We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matejko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Matejko to your Saves list
Hotel Matejko
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plac Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland (Kleparz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

we have stayed in this hotel on short break to visit the city. Location of the hotel is very good near to Old Town, connection to trips for area around. Hotel itself very clean, rooms ok, although we asked for 1 double bed (as our room has 2 singles beds) and we have been told that we can slide together those beds no help from the staff. We chosen this hotel as we saw on website that internet is free, but we get there the wi fi is not free of charge and we had to pay for it.
Restaurant - that's the issue. We had included breakfast and dinner in price of the room. Breakfast - ok, but dinner not. We have ordered the food, which was not good, so we have asked to talk to chef, so we did and his attitude was unacceptable. He was rude and after our complaint, we could hear him swearing and shouting in the kitchen. Our meal was exchanged, we could not have any apologize. We have asked to see Manager, but he (she) was not on duty, we were told that he(she) will be there in the morning. Next morning we were told that Manager won't be there until afternoon. Again no one were interesting to talk and resolve the problem.
Overall staff seems not interesting with customer service.
Major complaint was the Caesar Salad, which was not a Caesar Salad. Dear Chef I think this link will be helpful to do it properly: http://youtu.be/9oDfEzWFeQk

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    250
    80
    13
    4
See reviews for
66
206
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lokeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel has a very good location, nearby the old town Krakau and the Galleria.
The ratio price/quality is in very good balance.
Nice reception where the people are friendly. Clean rooms, nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

had a week stay in this nice hotel..good brakfast and just a step away from the tourist crowd just outside of florianska gate....3 minuts walk to the center..room was large and warm...also satellite tv..and a good internet connection...hope to spend some more time there again..forget to say a walk away from central station bus station..and to the incredible shopping mall of krakow

Room Tip: hope to find the spa next time!!??
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for short break in Krakow. Top floor room, comfortable and clean. Excellent breakfast, just time it before the 9 o clock rush! Very convenient for the railway and coach stations, Galeria and Old Town. We booked packed lunches for our visit to Auschwitz and a taxi to get us back to the airport for an early flight. Staff were happy to help us. What would really enhance this hotel would be free wi fi you can get a cable for a lap top , but no good for I pads. (Most cafés and restaurants in the city rare only too happy to give you the password, some write it up on their menu boards) Also a kettle for those of us who enjoy an early morning or late night hot beverage!
But really good value and would definitely book here again for a future visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for 5 night from 26th December 2013. When we arrived the very pleasant young man on reception checked us in quickly and efficiently and confirmed we had rooms beside each other as requested. I enquired about wifi as we were travelling with 2 teenagers. He said as it was Christmas he would give us 3 days for 3 appliances free!!! Great bonus as it was 38 zloty for each appliance for 3 days.The rooms were immaculately clean and tidy and the maid did a great job keeping them this way during our stay. Breakfast was included in the rate and it was a very nice continental breakfast with plenty of selection in a lovely dining room. Location wise the Hotel is great, a 2 minute walk from the Barbican and Florianska Street and a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Square. We were delighted the Christmas market was still there during our stay and Krakow was as magical as we have always found it. Our rooms were opposite the Church and on a fairly busy road, but very quiet. A great stay in a lovely good value for money hotel £250 for 5 nights for 4 people.....fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here in January 2010 with a group of friends (Not Feb 2013 but had to pick a date). Good location when we knew which direction we were going in, and the staff were lovely. I can't remember a single problem. Spacious, clean and quiet rooms. And cheap!

Room Tip: All views seemed to be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We spent two days here and found this to be a great location if one wanted to be near the Christmas markets. Also close to good shopping areas too. We overlooked the road but it was very quiet. The staff were very helpful, really went out of their way to help with a slight bank problem we had. Breakfasts, although may not be as sumptuous as other hotels are delicious. I missed tea/coffee facilities in the room though. These are also so welcome after a five hour walk around the city centre! The FREE bottle of water was very welcome. Wi-fi is not though, you pay 4 zloty per hour. Although it was minus 1 outside, the room was very warm and cosy as was the bathroom. Missed the hair dryer though. Good value here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Aparthotel Maly Krakow
Aparthotel Maly Krakow
#75 of 248 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Maksymilian
Hotel Maksymilian
#46 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#21 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#47 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Wyspianski
Hotel Wyspianski
#99 of 248 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Kleparz
Ibis Krakow Stare Miasto
Ibis Krakow Stare Miasto
#72 of 248 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matejko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matejko

Address: Plac Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Krakow
#74 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matejko 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Matejko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matejko Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Matejko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.