connections with the high speed of it and to avoid that kind of problems. Just outside of your room was installed router and this is first time, I can hear that there is still something wrong. The device was double checked and it appears to be just fine.
During the weekends in the Kraków, there are a lot of travellers and tourist and our hotel was booked completely and this is the reason we could not offer you a change of the rooms in the first nights. You could see our availability online, but those were allotments. As soon as rest of the rooms were left, we could offer you a change. For the upgrade the prise is 30 PLN/night. I am sorry to hear that you were told about the additional cost after moving to the apartment. That should be strictly said at the moment of the conversation, especially in this delicate matter.
After all, I hope you have spent a nice time in the apartment which hopefully erased bad impression from the beginning.
If you wished to visit Kraków once again, maybe in warmer scenery of the summer, I can assure you that next stay in Bluebells Apartments would surprise you with higher level of professionalism and cosy accommodation.

Best regards,
Paulina Czuchryta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I booked Bluebells apartments through booking.com, although I wasn't sure what to expect, I am not too fussy in terms of accommodation. We got a taxi from the airport which cost 89zl (€21) we arrived at the apartments where a very friendly member of staff checked us in, the ground floor looks like a basement of a place and there was an odour that made me think I had chosen the wrong place however after getting the lift (very old lift) to the second floor, room 21, we couldn't believe the sheer size of it. Parquet flooring throughout, Big kitchen diner with everything you would need, 2 hobs, fridge, crockery, cutlery, glasses etc. The bathroom is spacious with a double shower, and then a huge bedroom/sitting room with 3 windows overlooking the street. All windows are double glazed so the trams/traffic going by aren't too noisy. The bedroom/sitting room had a double bed (strangely made completely of just mattress and foam,no legs or base but comfortable) coffee table, 2 comfy chairs a dresser with chair, big plasma tv (as in most countries, very little English tv) free wifi, and plenty storage for clothing, bags etc.
On the day we were leaving (today) we decided to pay for another day as our flight wasn't until late evening, our room was booked out so they transferred us to a room on the 4th floor. This room was just 1 room that was small with 2 single beds, a dresser, small tv, a small balcony, shared bathroom on corridor outside the room and very strange grey leather on the doors, I can't say I have ever seen anything quite like it, along with psychedelic wallpaper on one wall that wouldn't do a hangover much good.
Overall, I have to say we enjoyed our stay (if we had been placed on the 4th floor for all our stay this review probably wouldn't have been so positive) the staff are very friendly and helpful, and just to inform you that they have a dining room beside reception where they serve breakfast at additional cost. If we were to return to Krakov, we would indeed stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellsApts, Manager at BlueBells Apartments, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Christhoper,

Thank you for choosing Bluebells Apartments and staying with us.
It is good to know that you have enjoyed your visit in Kraków. It was a pleasure for us to host you.
The apartment you have got is one of ours the biggest and it is great, you found yourself so comfortable. The other room is our low budget offer so you could see the difference.
Our reception staff, always ready to help you with advise or recommendation is our huge advantage. Guests of Bluebells Apartments can be sure that any query will not be ignored.
If you would like to visit the city once again, you are welcome here!

Best regards,
Paulina Czuchryta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have stayed four nights in Poland at the Bluebell Apartments in Krakow. We have stayed in various places in the world but the staff at bluebells, have to be one of the best. Paulina Czuchryta is so helpful, nothing is to much trouble. Paulina really aims to make her guests feel at home. The rest of the staff, Kuba, Dorota & Basia are very helpful too. Making our stay a memorable one!

We have already decided that when we come back to Krakow we will be staying at the BlueAbells again as it is the perfect place to stay. It is situated between the Old Town and the Jewish quarter, being a 10-15 minute walk to both from the hotel entrance. It is basic but very clean. For the light sleepers amongst us, the trams pass by frequently. However, the hotel does provide ear plugs if required, or a possible room change if one is available! Paulina did us proud on this matter, as I am a very light sleeper. Plenty of zzzzzzzzzzzs thank you so much Paulina!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellsApts, Manager at BlueBells Apartments, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you for choosing Bluebells Apartments and your positive opinion.
Your rating and all those kind words show us that our work is appreciated and I hope it has good direction. Our reception staff does everything to meet the guests expectations.
The localization of the hotel is very good, as you noticed. But we understand that the passing by trams may be a problem for the guests who are the light sleepers, that is why every time we can, we try to help – offering the ear plugs or changing the room.
If you wish to visit Kraków once again, you are very welcome in Bluebells Apartments!

Best regards,
Paulina Czuchryta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We decided to come to Krakow, and wanted a basic room in a good location. The Bluebells delivered this plus more. Upon arrival we were very kindly given the option of an attic room with kitchenette, even though we had only paid for a standard double. So we were in the roof and could see Wawal Castle from the window! Another plus to being up high, you could hardly hear the traffic below and we slept with the window open! the room is fully heated ( only used once in our short stay) and was comfortable and clean too! the fridge didn't seem to keep our water cold though, but considering that we paid for room only, not an apartment, we aren't complaining! The staff booked us onto a tour to Auchswichthe the evening before so very impressed at that! We were booked with 'See Krakow' tours, and this tour was amazing! You must see Auchswich and Birkenau, although is is very very sad. Do it through the hotel as you get picked up by minibus and dropped off in the early evening. We recommend to buy yourselves a packed lunch from the hotel for this tour as its a nightmare to get even a coffee at Auchwitch and it is a relatively long day. we were picked up 10.30 and returned at about 17.00. We also visited the old jewish quarter, Rynek Underground , sampled traditional food (Miod Malina)-very cheap! The main Square ( where Rynek Underground is) and visit as many churches as you can, as the interiors are absolutely breathtaking! We also watched a classical music show inside St Peter's basilica for £12 and lasted an hour. Highly recommended for the evening. All of the places other than Auchwich, were within walking distance from the hotel! The staff at the Bluebells are so amazing and helpful, with the added benefit of the reception being 24 hours! We highly recommend this hotel! Thank you for a wonderful holiday 04.11.13 to 07.11.13.

Room Tip: Pay for the room in the attic to avoid noise from trams and cars below!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellsApts, Manager at BlueBells Apartments, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Kevin&Victoria,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your very kind words and the recommendation!
Every Guest is very important to us and if only we have opportunity to make his stay more comfortable, we are pleased to do it. We are glad you have enjoyed those couple of days in the attic apartment, which the only one has the view on Wawel castle!
Reading your note, we come to conclusion that during your visit in Kraków, you have seen almost every significant sight in here! But remember it is not all what's worth seeing :) There is more and more of beautiful still undiscovered places!

Warm greetings from Kraków,
Bluebells Apartments

Paulina Czuchryta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early at the hotel, but the friendly staff allowed us to check in an hour early. We also had an extra friend travel with us, so we required an extra bed putting in the room, again this was very professionally and speedily dealt with. The reception is staffed 24 hours a day by very knowledgable English speaking staff. The location is around a 10 minute walk from the Old Town, and a couple of minute walk from kazimierz, again about a 10-15 minute walk to Schindlers Factory.There is a tram stop outside of the building which could be a problem if you're a light sleeper. I have stayed in the apartments twice and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it. The staff pointed us in the direction of good bars, restaurants and kantors.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellsApts, Manager at BlueBells Apartments, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Stephen M,

Thank you for all your kind words. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our apartments. It is always a pleasure to hear that the guests appreciate our work. We are always trying to work the best we can. Thank you that you've appreciated our professionalism too. No matter the fact that sometimes noise from the street connected with the public transport can be bothering, we are quite proud of our location. As you have mentioned our apartments are situated very close to the Old Town and to the Jewish Quater.
We hope to see you again and that, as you have said, you will recommend our hotel.

Best regards,

Bluebells Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from the 9th to 13th oct, we found the room very comfortable and clea, maybe a modern make over would be nice but then it may lose some of it's character, there was noise from a nearby club on Saturday night but the hotel can't control that. We didn't use the little kitchen but we would have loved a toaster, krakow is a lovely town, auchwitz and schindlers factory gave a lot of food for thought, we walked a lot and found a bridge with hundreds of padlocks where people go to lock the key on the bridge throw away the key and seal their love so romantic. Staff at blue bells are excellent. Dziekuje

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellsApts, Manager at BlueBells Apartments, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Stephan,

We appreciate your kind words.
Bluebells Apartments can be proud of its unique character of the past. Following your opinion, we can guess that you found yourself comfortable here and spend a nice time. That is our goal to achieve.
We would like to eliminate all inconveniences like noise from the outside or from clubs but some things stay beyond our power.
The lovely bridge you have found is a place where lovers lock their love forever. Beautiful idea!
We hope that you will discover more of Cracow once again! In that case remember you can be our Guest whenever you wish to!

Dziękujemy!

Best regards,
Bluebells Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BlueBells Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBells Apartments

Address: Starowislna 22, Krakow 31-032, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 309 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BlueBells Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Cracow is at your doorstep. Welcome to BlueBells apartments that are located in a historical building 5 minutes from the Main Marquet Square, Kazimierz - Jewish District and the Royal Castle. We offer 11 recently renovated apartments, all with fully equipped kitchens & bathrooms, TV-SAT and CD set, Internet access (DVD and washing machine in some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BlueBells Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebells Apartments Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueBells Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.