We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious rooms. Staff speak good English for the lazy tourist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matejko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Matejko to your Saves list
Hotel Matejko
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plac Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland (Kleparz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious rooms. Staff speak good English for the lazy tourist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here in January 2010 with a group of friends (Not Feb 2013 but had to pick a date). Good location when we knew which direction we were going in, and the staff were lovely. I can't remember a single problem. Spacious, clean and quiet rooms. And cheap!

Room Tip: All views seemed to be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    250
    78
    13
    4
See reviews for
65
205
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We spent two days here and found this to be a great location if one wanted to be near the Christmas markets. Also close to good shopping areas too. We overlooked the road but it was very quiet. The staff were very helpful, really went out of their way to help with a slight bank problem we had. Breakfasts, although may not be as sumptuous as other hotels are delicious. I missed tea/coffee facilities in the room though. These are also so welcome after a five hour walk around the city centre! The FREE bottle of water was very welcome. Wi-fi is not though, you pay 4 zloty per hour. Although it was minus 1 outside, the room was very warm and cosy as was the bathroom. Missed the hair dryer though. Good value here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Matejko in Krakow is situating only one street, about 5 min, away from the station. The rooms are good and comfortable, those backwards are very quiet, not those to the street. Its only a walk to the famous big market.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Travelled to Krakow with friends for 4 days and booked to stay at Hotel Matejko.Read lots of reviews before booking, and although Reviews were very mixed we liked hotel situated centraly, and price was very competitive.Great location, walking distance to main square and also to main shopping area and restaurants..Our rooms were overlooking the lovely church, and although people have said to avoid these rooms because of the church bells, we found the double glazing kept the sound out and we had the window open many times to listen to the beutifull sound of the bells. Cannot believe anyone would be kept awake by them..Room was excellent, cleaned every day, and soap and shampoo replaced as we required..great choice of breakfast and not a small breakfast room as someone said in their reviews.We ate in the Hotel every night and what great food and value for money,,,and pint of beer £1.40...We found staff very polite and very helpfull, and the young lady on reception was exceptional...For value for money this is a great Hotel and we will return soon...Only complaint I can suggest is that if you were staying longer than 4 days, that the evening menu does not change and you dont have a great vhoice of food, but restaurent staff were excellent and as I said before, the price for 4 people for Dinner was around £40, and that included drinks and a tip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Have just returned after 3 days in Krakow. Good clean Hotel in great position for exploring Old Town.Good size rooms, three adults in our room, . Nice breakfasts. Very pleasant staff, would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Maybe best to have a room in rear, as front is right on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

On arrival we were quickly checked in. Staff helpful and friendly. Room was nice and warm radiators can be turned up and down to suit. There is a bit of outside noise but this did not bother us you could always ask for a quieter room. Bathroom is quite big nice shower and hot water. Bottle of water in room but no tea and coffee facilities we did bring out own as we have been to this hotel before. No in room safe but we had no problems at all. Tv on wall only English channel was world news. Hairdryer is available on request. Beds were very comfy and towels nice and fluffy changed daily. Breakfast was the usual cereal, fruit, yogurts, hot dog style sausage and scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs and buns. Tea, coffee and fruit juice. The road hotel is on is around the corner from the big shopping centre, A few bars and restaurants are on here but we did not use them. Cracow city tours are also on this road and the do the pick up for the Auschwitz and salt mines are from there nice and handy. Just a short straight walk down to the old town. Overall a very good stay at a very reasonably priced hotel handy for everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Old Town, off the main tourist strip so it is quieter, but in a very convenient location to the train station (and the bus to the salt mines is right outside the door) and right next to Galeria Krakowska. You are within walking distance to most things.
The staff at the front desk are very friendly and helpful, and our room was neat, clean and spacious (and the bathroom had a towel warmer). The halls were quiet at night and there was always someone at the front desk. The temperature in the room for late November was very comfortable. They have a good buffet breakfast that is included with the room. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Krakow.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, which had large rooms and a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Aparthotel Maly Krakow
Aparthotel Maly Krakow
#75 of 248 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Maksymilian
Hotel Maksymilian
#45 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#21 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#47 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Wyspianski
Hotel Wyspianski
#100 of 248 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Kleparz
Ibis Krakow Stare Miasto
Ibis Krakow Stare Miasto
#70 of 248 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matejko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matejko

Address: Plac Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Krakow
#73 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matejko 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, EasyToBook, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Matejko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matejko Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Matejko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.